Author Topic: help me im lost?!!  (Read 9139 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DRAGONLORD343

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
help me im lost?!!
« on: April 26, 2012, 12:51:12 pm »
ive been doing asm for about a year now and i feel like i can only just now say that i've become pretty decent at it. but there is still a lot i need to learn i just don't know what those things are. i do know that i would like to learn how to edit basic programs from within an asm program.

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2012, 02:26:37 pm »
You might want to look at the VAT, which is the calc's filesystem.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2012, 04:51:08 pm »
Now, when you say edit, do you mean: 1) Open up the program editor to allow the user to edit the program, or 2) Actually edit the program from an assembly program?

In both cases, the way to do it is very hard ;D

For 1. You are looking at top programmer hacking to figure out how it's done, however, I could always just give you the routine to do it :D

For 2. Actually editing the program isn't all that difficult, you'll need some help getting started, but once you see how the Edit Buffer works, you should be ok. The only way 2 would be super hard would be if you want to actually display what you are editing to the screen, this requires lots of OS routines and is pretty bad.
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3915
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2012, 04:36:13 am »
for 2, that can pretty easy be done with axe but yeah you'll need memkit for it.
(I know this is in asm language)
« Last Edit: April 27, 2012, 04:36:32 am by aeTIos »
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline DRAGONLORD343

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2012, 08:51:49 am »
Now, when you say edit, do you mean: 1) Open up the program editor to allow the user to edit the program, or 2) Actually edit the program from an assembly program?

In both cases, the way to do it is very hard ;D

For 1. You are looking at top programmer hacking to figure out how it's done, however, I could always just give you the routine to do it :D

For 2. Actually editing the program isn't all that difficult, you'll need some help getting started, but once you see how the Edit Buffer works, you should be ok. The only way 2 would be super hard would be if you want to actually display what you are editing to the screen, this requires lots of OS routines and is pretty bad.
Well if you will that would be nice i didn't realize it would be that difficult but i can always take it one byte at a time. :)

Offline DRAGONLORD343

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2012, 08:52:44 am »
for 2, that can pretty easy be done with axe but yeah you'll need memkit for it.
(I know this is in asm language)
i wouldn't mind knowing how to do i in axe if you'll show me were to look or what to do

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2012, 10:27:25 am »
@DRAGONLORD777: Are you wanting to edit the bytes in the program or do you want to edit it like the program editor? Editing like from the program editor is going to require some trickery to do it right. Editing the data directly is pretty easy, though :)

Offline DRAGONLORD343

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2012, 12:34:03 pm »
@DRAGONLORD777: Are you wanting to edit the bytes in the program or do you want to edit it like the program editor? Editing like from the program editor is going to require some trickery to do it right. Editing the data directly is pretty easy, though :)
I want to be able to do it like MIMAS something like that but for now just editing the data directly will work

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2012, 12:40:26 pm »
Editing like Mimas will take a lot of work o.o I wish you luck on that XD The basic way to edit bytes directly is to:

Get the name of the program in OP1 (with the proper Obj byte first, the name, then a zero byte)
Use bcall(_ChkFindSym) to get necessary pointers to the data
Use these pointers to edit data.

I am not sure how well the code is that I posted in the other topic for showing this...

Offline DRAGONLORD343

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2012, 12:48:40 pm »
well THAT we can agree on. it will be a lot of work but i can't begin to explain how often i've wanted to be able to simply copy and paste a line of code or have shortcut keys while editing programs and im pretty sure that im not the only one

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2012, 12:55:06 pm »
Yeah, that is the truth XD Have you ever checked out zStart? That has some cool features :) I am not sure if it has copy/paste functionality (I cannot remember), but I think it does if you have the TI-84+ or an SE. Check the info in his signature:

http://ourl.ca/15941/298418

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2012, 10:08:07 pm »
well THAT we can agree on. it will be a lot of work but i can't begin to explain how often i've wanted to be able to simply copy and paste a line of code or have shortcut keys while editing programs and im pretty sure that im not the only one

Copy/Paste is Uber hard. It requires in depth knowledge of how to deal with the edit buffers, good knowledge of how TI basic coded, and good practice in key hooks.


But, you say you want to edit programs. The first question is: Do you want to modify the program and leave it the same size, or are your modifications going to make it bigger? Leaving it the same size is relatively easy while making it bigger is going to require some work.



And Xeda was correct, zStart can copy/paste, undo, GOTO Labels, and edit archived stuff. You should check it out, it's in my sig.

In the program editor:
  • Copy - ON + +
  • Paste - ON + Enter
  • Undo - ON + ^ (pastes whatever was last cleared)
  • Label menu - ON + VARS


And for a semi-recent readme check here. (Text document that will open in-browser)
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline DRAGONLORD343

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2012, 12:48:40 pm »
i tried zstart and it erased eveything off of my calc so i guess it's a good thing that i have two
« Last Edit: May 02, 2012, 12:48:55 pm by DRAGONLORD343 »

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2012, 01:14:09 pm »
O.o What model do you have and what OS did you have? That is odd behavior for zStart o.O

EDIT: Also, was there a GarbageCollect at some point, too, after it was installed? And did yuo have other apps that you ran? Something could have conflicted .__.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: help me im lost?!!
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2012, 01:17:16 pm »
i tried zstart and it erased eveything off of my calc so i guess it's a good thing that i have two

O.o What model do you have and what OS did you have? That is odd behavior for zStart o.O

EDIT: Also, was there a GarbageCollect at some point, too, after it was installed? And did yuo have other apps that you ran? Something could have conflicted .__.
^This. Also, were your stuff archived ?
« Last Edit: May 02, 2012, 01:17:21 pm by Hayleia »
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s