Omnimaga

General Discussion => Art => Topic started by: Munchor on November 07, 2010, 03:21:25 pm

Title: My Sprites
Post by: Munchor on November 07, 2010, 03:21:25 pm
Here I'll be posting all sprites I make, here are a few 8x8 sprites I made to start creating sprites for fun.

Okay, they're simple, I know, they suck, BUT THEY were made ON CALC, and they took me about 7hours to make (including the file with all of them).

Code:

Code: [Select]
.SPRTWRK
ClrHome
[0018183C5A182424]->PIC1
[007E7E7E50704040]->PIC2
[427E427E427E427E]->PIC3
[FEAAAAAAAAAAAAFE]->PIC4
[55AA55AA55AA55AA]->PIC5
[00E0E0FF3E3E2222]->PIC6
[181818FFFF181818]->PIC7
[8142241818244281]->PIC8
[FFFFFFD0F0C0C0C0]->PIC9
[00E724A5A524E700]->PIC0
Pt-Change(0,0,PIC1
Pt-Change(0,10,PIC2
Pt-Change(0,20,PIC6
Pt-Change(10,0,PIC3
Pt-Change(10,8,PIC3
Pt-Change(10,16,PIC3
Pt-Change(10,24,PIC3
Pt-Change(0,34,PIC4
Pt-Change(7,34,PIC4
Pt-Change(14,34,PIC4
Pt-Change(21,34,PIC4
Pt-Change(28,34,PIC4
Pt-Change(30,0,PIC5
Pt-Change(38,0,PIC5
Pt-Change(46,0,PIC5
Pt-Change(54,0,PIC5
Pt-Change(30,8,PIC5
Pt-Change(38,8,PIC5
Pt-Change(46,8,PIC5
Pt-Change(54,8,PIC5
Pt-Change(30,16,PIC5
Pt-Change(38,16,PIC5
Pt-Change(46,16,PIC5
Pt-Change(54,16,PIC5
Pt-Change(30,24,PIC5
Pt-Change(38,24,PIC5
Pt-Change(46,24,PIC5
Pt-Change(54,24,PIC5
Pt-Change(64,0,PIC7
Pt-Change(72,0,PIC7
Pt-Change(80,0,PIC7
Pt-Change(88,0,PIC7
Pt-Change(64,8,PIC7
Pt-Change(72,8,PIC7
Pt-Change(80,8,PIC7
Pt-Change(88,8,PIC7
Pt-Change(64,16,PIC7
Pt-Change(72,16,PIC7
Pt-Change(80,16,PIC7
Pt-Change(88,16,PIC7
Pt-Change(64,24,PIC7
Pt-Change(72,24,PIC7
Pt-Change(80,24,PIC7
Pt-Change(88,24,PIC7
Pt-Change(36,34,PIC8
Pt-Change(44,34,PIC8
Pt-Change(52,34,PIC8
Pt-Change(60,34,PIC8
Pt-Change(36,42,PIC8
Pt-Change(44,42,PIC8
Pt-Change(52,42,PIC8
Pt-Change(60,42,PIC8
Pt-Change(36,50,PIC8
Pt-Change(44,50,PIC8
Pt-Change(52,50,PIC8
Pt-Change(60,50,PIC8
Pt-Change(75,50,PIC9
Pt-Change(0,50,PIC0
Pt-Change(8,50,PIC0
Pt-Change(16,50,PIC0
Pt-Change(24,50,PIC0

DispGraph
Pause 9999
Pause 9999
Pause 9999
Pause 9999

Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: ASHBAD_ALVIN on November 07, 2010, 03:26:46 pm
Looks cool!  Are you going to make something with them?
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: Munchor on November 07, 2010, 03:31:09 pm
They are free to use by anyone, maybe use them in future games.

Use them at will, but make sure I'm in the credits ;)
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: MRide on November 07, 2010, 03:33:52 pm
I'm pretty sure you could use a for loop to display them, and putting all those pauses isn't a good idea either.  Better just wait for the user to press a key.
But, they look good.
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: meishe91 on November 07, 2010, 04:18:00 pm
Ya, you could most likely use a single pointer to store all those, use a variable to tell Axe which one to use, then use, for the big squares, two For( loops to display them and a single one for when they get displayed in a single row.

Looks cool though.
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on November 07, 2010, 04:50:49 pm
Nice, I also like how they were all made on-calc. :D Thanks for posting the HEX, btw. :)
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: Aichi on November 07, 2010, 04:58:22 pm
Nice work. I pretty like the dog sprite (I hope it should be a dog :))
Btw, you worked 7 hours on it, really? o.o'
Also: The Pause argument is a word, it can hold any number <65536.
So 'Pause 39996' would be also possible. ^^
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: Munchor on November 08, 2010, 09:17:17 am
Nice work. I pretty like the dog sprite (I hope it should be a dog :))
Btw, you worked 7 hours on it, really? o.o'
Also: The Pause argument is a word, it can hold any number <65536.
So 'Pause 39996' would be also possible. ^^

Any number? Sometimes it gives me bad Number error.

I took about 7 hours because they were made on calculator, using a sprite maker someone made in Omnimaga his name is, yes I can remember, it is *amnesia*.

sorry, if I remember his name I'll say.

