Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => ASM => Topic started by: DRAGONLORD343 on April 26, 2012, 12:51:12 pm

Title: help me im lost?!!
Post by: DRAGONLORD343 on April 26, 2012, 12:51:12 pm
ive been doing asm for about a year now and i feel like i can only just now say that i've become pretty decent at it. but there is still a lot i need to learn i just don't know what those things are. i do know that i would like to learn how to edit basic programs from within an asm program.
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: Juju on April 26, 2012, 02:26:37 pm
You might want to look at the VAT, which is the calc's filesystem.
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: thepenguin77 on April 26, 2012, 04:51:08 pm
Now, when you say edit, do you mean: 1) Open up the program editor to allow the user to edit the program, or 2) Actually edit the program from an assembly program?

In both cases, the way to do it is very hard ;D

For 1. You are looking at top programmer hacking to figure out how it's done, however, I could always just give you the routine to do it :D

For 2. Actually editing the program isn't all that difficult, you'll need some help getting started, but once you see how the Edit Buffer works, you should be ok. The only way 2 would be super hard would be if you want to actually display what you are editing to the screen, this requires lots of OS routines and is pretty bad.
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: aeTIos on April 27, 2012, 04:36:13 am
for 2, that can pretty easy be done with axe but yeah you'll need memkit for it.
(I know this is in asm language)
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: DRAGONLORD343 on April 27, 2012, 08:51:49 am
Now, when you say edit, do you mean: 1) Open up the program editor to allow the user to edit the program, or 2) Actually edit the program from an assembly program?

In both cases, the way to do it is very hard ;D

For 1. You are looking at top programmer hacking to figure out how it's done, however, I could always just give you the routine to do it :D

For 2. Actually editing the program isn't all that difficult, you'll need some help getting started, but once you see how the Edit Buffer works, you should be ok. The only way 2 would be super hard would be if you want to actually display what you are editing to the screen, this requires lots of OS routines and is pretty bad.
Well if you will that would be nice i didn't realize it would be that difficult but i can always take it one byte at a time. :)
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: DRAGONLORD343 on April 27, 2012, 08:52:44 am
for 2, that can pretty easy be done with axe but yeah you'll need memkit for it.
(I know this is in asm language)
i wouldn't mind knowing how to do i in axe if you'll show me were to look or what to do
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: Xeda112358 on April 27, 2012, 10:27:25 am
@DRAGONLORD777: Are you wanting to edit the bytes in the program or do you want to edit it like the program editor? Editing like from the program editor is going to require some trickery to do it right. Editing the data directly is pretty easy, though :)
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: DRAGONLORD343 on April 27, 2012, 12:34:03 pm
@DRAGONLORD777: Are you wanting to edit the bytes in the program or do you want to edit it like the program editor? Editing like from the program editor is going to require some trickery to do it right. Editing the data directly is pretty easy, though :)
I want to be able to do it like MIMAS something like that but for now just editing the data directly will work
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: Xeda112358 on April 27, 2012, 12:40:26 pm
Editing like Mimas will take a lot of work o.o I wish you luck on that XD The basic way to edit bytes directly is to:

Get the name of the program in OP1 (with the proper Obj byte first, the name, then a zero byte)
Use bcall(_ChkFindSym) to get necessary pointers to the data
Use these pointers to edit data.

I am not sure how well the code is that I posted in the other topic for showing this...
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: DRAGONLORD343 on April 27, 2012, 12:48:40 pm
well THAT we can agree on. it will be a lot of work but i can't begin to explain how often i've wanted to be able to simply copy and paste a line of code or have shortcut keys while editing programs and im pretty sure that im not the only one
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: Xeda112358 on April 27, 2012, 12:55:06 pm
Yeah, that is the truth XD Have you ever checked out zStart? That has some cool features :) I am not sure if it has copy/paste functionality (I cannot remember), but I think it does if you have the TI-84+ or an SE. Check the info in his signature:

http://ourl.ca/15941/298418
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: thepenguin77 on April 27, 2012, 10:08:07 pm
well THAT we can agree on. it will be a lot of work but i can't begin to explain how often i've wanted to be able to simply copy and paste a line of code or have shortcut keys while editing programs and im pretty sure that im not the only one

Copy/Paste is Uber hard. It requires in depth knowledge of how to deal with the edit buffers, good knowledge of how TI basic coded, and good practice in key hooks.


But, you say you want to edit programs. The first question is: Do you want to modify the program and leave it the same size, or are your modifications going to make it bigger? Leaving it the same size is relatively easy while making it bigger is going to require some work.



And Xeda was correct, zStart can copy/paste, undo, GOTO Labels, and edit archived stuff. You should check it out, it's in my sig.

In the program editor:


And for a semi-recent readme check here (http://www.ticalc.org/cgi-bin/zipview?83plus/flash/programs/zstart.zip;zStart%20v1.3.005/readme.txt). (Text document that will open in-browser)
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: DRAGONLORD343 on May 02, 2012, 12:48:40 pm
i tried zstart and it erased eveything off of my calc so i guess it's a good thing that i have two
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: Xeda112358 on May 02, 2012, 01:14:09 pm
O.o What model do you have and what OS did you have? That is odd behavior for zStart o.O

EDIT: Also, was there a GarbageCollect at some point, too, after it was installed? And did yuo have other apps that you ran? Something could have conflicted .__.
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: Hayleia on May 02, 2012, 01:17:16 pm
i tried zstart and it erased eveything off of my calc so i guess it's a good thing that i have two

O.o What model do you have and what OS did you have? That is odd behavior for zStart o.O

EDIT: Also, was there a GarbageCollect at some point, too, after it was installed? And did yuo have other apps that you ran? Something could have conflicted .__.
^This. Also, were your stuff archived ?
Title: Re: help me im lost?!!
Post by: thepenguin77 on May 02, 2012, 05:03:24 pm
i tried zstart and it erased eveything off of my calc so i guess it's a good thing that i have two

Was all of your stuff in ram? If it was, then yes, it's gone.


But if it was in the archive, doing a ram clear will probably bring it back. And if that doesn't work, you should use DrDnar's archive utility (http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/411/41120.html).