Author Topic: Features Wishlist  (Read 607038 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3420 on: November 16, 2014, 05:35:31 pm »
Would it be possible when there is an error to display the name of the (sub)program and the line the error was found in ?
Like
[--------         ]
Invalid Token
SMASHC2: 79

Might seem useless since we are meant to be able to jump to the error, but
1) we can't with zStart's small font editor
2) I can't with Smash (the main file is already over 25KB)
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3421 on: November 16, 2014, 05:53:31 pm »
When an error occurs, the name of the (sub)program currently being compiled should already be on the screen. As for your issue of not being able to jump to the error to see the context... that doesn't really sound like Axe's place. Neither unfinished versions of zStart nor source files larger than RAM sound like things Axe should be expected to deal with. But I'll look into it regardless.

EDIT: How do you currently edit your files? That would probably help me figure out the best way to provide some sort of error context information that you can use.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2014, 06:17:00 pm by Runer112 »

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3422 on: November 17, 2014, 12:40:06 am »
Yeah, the name of the (sub)program is ok, and it's not your fault if there is no jump, but that would still help me if you displayed the line.
For now, I edit my code using vim then tokenize it using tok8x, then send it to TilEm directly to archive to compile it. That's why I can edit it without having memory issues, I don't edit it on calc :P
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3423 on: November 17, 2014, 12:16:54 pm »
Axe doesn't currently count lines for any reason, so to add a line number to error messages, I'd have to count explicitly for this. I've never heard anyone else come forward with this problem and it seems you could avoid it by splitting your main program up, which is probably better from a code organization standpoint regardless, and using the official version of zStart, for which the loss of the small font editor shouldn't matter much since it doesn't sound like you code in the emulator. So I'm rather hesitant to try to add such a feature as a combination of defense against feature creep and, well, my own laziness.

If this was a feature that would benefit other coders as well, I would probably be more willing to add it, but I think you might be the only one. :P

Offline c4ooo

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 252
  • Rating: +10/-1
  • The impossible chemical compound.
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3424 on: March 06, 2015, 07:33:19 pm »
I want a line algorithem that does not cull (not render) the line if one of vertices of the line is not within the range of the screen. I don't rly see why it was implemented anyway. But if you dont,  I can write my own line algorithem so don't worry  ;) (but they won't be as optimized as they wood be if they where ActUaly part of the language.)  ::)
-German Kuznetsov
The impossible chemical compound.

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3425 on: March 06, 2015, 08:13:42 pm »
That's been on my todo list for a while, but it's a bit tricky to do optimally. And I generally don't like adding a new feature unless it's already well-optimized, which is why it's unfortuantely never made it into Axe. :-\ For now, I'd recommend writing your own clipping code and feeding the clipped coordinates into the line routine.

Offline c4ooo

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 252
  • Rating: +10/-1
  • The impossible chemical compound.
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3426 on: April 30, 2015, 07:56:45 pm »
Can you make it so..
A) program will always be backed up, regardless if they are archived or not, and
B) that all subprograms used by main program will also be backed up.
 Several times already I had my files deleated or lost for some reason or another,(in archive too) and axe backup is sorta shaky to compleatly rely on.
Thanks,
-German Kuznetsov
The impossible chemical compound.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3427 on: May 06, 2015, 04:01:18 pm »
Can you make it so..
A) program will always be backed up, regardless if they are archived or not, and
B) that all subprograms used by main program will also be backed up.
 Several times already I had my files deleated or lost for some reason or another,(in archive too) and axe backup is sorta shaky to compleatly rely on.
Thanks,
Why do you want to back up an archived program? It sounds like you have another issue if the one in the archive is being deleted.
/e

Offline c4ooo

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 252
  • Rating: +10/-1
  • The impossible chemical compound.
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3428 on: May 22, 2015, 10:24:38 pm »
Can you make it so..
A) program will always be backed up, regardless if they are archived or not, and
B) that all subprograms used by main program will also be backed up.
 Several times already I had my files deleated or lost for some reason or another,(in archive too) and axe backup is sorta shaky to compleatly rely on.
Thanks,
Why do you want to back up an archived program? It sounds like you have another issue if the one in the archive is being deleted.
Yea, doors shell seems to occasionally delete archived files when i save them after editing them editing them. I dont have a cemteck account so i cant really report the bug. :P
-German Kuznetsov
The impossible chemical compound.

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3429 on: May 23, 2015, 05:46:15 am »
Can you make it so..
A) program will always be backed up, regardless if they are archived or not, and
B) that all subprograms used by main program will also be backed up.
 Several times already I had my files deleated or lost for some reason or another,(in archive too) and axe backup is sorta shaky to compleatly rely on.
Thanks,
Why do you want to back up an archived program? It sounds like you have another issue if the one in the archive is being deleted.
Yea, doors shell seems to occasionally delete archived files when i save them after editing them editing them. I dont have a cemteck account so i cant really report the bug. :P
Are you sure this is DoorsCS, though? That is a known issue if you use os 2.53MP

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline c4ooo

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 252
  • Rating: +10/-1
  • The impossible chemical compound.
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3430 on: May 23, 2015, 11:46:21 am »
Can you make it so..
A) program will always be backed up, regardless if they are archived or not, and
B) that all subprograms used by main program will also be backed up.
 Several times already I had my files deleated or lost for some reason or another,(in archive too) and axe backup is sorta shaky to compleatly rely on.
Thanks,
Why do you want to back up an archived program? It sounds like you have another issue if the one in the archive is being deleted.
Yea, doors shell seems to occasionally delete archived files when i save them after editing them editing them. I dont have a cemteck account so i cant really report the bug. :P
Are you sure this is DoorsCS, though? That is a known issue if you use os 2.53MP
You can make fun of me if you want, but i use 2.55MP   ._.  ;D
-German Kuznetsov
The impossible chemical compound.

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3431 on: May 24, 2015, 05:26:55 am »
Still not as stable as OS 2.43 ;)
How large is the program that is deleting itself?

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline c4ooo

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 252
  • Rating: +10/-1
  • The impossible chemical compound.
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3432 on: May 24, 2015, 12:04:47 pm »
Still not as stable as OS 2.43 ;)
How large is the program that is deleting itself?
Idk, i have like 5 files all of which are less then one KB. As one would expect, I mostly debug/program in/to one file, but sometimes i have to jump to a different file. AFAIK, the current amount of mem has no effect on wether it gets erased or not. It just seems very random. Another thing thou is that there is a pause when i exit the program, as if doors IS archiving the file, but it still disappears. The other weird thing is that altho i cant see the file in any mem menu, when i try to create a new file with the same name as the lost file, the os does not let (but IIRC it does not crash the calc).
-German Kuznetsov
The impossible chemical compound.

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3433 on: June 04, 2015, 03:54:11 pm »
In the process of completely recoding the menus, I added an option that I've heard asked for a couple of times: the ability to disable the token hook. But in doing so, I needed to add a second options page, which is currently barren. Give me suggestions for two new options!

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3434 on: June 24, 2015, 02:11:11 pm »
Be awesome option. Surprise us on what it does.
/e