Author Topic: 4*4 or 8*8 tiles?  (Read 4913 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
4*4 or 8*8 tiles?
« on: August 19, 2011, 10:11:48 am »
I'm trying to make a Hero Core clone for the TI series. The original game has 8*8 sprites and tiles and the playfield measures 20*20 tiles. The TI-84 however has the capability to draw 96 8*8 tiles or 384 4*4 tiles which comes close to the original max of 20*20=400 tiles. Is it better to use 4*4 tiles and have more room to play with or plain 8*8. Scrolling is no option, because the original game has no scrolling at all.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline leafy

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1554
  • Rating: +475/-97
  • Seizon senryakuuuu!
    • View Profile
    • keff.me
Re: 4*4 or 8*8 tiles?
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2011, 12:17:17 pm »
4x4. I'd rather see the entire screen than a crappier map, albiet with lower resolution tiles.
In-progress: Graviter (...)

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: 4*4 or 8*8 tiles?
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2011, 12:58:14 pm »
4*4 is usually better for action games, particularly when there is no scrolling.

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: 4*4 or 8*8 tiles?
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2011, 02:31:40 pm »
I'd go for 4*4.  Whether it's easier to program for or it's because pretty much every platformer I've made is 4*4 is your call :P

Btw there's also quite a few 5*5 platformers..

EDIT: for anyone who's curious:
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 02:33:41 pm by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: 4*4 or 8*8 tiles?
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2011, 03:13:28 am »
Lol even those graphics are hard to port to the crappy 96*64 screen of the TI84. 4*4 it will be. The sprites are going to be 4*4 too I guess. It looses the whole graphic dimension by doing this :( But the gameplay will be quite the same as the pc version. Bosses and some enemies will have bigger sprites. Are there 4*4 sprite drawing routines? Not the type of fake sprites axe uses now. I mean real sprites that replace a part of the tiles and when they move along the tiles only have to be redrawn in that certain area. This will speed up games dramatically I guess.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: 4*4 or 8*8 tiles?
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2011, 03:18:25 am »
You mean like a Pt-Off() that only manipulates a 4*4 rectangle?  Doesn't exist, unfortunately :(
What I do is I have a solid 4*4 square [F0F0F0F000...00] which I first Pt-On then Pt-Change.. erasing it.  Not the most optimized way (inb4 runer pops up :P) but it works.
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline MGOS

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 4*4 or 8*8 tiles?
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2011, 03:23:06 am »
There are no 4x4 sprite drawing routines in axe. But you can use the the standard 16 digit hex code and just keep the the rest 0.
Drawing can be managed if you multiply the x and y of the Pnt-On()-command in your for loop by 4 instead of 8.

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: 4*4 or 8*8 tiles?
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2011, 03:37:25 am »
The tilemaps are going to be huge when I use the standard way to do it. The most common tile is an [FFFF] 4*4 tile I could also draw an inverted square instead of waisting ram. The sprites will never walk on tiles because they are solid, so I can simply draw the 4*4 sprites, refresh the screen then draw a black square over them and redraw them at the new position.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: 4*4 or 8*8 tiles?
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2011, 03:38:36 am »
That's what I would do as well, multiplying the x and y by 4 instead of 8. Unless there's a faster way.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2011, 03:40:10 am by Juju »

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.