Author Topic: Is there an ASM converter ?  (Read 4036 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Is there an ASM converter ?
« on: October 14, 2011, 12:57:59 pm »
Hello !

First, I'm 14 and French, so my English can be bad  ;D

Well, I made an Axe game on the Ti-83+ and I try to transfer this program on a Ti-82 stats.fr. For this I disassembled the *.8xp file, and I got a *.z80 file.

Is possible convert z80 ASM into ASM for Ti-82 stats (or Ti-83, it's the same) ? Is there an converter ?

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2011, 12:58:30 pm »
I believe they're a different ASM.
Sig wipe!

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2011, 01:07:11 pm »
Yeah, I know, but what I ask is if there is a <u>converter</u>, a program which change some z80 ASM instructions in the ASM of the Ti 83 (I don't know if it has a name XD )

Offline Mighty Moose

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 141
  • Rating: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2011, 01:09:07 pm »
iirc the ASM code is actually the same, but the system calls, system equates, memory spaces, and hardware ports are different.  This means you could compile the code, but you would have to change all of the bcalls to their corresponding routines on the ti-82. However, many of those routines may not actually exist as part of the ti-82. you would also have to change all code dealing with hardware ports, RAM areas that do not exist on the ti-82, and Flash ROM routines because the ti-82 does not have archive support.

As far as I know, there is no converter program out there, but you could try using an assembler such as TASM or SPASM to reassemble the code after you changed it.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2011, 01:10:34 pm by Mighty Moose »
Cheers!
I beta test, so...yeah.  PM me if you want me to test anything :D.

Almost only counts in horseshoes and handgrenades.

Cogito ergo sum.

Calcs:
TI-84+, OS 2.43, Boot Code 1.02, 128k RAM
TI-84+SE VSC, OS 2.43, Boot Code 1.00, 128k RAM  (I'm spoiled :P)
TI-81, OS 1.6K (only borrowed)
Casio fx-CG10 (Prizm), OS 01.04.0200
TI-Nspire Clickpad, OS 1.4
TI-Nspire Clickpad, OS 3.1.0.392
TI-Nspire CAS Clickpad, OS 1.6.10110 (!?) now OS 3.1.0.392

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2011, 01:10:59 pm »
They're both Z80 CPUs. The differences are in the peripheral hardware. As for a converter, try an Assembler instead. Just modify your include file properly.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2011, 01:11:38 pm by Qwerty.55 »
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2011, 01:12:24 pm »
That's because it's a hard work I'm looking for a converter :-\ but if it doesn't exist, I will try to do this manually, and in this case ...  :banghead:

I hadn't see the precedent post  ;D

I have the code, he's in a *.z80 file, I'd disassemble it from an Axe program (*.8xp), I want not compile different code !
« Last Edit: October 14, 2011, 01:15:21 pm by Matrefeytontias »

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2011, 01:15:41 pm »
Hey Matrefeytontias, welcome here! I'm not really to familar with the TI-82 stats.fr, but here's what I seem to remember:

They are a bit different, and they have hardware differences as well. There is no converter. They are similar though, and it could be possible to port it from TI-83+ASM to TI-83 ASM(TI 83ASM should be the same as what the TI-82stats.fr uses, I think) You would have to be knowledgeable with ASM though.

Someone else would have to verify this information, because as I said; I am not too familiar with the 82-stats.fr model.

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2011, 01:17:53 pm »
I tried this, but the Ti said I used bad Reglines, so I think that some memories slots ( slots ?) does not exist on the Ti 82 stats

EDIT : you're sure that there isn't any converter ? so I must change my file manually, but I never learned no any ASM (calculator, PC, shower ...) ... If I haven't choice, is anybody who can do it ?
« Last Edit: October 14, 2011, 01:22:44 pm by Matrefeytontias »

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2011, 01:23:27 pm »
That's because it's a hard work I'm looking for a converter :-\ but if it doesn't exist, I will try to do this manually, and in this case ...  :banghead:

I hadn't see the precedent post  ;D

I have the code, he's in a *.z80 file, I'd disassemble it from an Axe program (*.8xp), I want not compile different code !

Code in .z80 files won't run. You need to assemble it with an assembler anyways. The thing about ASM is that well written ASM uses a lot of #define statements to allow for small constant changes. These are defined in the include file. For a normal ASM program, most of what you would need to do is change the ports and change the #define statements. However, you're working with disassembled Axe. That's a different story and unless you're extremely good with z80, I'd highly recommend starting with an easier project. Disassembled code is notoriously difficult to understand, let alone port to a new platform (although Axe admittedly doesn't produce the "WTF?" code most compilers do).
« Last Edit: October 14, 2011, 01:26:17 pm by Qwerty.55 »
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2011, 01:25:57 pm »
Veeeeeeeeeeeeeeery good ... so, if I understand your post, I can't, drop, there isn't anyway. That's it ?

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2011, 01:27:20 pm »
I'm not sure I understand your post. Would you mind rephrasing it or writing it in French?
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #11 on: October 14, 2011, 01:27:58 pm »
I tried this, but the Ti said I used bad Reglines, so I think that some memories slots ( slots ?) does not exist on the Ti 82 stats

EDIT : you're sure that there isn't any converter ? so I must change my file manually, but I never learned no any ASM (calculator, PC, shower ...) ... If I haven't choice, is anybody who can do it ?

Yes, I am certain that their is no such converter. It wouldn't work right because of the differences. Their are some things that can be done on one the TI-83+ that do not exist on the TI-83, and if the code made use of those things it would cause problems.

Also,As Qwerty said attempting such a thing would be rather difficult especially with no previous ASM knowledge.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2011, 01:29:02 pm by Art_of_camelot »

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #12 on: October 14, 2011, 01:30:42 pm »
@Qwerty.55 : sorry, I asked if you said there isn't anyway to port axe issued Ti 83+ ASM on Ti 83

@Art_of_camelot : So, I must do this manually ... :'(
« Last Edit: October 14, 2011, 01:33:38 pm by Matrefeytontias »

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #13 on: October 14, 2011, 01:35:57 pm »
As far as I know, it's generally done by changing the include file on the assembler. That will be fairly ineffective here, so it would have to be done manually.
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: Is there an ASM converter ?
« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2011, 01:37:32 pm »
Yeah, great ...

Is there anybody who know how to do it if I post the file ? ;D
« Last Edit: October 14, 2011, 01:37:52 pm by Matrefeytontias »