Author Topic: [83p] Hero Core  (Read 34830 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #120 on: November 25, 2014, 05:08:46 pm »
I might have to add a sfx channel to the library that TIMID uses cause I really need 3 chans for music. I could make it like nes games where music and sfx share a channel, but it might get messy.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #121 on: November 25, 2014, 06:19:34 pm »
I was just curious, because you showed sfx working in the video before you said you were working on the music engine that required timid. I thought perhaps the two were independent.

Offline KaiserKK10

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Rating: +0/-1
  • I love soccer and chess!
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #122 on: November 25, 2014, 07:05:11 pm »
Sounds like a fun program nice! :) :) :) :evillaugh:
KK10 wuz here

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #123 on: November 26, 2014, 03:39:34 am »
I was just curious, because you showed sfx working in the video before you said you were working on the music engine that required timid. I thought perhaps the two were independent.
It is not possible to have TIMID sound and sound coming directly from the linkport simultaneously. I need both I/O lines for communication.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #124 on: November 26, 2014, 06:05:48 pm »
Ah, ok. I was thinking along the lines of if the user didn't have TIMID they could still have sfx (with the proper cable). I'd Imagine a single channel of sfx wouldn't be too difficult. Perhaps the sound engine could be separate from the main program and the user could choose to either have no sound, just sfx (generated by hardware only), or full sound with TIMID. Just thinking hypothetically. Most users won't be using sound anyway, but just a few thoughts there for ya.

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #125 on: November 27, 2014, 05:54:22 pm »
As I said on IRC: yes that will be the case. This is implemented already, but I have not added an option for it in the menu yet.

I have been fixing bugs all night.
- Cut ability spawns a bullet in the left top part of the screen.[SOLVED]
- Savepoint in first room does not work. Only after re-entering the room it works. [SOLVED]
- Cut ability charge animation freezes after a while. [SOLVED]

I found out that there is another memory leak somewhere. It causes TblSet to corrupt. I dunno what causes this. Will find out soon I hope.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: [WIP] TI84+ Herocore clone
« Reply #126 on: November 29, 2014, 08:00:48 am »
I found out that the interrupts were causing the memory leak. I disabled them for now, but I will come back to that later. The newest test build is finally  here!

Run in DCS

What's new?
+ A huge 9x9 room world map to explore.
+ Collision checking for tiles in adjacent rooms prevents you from getting stuck in solid tiles that are in another room.
+ New tile system that allows for rapid expansion of the tile set
+ Added lots of new tiles + animated tiles
+ Added barriers (cannot be disabled yet)
+ Added doors (cannot be opened yet)
+ Added items (cannot be picked up yet)

+ Split up AI into modules, so new AI can be made by combining modules (example: Reaver = spew + drone)
+ New enemies! Blomb, Reaver
+ Enemies now face towards you

+ Sound can be enabled from the menu

+ Small graphics tweaks

* Tons of bugfixes

Be sure to let me know if you find any bugs!
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: [83p] Hero Core
« Reply #127 on: December 03, 2014, 04:39:26 pm »
Fixed interrupts causing memory leak. Also fixed a small bug that made the cut ability not work sometimes.
Also fixed fullrene bug on TI83+BE
« Last Edit: December 03, 2014, 04:42:53 pm by Keoni29 »
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: [83p] Hero Core
« Reply #128 on: December 03, 2014, 04:55:27 pm »
Cool, I'll check it out shortly. :D

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: Hero Core - World Editor
« Reply #129 on: January 02, 2015, 04:03:07 pm »
Core Editor
Up until this point I was using Gamemaker's built-in level editor for creating the Hero Core world. I did not like that editor, so I decided to make my own.
The result was a tool called Core Editor (short cedit.)

I want users to create worlds of their own for others to explore. The editor is open-source, but it is not finished yet.
You can check it out for yourself here: http://github.com/keoni29/cedit

The editor is to be fully customizable from the command line. I have not tried to compile it for windows yet, but it's supposed to be cross-platform.



Features:
- SDL graphics
- Grid
- Scrolling
- Tileset sheets
- Auto-load & save on program startup/end respectively
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: [83p] Hero Core
« Reply #130 on: January 02, 2015, 05:02:05 pm »
Very nice! This should make dev go easier since this tool is built specifically for Hero Core. :D