Author Topic: Secret debug menu  (Read 22698 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55845
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #30 on: May 12, 2011, 05:12:08 pm »
Hmm interesting.

Btw this is shocking how the TI presenter costed like $300 when Casio now offers a similar tool for the Prizm for free...
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline fxdev

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 177
  • Rating: +34/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #31 on: June 17, 2011, 01:37:16 pm »
The purpose of the flash program is now known:
It makes a copy of the OS at 0xA1000000..0xA1B60000 and at the same time corrupts the file system. A flash memory optimization may not fix this. It is therefore recommended to run the debug menu again and press [F1] which will erase the entire user area. After reboot the file system will be restored.

PS: For some reason I could not extract the OS by cloning the Prizm's flash drive. I tried Goplat's dumpdrive and some WinHex functionality.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2011, 06:49:10 pm by cfxm »

Offline z80man

  • Casio Traitor
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 977
  • Rating: +85/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #32 on: June 17, 2011, 03:02:56 pm »
Dumping the flash drive only extracts the upper 16 mb of the flash chip. If the FAT table was reformatted it could be possible though to use the extra 4 mb that the OS doesn't use, but that could cause incompatibility issues in the future. I think the best bet is to either wait for Casio to make an SD card version of the Prizm or we make a usb flash drive application.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2011, 03:03:06 pm by z80man »

List of stuff I need to do before September:
1. Finish the Emulator of the Casio Prizm (in active development)
2. Finish the the SH3 asm IDE/assembler/linker program (in active development)
3. Create a partial Java virtual machine  for the Prizm (not started)
4. Create Axe for the Prizm with an Axe legacy mode (in planning phase)
5. Develop a large set of C and asm libraries for the Prizm (some progress)
6. Create an emulator of the 83+ for the Prizm (not started)
7. Create a well polished game that showcases the ability of the Casio Prizm (not started)

Offline JosJuice

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1344
  • Rating: +66/-14
    • View Profile
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #33 on: June 17, 2011, 03:51:29 pm »
I think the best bet is to either wait for Casio to make an SD card version of the Prizm or we make a usb flash drive application.
Do you mean like msd8x? I don't know if that's possible... We don't know anything at all about USB, and the Prizm doesn't even support mini-A.

Offline TeamFX

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #34 on: February 03, 2014, 08:20:22 pm »
Hey, I just found out how to enter the test mode without using an add-in (that is, no syscall interface needed):

1) Turn on your calculator by pressing [OPTN]+[EXP]+[AC/ON]
2) As soon as the popup window appears*, quickly type in: 5963
3) Et VoilĂ , the test mode shows up ;D

And this doesn't reboot the calculator when leaving.

*) Press [F1] for the diagnostic mode.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55845
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #35 on: February 04, 2014, 11:15:37 pm »
Oh wow, thanks for the advice :thumbsup:
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1591
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #36 on: February 04, 2014, 11:19:05 pm »
Hey, I just found out how to enter the test mode without using an add-in (that is, no syscall interface needed):

1) Turn on your calculator by pressing [OPTN]+[EXP]+[AC/ON]
2) As soon as the popup window appears*, quickly type in: 5963
3) Et Voilà, the test mode shows up ;D

And this doesn't reboot the calculator when leaving.

*) Press [F1] for the diagnostic mode.

I guess the question we all have to ask is how did you figure this out?
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline TeamFX

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #37 on: February 05, 2014, 12:39:04 pm »
I guess the question we all have to ask is how did you figure this out?

I stumbled upon the 5963 pattern when analyzing the diagnostic syscall.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2014, 03:12:37 pm by TeamFX »

Offline gbl08ma

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #38 on: February 05, 2014, 05:07:12 pm »
2) As soon as the popup window appears*, quickly type in: 5963

There's not much point in doing it, but this is also reproducible when calling the diagnostics mode from Insight. After answering F1 on Insight's prompt, quickly press 5963 (if using the emulator, you should use the mouse to click on the keys). Note how it has a timeout, if you don't press another key in the sequence quickly, it reboots. Verified on the 1.02 emulator.

