Author Topic: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic  (Read 44547 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #30 on: April 08, 2010, 08:30:18 am »
Lol thanks :P
No, I will not stop coding because a calculator forum doesn't like me.  No, I will not start trolling as soon as I hit 10.
Yes, it is very hard to update projects with school and work combined.  I do get to work a lot on Half Life 2 during school, but not on Mosaic.  LinTIx is very slow going, that will pick up more in the summer.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #31 on: April 08, 2010, 09:41:09 am »
Keep in mind negative respect != forum community disliking you, though. It can pretty much be a few posts in particular the community dislike :P

And the thing I always loved the most with TI-BASIC (and now Axe) is how it's programmable on-calc easily, altough of course there are ways to do it with ASM too.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2010, 09:42:40 am by DJ Omnimaga »

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #32 on: April 08, 2010, 06:50:07 pm »
Yeah, I know less respect does not mean that a community dislikes me.  I exagerrated for the sake of argument.

Offline lafferjm

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #33 on: April 15, 2010, 04:17:49 pm »
I am having problems with this.  I type in everythng as you have it except for the J*7 part since i am using 8x8 sprites.  I changed it to J*8 on both lines, and then for my sprite added this after the tilemap:
Code: [Select]
[FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF->Pic1
It does fine except at runtime.  The sprites are unaligned and everywhere on the screen, and where there should be a blank space it is something completely random.  If I can figure out how to post a screenshot i will do so.

Edit:  Pic is below as an attachment so i guess that will work.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2010, 04:18:35 pm by lafferjm »

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #34 on: April 15, 2010, 04:39:38 pm »
Can you attach the whole code?

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #35 on: April 15, 2010, 04:56:31 pm »
Oh hi Lafferjm and welcome here. You should post the entire code since something else in the code could very well be causing the error, not to mention if it happens to be an Axe bug, then Quigibo can apply the hammer tool on his calc a few more times to fix it. :)

Offline lafferjm

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #36 on: April 15, 2010, 05:26:18 pm »
Code: [Select]
:.B
:[1111→GDB1
:[1001
:[1001
:[1111
:[FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF→Pic1
:ClrDraw
:For(I,0,7
:For(J,0,8
:{J*9+I+GDB1→A
:A^16→B
:A/16→A
:If A
:Pt-On(I*14,J*8,Pic1+A-8
:End
:If B
:Pt-On(I*14,J*8,Pic1+B-8
:End
:End
:End
© Copyright 2000-2010 Cemetech & Kerm Martian :: Page Execution Time: 0.234438 seconds.

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #37 on: April 15, 2010, 05:36:08 pm »
Try this:

Code: [Select]
:.B
:[1111→GDB1
:[1001
:[1001
:[1111
:[FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF→Pic1
:ClrDraw
:For(I,0,6
:For(J,0,7
:{J*8+I+GDB1→A
:A^16→B
:A/16→A
:If A
:Pt-On(I*14,J*8,Pic1+A-8
:End
:If B
:Pt-On(I*14,J*8,Pic1+B-8
:End
:End
:End
© Copyright 2000-2010 Cemetech & Kerm Martian :: Page Execution Time: 0.234438 seconds.

8x8 sprites can't have a 14x9 map. So this changes it to 12x8. (which should be fine)
This just changed the 3 lines below ClrDraw.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2010, 05:37:26 pm by {AP} »

Offline lafferjm

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #38 on: April 15, 2010, 05:44:14 pm »
Still didn't work.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #39 on: April 15, 2010, 05:45:39 pm »
Are you sure you downloaded the right version of Axe?

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #40 on: April 15, 2010, 05:48:02 pm »
Code: [Select]
:.B
:[1111→GDB1
:[1001
:[1001
:[1111
:[FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF→Pic1
:ClrDraw
:For(I,0,1           <-------------
:For(J,0,3           <-------------
:{J*2+I+GDB1→A    <--------------
:A^16→B
:A/16→A
:If A
:Pt-On(I*14,J*8,Pic1+A*8-8  <------------
:End
:If B
:Pt-On(I*14,J*8,Pic1+B-8
:End
:End
:End
© Copyright 2000-2010 Cemetech & Kerm Martian :: Page Execution Time: 0.234438 seconds.

Try this, and if it works I'll tell you why.  I don't want to give you misinformation.

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #41 on: April 15, 2010, 05:49:48 pm »
Yeah, SirCmpwn saw what I just noticed... >.<

Offline lafferjm

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #42 on: April 15, 2010, 07:18:18 pm »
It still isn't working, it is the same thing as before just on a smaller area of the screen.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #43 on: April 15, 2010, 07:24:27 pm »
I think its becasue you forgot to close the parenthesis on {J*2+I+GDB1}→A

Remember, parenthesis matter when storing to variables.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Tutorial] Tilemaps in Axe Basic
« Reply #44 on: April 15, 2010, 07:27:50 pm »
I loaded the last code in Sourcecoder, saved, opened in Wabbitemu, making sure the code was intact, compiled fine with latest Axe version, and when running Asm(prgmB it just says Done