I will put a loop and a key like Clear to leave loop
Nice, I also like how they were all made on-calc. :D Thanks for posting the HEX, btw. :)

The Hex for everyone to be given :)



BTW, yeah that is a dog, cool. Maybe I'll make more animals later :)
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on November 08, 2010, 01:25:15 pm
Nice work. I pretty like the dog sprite (I hope it should be a dog :))
Btw, you worked 7 hours on it, really? o.o'
Also: The Pause argument is a word, it can hold any number <65536.
So 'Pause 39996' would be also possible. ^^

Any number? Sometimes it gives me bad Number error.
It can only hold numbers from 0 to 65535. Also keep in mind Pause 0 is as long as Pause 65535, for some reasons, so if you do Pause 0 and your calc seems to have frozen, it didn't freeze, it's just an incredibly long pause.
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: Munchor on November 08, 2010, 05:08:32 pm
Nice work. I pretty like the dog sprite (I hope it should be a dog :))
Btw, you worked 7 hours on it, really? o.o'
Also: The Pause argument is a word, it can hold any number <65536.
So 'Pause 39996' would be also possible. ^^

Any number? Sometimes it gives me bad Number error.
It can only hold numbers from 0 to 65535. Also keep in mind Pause 0 is as long as Pause 65535, for some reasons, so if you do Pause 0 and your calc seems to have frozen, it didn't freeze, it's just an incredibly long pause.

THanks! I'd better not try it though :S
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: ASHBAD_ALVIN on November 08, 2010, 05:13:12 pm
yeah I did pause 0 once, it was taking many dozens of seconds, so I ripped the batteries out :P

now I realize that if I waited a bit longer, it would have been fine :(
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: Munchor on November 08, 2010, 05:14:52 pm
yeah I did pause 0 once, it was taking many dozens of seconds, so I ripped the batteries out :P

now I realize that if I waited a bit longer, it would have been fine :(

RAM DELETED?
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: ASHBAD_ALVIN on November 08, 2010, 05:16:45 pm
yeah, I actually reset/crash my calc about 10 times a day.  I don't even use the clock feature, except to time the average time it takes me to clear RAM :P

I guess that's what you get when you try new ideas with axe/mimas :D

because of that, I archive everything.  I have 54K/480K left of flash :(
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: Darl181 on November 08, 2010, 06:49:12 pm
Wow, those look great.

I wonder if there's something somewhere that says something along the lines of
Code: [Select]
2 DAYS
without a RAM clear
That would look interesting in a sig ;D
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on November 09, 2010, 02:35:51 am
yeah I did pause 0 once, it was taking many dozens of seconds, so I ripped the batteries out :P

now I realize that if I waited a bit longer, it would have been fine :(
Yeah the first time I did it, I thought Pause 0 crashed my calc. Finally I was wrong. I had backed up not long before, though, plus I was experimenting, anyway.
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: gangsterveggies on November 09, 2010, 03:55:04 pm
You can do a similar thing in asm right? BTW cool pictures. You should do something with them...
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: Xeda112358 on November 09, 2010, 04:12:21 pm
I dabbled with making a programming language in ASM a while ago. "Pause " was one of the four commands I finished before I set it aside :D Anyway, I also used an input to pause based on a time period and Pause 0 did the same thing. The reason is very simple. The Pause command decrements the value by 1 before checking if it is 0. Luckily assembly is not like BASIC which would approach negative infinity. In Assembly, when you subtract 1 from 0, you get FFFFh or 65535. So Pause 0 is actually Pause 65536.
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on November 09, 2010, 11:32:49 pm
Yeah I know. Basically in Axe, Pause 1 is 0 and so on. Not a big matter unless you use Pause 0. I think Quigibo should warn about this in the command index if he didn't already, though, so people won't just pull a battery.
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: calcdude84se on November 10, 2010, 07:42:48 pm
To be technically correct, as I have explained elsewhere, a Pause 1 is a pause of 1, a Pause 2 a pause of 2, and so on. Same for any other number except 0.
A Pause 0 is actually a pause of 65536 because of how it works internally. Yes, you can't represent 65536 in 16 bits, but it is a pause of 65536 nevertheless. ;D
A warning is probably a good thing though, and I second adding it. Waiting ~1 min is... long :P
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on November 11, 2010, 01:51:44 am
Oh, right. It can be kinda confusing X.x

The thing is that generally, when the calc is frozen during more than 15 seconds, it implies a crash, which means: remove a battery. :P
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: Munchor on November 14, 2010, 03:41:09 pm
Oh, right. It can be kinda confusing X.x

The thing is that generally, when the calc is frozen during more than 15 seconds, it implies a crash, which means: remove a battery. :P

When my calculator goes over 20seconds I always reset it, that's why I prefer TI NSpire 84+ Keypad to the 84+ itself, reseting means turning off :)
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on November 15, 2010, 12:26:26 am
Sometimes, in case it might just be one of these slow loading times, I just let it sit there for a minute then do other stuff, then I return and if the calc is still frozen, then I remove the battery. I found myself too often pulling a battery the second it finished loading. D:
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: Munchor on November 15, 2010, 07:44:17 am
Sometimes, in case it might just be one of these slow loading times, I just let it sit there for a minute then do other stuff, then I return and if the calc is still frozen, then I remove the battery. I found myself too often pulling a battery the second it finished loading. D:

Yeah, I'm quite an impatient person :s
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: JustCause on November 15, 2010, 11:24:53 am
Nice to see you contributing, ScoutDavid! I might use some of these. Do you prefer to go by ScoutDavid in credits or your real name?
Title: Re: My Sprites
Post by: Munchor on November 16, 2010, 01:46:57 pm
Nice to see you contributing, ScoutDavid! I might use some of these. Do you prefer to go by ScoutDavid in credits or your real name?

Use ScoutDavid or David G., whatever ;)

Thanks!