Now, more importantly... are there any differences between this test mode and the one available through the syscall? The syscall takes a parameter; has its meaning been revealed yet? And something that has kept me wondering for months and may be related to the high number of Prizms dying: is there something that permanently changes in the system as soon as the test or diagnostic modes are accessed (like, some bit set in flash)?

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3913
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #39 on: February 05, 2014, 05:43:35 pm »
Holy necropost, Batman! O.O
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline TeamFX

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #40 on: February 05, 2014, 11:33:08 pm »
I had a look at a few things. Here's a small summary.

fx-9860G/GII:
The test mode is syscall 0x0924 and there is no parameter.
The diagnostic mode is syscall 0x0176 and there is no parameter.

In OS 2.02.0200, syscall 0x0176 is no longer available and returns immediately.
However, this function can be found at address 0x8002F0C4. It takes one argument R4 that skips the initial "factory use only" window and enters the diagnostic mode if it is set to zero.


fx-CG10/20:
The test mode is syscall 0x0EA7 and there is one parameter.
If the argument R4 is set to zero, the VRAM is overwritten and not restored.

The diagnostic mode is not available as a syscall.
However, in OS 2.00.0200 this function can be found at address 0x8011D054. It takes one argument R4 that skips the initial "factory use only" window and enters the diagnostic mode if it is set to zero.

Quote
Now, more importantly... are there any differences between this test mode and the one available through the syscall?
There is one branch from the "factory use only" window into the test mode with R4 set to zero. Obviously, this is what happens when you type in 5963.

Quote
And something that has kept me wondering for months and may be related to the high number of Prizms dying: is there something that permanently changes in the system as soon as the test or diagnostic modes are accessed (like, some bit set in flash)?
I did not check on this, but the test and diagnostic main menus do not seem to do any flash writing. However, there are quite a few RAM values that are read and written and I can't say if these values will be reset when leaving those menus or when rebooting the calculator.

Quote
Holy necropost, Batman!
Sounds like a bad habit... but if a topic still provides accurate information that is neither wrong nor outdated, I don't see any reason why someone should open a new topic.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2014, 03:15:02 pm by TeamFX »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55845
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #41 on: February 06, 2014, 01:42:11 pm »
I think he was kidding about the necroposting actually, since it's obvious that the topic bump is valid and contains important discoveries or progress. Same goes for project topics.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline TeamFX

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #42 on: March 11, 2014, 04:18:14 pm »
Here are a few more key combos:

[1]+[3]+[AC/ON] -> Reset OK? Initialize all.
- Also works under fx-9860GII OS 2.02 and 2.04 (SH-4A)

[F2]+[Up]+[AC/ON], then [9] -> User name will be deleted. OK?
- Writes an empty password file to 0x80BE0000
- Keys [F1] and [F6] are not checked
- Available since Prizm OS 1.04

[OPTN]+[EXP]+[AC/ON], then [F1] followed by [9] -> Invokes the diagnostic mode.
[OPTN]+[EXP]+[AC/ON], then 5963 or 5964 -> Invokes the test mode.
- 5963 works in all non-ClassPad OSes
- 5964 creates an SD card file containing all ROM data, then invokes the test mode
- 5964 first appeared in fx-9860G OS 1.02 and has been removed in OS 2.02 and 2.04 (SH-4A)
- As of Prizm OS 1.02, 5963 is identical to 5964
- Earlier Prizm OSes include a similar SD card routine, but it has no effect

The routine processing these key combinations also checks that the [EXE] key is not pressed.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 10:36:41 am by TeamFX »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55845
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #43 on: March 11, 2014, 04:19:42 pm »
Nice find. :D
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline TeamFX

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Secret debug menu
« Reply #44 on: March 11, 2014, 05:08:45 pm »
I checked the entire thread and there is still one known key combo missing:

- Press [F2]+[4]+[AC/ON]+RESTART at the same time
- Release RESTART and continue pressing the remaining keys for a few seconds
- Press [9] for a second
- Press [X] (multiplication) for a second

This will display the message "OS ERROR" which activates the boot code's emergency OS updater.



When you press [OPTN]+[EXP]+[AC/ON]+RESTART on an fx-9860GII/fx-9750GII/fx-7400GII with SH-4A architecture, then it will display the message "OS ERROR" as well.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2014, 08:21:58 am by TeamFX »