Author Topic: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot  (Read 59553 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #30 on: November 06, 2012, 12:42:18 am »
That looks really, really cool. Do want. Massive maps are massive.

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • Project Author
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #31 on: November 07, 2012, 11:09:13 pm »
Thanks will :D

I've finished up the npc display routine, now moving on to making sure you can't walk through them either. Will post an official update when finished
« Last Edit: November 07, 2012, 11:09:20 pm by squidgetx »

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • Project Author
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #32 on: November 09, 2012, 10:40:03 pm »
Warp tiles & NPCs as part of the map are now implemented (in addition to full parsing of all map metadata, etc.)



Things left to do:
-In-game menu
-NPC talking system (probably going to borrow a lot of code from Embers)
-battle engine (woooo)
-begin thinking about plot details and begin map making~

Current size (executable): 5kb
« Last Edit: November 09, 2012, 10:44:42 pm by squidgetx »

Offline leafy

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1554
  • Rating: +475/-97
  • Seizon senryakuuuu!
    • View Profile
    • keff.me
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #33 on: November 09, 2012, 11:08:03 pm »
I've kept watching the screenshot and I can't figure out how you did the clean fade transition between maps - or is that just a Wabbit artifact?
In-progress: Graviter (...)

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • Project Author
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #34 on: November 09, 2012, 11:09:59 pm »
It's the same fade I use in a lot of games, haha. For some reason (maybe it's the screen driver or something) it just looks really clean and awesome. The code is literally
Code: [Select]
Fill(L6,768,$FF)
DispGraph
Pause 400

Offline leafy

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1554
  • Rating: +475/-97
  • Seizon senryakuuuu!
    • View Profile
    • keff.me
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #35 on: November 09, 2012, 11:20:24 pm »
It's the same fade I use in a lot of games, haha. For some reason (maybe it's the screen driver or something) it just looks really clean and awesome. The code is literally
Code: [Select]
Fill(L6,768,$FF)
DispGraph
Pause 400
Wait, so you just make the screen black and pause it for a while? oO
In addition, looking at those screenshots, will you have a problem with entities on the edge of maps?
In-progress: Graviter (...)

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • Project Author
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #36 on: November 09, 2012, 11:23:55 pm »
Yup, it's beautiful.

My, you're perceptive leafy. Yes, I will have a problem with entities on the edge of maps. It's actually pretty easy to add a bit of code to the map load routine to parse in all entities on the surrounding maps as well, but for now I'm just going to not put entities on edges of maps :P. If it become a problem while map designing, I'll do something about it then.

Offline leafy

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1554
  • Rating: +475/-97
  • Seizon senryakuuuu!
    • View Profile
    • keff.me
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #37 on: November 09, 2012, 11:42:33 pm »
Nah, I'm not perceptive at all :P It's just a problem I've put a bit of thought into myself. Map design would probably be easiest, since the seamlessness makes it not obvious where the middle or edges of the maps are (of course, with that top left sign it kinda is)
In-progress: Graviter (...)

Offline chickendude

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +90/-1
  • Pro-Riot Squad
    • View Profile
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #38 on: November 10, 2012, 12:43:56 am »
It's looking great, i'm excited to see the game start taking shape :)

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #39 on: November 10, 2012, 02:25:13 am »
are NPC's going to be able to move at all? are you going to have some sort of cutscene scripting? how is encountering enemies going to work?

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • Project Author
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #40 on: November 10, 2012, 03:02:41 pm »
are NPC's going to be able to move at all? are you going to have some sort of cutscene scripting? how is encountering enemies going to work?
No, yes, same as the demo.

Having moving NPCs, while possible, would be generally irritating and also force me to write a full bodied, slower display routine (as opposed to the fast-but-limited aligned drawer I have now). A lot of what is painful about the map engine is that it doesn't redraw every frame, so making adjustments to what's on screen (but not part of the tilemap, like npc's) is not only difficult, but makes the game slower the more adjustments are made. Cutscene scripting and battle encounters will work as they did in the demo, with the cutscene routine probably displaying relevant images while it calls the standard dialogue routine. Enemies will be ecnountered (like in many rpgs) randomly while traveling in dangerous terrain.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 03:04:31 pm by squidgetx »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #41 on: November 10, 2012, 03:37:59 pm »
Also with a lot of NPCs that would most likely slow the game down quite a bit. It's also a lot of work to implement all the NPC patterns and stuff.

I've kept watching the screenshot and I can't figure out how you did the clean fade transition between maps - or is that just a Wabbit artifact?

Actually even though it's Wabbitemu fault, I actually did screen fade in/out before in calc games, just not gradual fade between maps directly. All you need to do is store the current contrast value in a temporary variable then gradually increase the contrast to the maximum, make the entire screen black at the end, proceed into loading the next map, then once done, fade back to the original contrast. You can also do the opposite (fade to white). I've used that trick in Illusiat 3 remake I think and some ROL3 cutscenes.

Offline Ki1o

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
  • Rating: +5/-2
  • Doing my best...
    • View Profile
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #42 on: November 11, 2012, 01:34:32 pm »
Just curious as to how the tilemapper works. Is the character actually moving or is the map moving around the character?

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #43 on: November 11, 2012, 02:06:00 pm »
THe map moves around the character. A tilemap is made with 96 sprites aligned with each others, scrolling up/down/left/right. For example if the character moves right, the map tiles scroll to the left and as they scroll, when they reach the X coordinate 8, their content is shifted one tile to the left then the sprites are reset back to starting X coordinate 0. In some games, a tilemap will be as large as the map itself (eg 500x500 sprites moving around), but that is very slow and inneficient compared to just displaying what's in the screen at once)

Of course it depends how you do your tilemap, though. In some games like Zelda on the NES, it's the character that moves around on the tilemap. In more advanced games like Final Fantasy V and VI, the map moves around the character, but if the character reaches its edge, the map stops moving and it's the character that moves.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2012, 02:07:13 pm by DJ_O »

Offline Ki1o

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
  • Rating: +5/-2
  • Doing my best...
    • View Profile
Re: Ash: Phoenix- Reboot
« Reply #44 on: November 11, 2012, 02:12:08 pm »
Aaaaaaaaahhhhh ok thanks DJ! That helped a lot.