Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => ASM => Topic started by: skuller972 on March 28, 2009, 12:36:47 pm

Title: OTBP++ errors
Post by: skuller972 on March 28, 2009, 12:36:47 pm
if anybody here has ever used OTBP++, do you know how to fix these problems:
it doesnt work with lowercase
whenever it sets up, at about 35% it errors and stops. i have never been able to use it, but i have seen the screenies and read reviews, so before i scrap it, is there:
a fix for my error(s)
a better oncalc assembler
a list of errors (mine is error 14)
a cure for my OCD
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: noahbaby94 on March 28, 2009, 12:38:43 pm
Your gonna wanna use spasm instead OTBP assembler is slightly buggy(no offense) but spasm is pretty amazing it's a replacement for tasm.
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: skuller972 on March 28, 2009, 12:44:11 pm
spasm heh thats a funny name
is there a link to this "spasm'
wow that last sentence sounds so weird if you say it aloud
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: noahbaby94 on March 28, 2009, 12:47:33 pm
It's Spencer's assmbler. (Spencer is the one writing zelda.)
http://www.revsoft.org/phpBB2/viewforum.php?f=21&sid=3061c3fcc553478778d313b5b1bab9ae
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: skuller972 on March 28, 2009, 12:49:45 pm
yeah i cant wait for zelda to be released the screenies are amazing
SPASM
it never gets old
SPASM
SPASM

EDIT:
uhhh which one of these has the download link?

*cough* spasm *cough*

EDIT2:
um hello.... does any body happen to know where to download spasm? anyone? going once? going twice?
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: simplethinker on March 28, 2009, 03:20:58 pm
um hello.... does any body happen to know where to download spasm? anyone? going once? going twice?
Here (http://www.revsoft.org/projects/spasm)
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: bfr on March 28, 2009, 04:42:47 pm
Note that SPASM is an on-computer assembler, but if you're still interested, you should probably see the last post in this thread (http://www.revsoft.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=256&sid=ccc78bf3c2921931040b2e66f9c4f65a)

Also, could you please post the code you're trying to assemble?  I don't know of any other on-calculator assemblers for the TI-83+ series, but maybe we could help you with the problems you're having with OTBP++.

Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: simplethinker on March 28, 2009, 05:31:17 pm
If all else fails (and as long as the program isn't too massive) you could always assemble by hand (http://www.unitedti.org/index.php?showtopic=1895&hl=assemble+by+hand).  With enough practice it's actually possible to assemble at a pretty decent speed.
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: skuller972 on March 28, 2009, 08:07:17 pm
well, bfr, i wasn't really to the stage of making anything, i was just testing it out, but on both the prgmAEXAMPLE and the prgmHELLO in the readme, at about 35% on the setup it errored
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: calc84maniac on March 29, 2009, 12:21:42 am
Try the non ++ version and see if it works. That's the one that I worked on and debugged. ;) I doubt I have ever even downloaded the ++ version.
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on March 29, 2009, 01:43:40 am
wasnt ++ the one by Randomist/the guy who made PyroEdit?
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: skuller972 on March 29, 2009, 08:29:46 am
wait does the non ++ one have many bugs? if so where could i find a debugged one?
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: calc84maniac on March 29, 2009, 02:41:25 pm
wasnt ++ the one by Randomist/the guy who made PyroEdit?
Yes, it was. I have no idea what he changed, so I can't give advice on bug reports. The original version works fine, though you have to have the ASM subroutines unarchived (no real biggie... they're small).

Edit:
If all else fails, you can try replacing the main assembler file with the "unreleased" one in this zip: http://otbp.tifreakware.net/files/ASSEMBL2.zip (http://otbp.tifreakware.net/files/ASSEMBL2.zip)
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: skuller972 on March 29, 2009, 03:55:12 pm
do i use this file with the ++ version or the original?
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: calc84maniac on March 29, 2009, 03:57:38 pm
do i use this file with the ++ version or the original?
Well, I seriously doubt any changes were made to the subroutines, so it shouldn't matter.
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: skuller972 on March 29, 2009, 03:58:07 pm
ok thanks i gonna use the original because it comes in groups

uhh... half of the characters for programming are missing, for example:
how do you specify hex and binary and octal radixes
and underscores and lowercase letters
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: calc84maniac on March 29, 2009, 09:31:10 pm
Binary: Put a "b" at the end.
Hex: Put an "h" at the end.
Octal: N/A

For lowercase letters, you just... type them... for underscores you can use one of those character set programs.
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: skuller972 on March 30, 2009, 06:27:22 am
oh thanks, but i thought it didnt accept lowercase? oh well, it works
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: JonimusPrime on April 01, 2009, 05:07:32 pm
Or you could also use calcutil to run the program and it will automaticly unarchive teh subrutines as long as teh main program is in basic.
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: skuller972 on April 28, 2009, 07:14:12 pm
OK, I have used this program for a while, and I still dont get how to make MirageOS or DCS headers... I need help...
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: Silver Shadow on April 29, 2009, 02:09:14 pm
I tried making a DCS header but it only displays an error message...
I tried putting a jr instead of a jp in the header, with no errors as a result. But I know this isn't a correct DCS header... :P
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: skuller972 on April 29, 2009, 05:46:39 pm
I have no idea what that just meant because I have never made a DCS header before :)
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: Ti-newb on June 01, 2009, 09:49:28 pm
whats a DCS Header..
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: noahbaby94 on June 01, 2009, 09:50:48 pm
From my understanding it is a hex code which the shell doorcs reads and makes an icon.
Title: Re: OTBP++ errors
Post by: Halifax on June 01, 2009, 10:16:02 pm
You can always check the Doors CS 6 Developer's SDK Documentation (http://dcs.cemetech.net/index.php?title=Developers'_SDK). It explains the format that it expects here (http://dcs.cemetech.net/index.php?title=ASM_Header_(Doors_CS_6)).