Author Topic: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs  (Read 11177 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« on: March 03, 2011, 05:36:24 am »
Okay, so earlier I was asked by aeTIos for a hex code to run BASIC programs in Axe and I have heard that this was requested by others, so here goes my rendition... I am sorry in advance if my Axeing is horrible, this is only my second routine:
Code: [Select]
"prgmHELLO"→Str1                     ;Name of the var
Str1                                 ;To get the pointer to the string in HL (Ans)
Asm(E7FDCB08CEEF9B4AFDCB088E         ;

As a word of warning, do not use "Stop" in your BASIC programs... This seems to cause a crash :(
You can use "Return" and all the other commands, though, to my knowledge.

I hope this helps!

Offline Fast Crash

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 192
  • Rating: +45/-7
  • Virus of tomorrow
    • View Profile
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 06:13:45 am »
Thank you very much ! And yeah "Stop" also causes crashes with NoShell.

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3915
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2011, 06:34:26 am »
Thanks this will help me very much!
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Broseph Radson

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 295
  • Rating: +20/-1
  • Its 0x1A4 somewhere
    • View Profile
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2011, 08:36:11 am »
Thank you!!! yey!
Edit: Already have a mini command line working  :w00t:
« Last Edit: March 03, 2011, 10:18:03 am by Broseph Radson »

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2011, 11:14:33 am »
Okay, so earlier I was asked by aeTIos for a hex code to run BASIC programs in Axe and I have heard that this was requested by others, so here goes my rendition... I am sorry in advance if my Axeing is horrible, this is only my second routine:
Code: [Select]
"prgmHELLO"→Str1                     ;Name of the var
Str1                                 ;To get the pointer to the string in HL (Ans)
Asm(E7FDCB08CEEF9B4AFDCB088E         ;

As a word of warning, do not use "Stop" in your BASIC programs... This seems to cause a crash :(
You can use "Return" and all the other commands, though, to my knowledge.

I hope this helps!

Code: [Select]
rst 20h
set 1,(iy+8)
B_CALL (_ParseInp)
res 1,(iy+8)

I see what you did there :P

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2011, 01:03:38 pm »
Ah, do you know why the set and res are there ? ^-^

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2011, 03:47:45 pm »
Nice Xeda, a lot of people have been looking for this for ages now. Good job :D

Offline ralphdspam

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 841
  • Rating: +38/-1
  • My name is actually Matt.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2011, 10:45:49 pm »
Thanks! This will be very helpful! :D
ld a, 0
ld a, a

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2011, 11:02:06 pm »
Ah, do you know why the set and res are there ? ^-^

I do. Those allow getKey to return with On also. They occur around the bcall(_getKey) that waits for a key after does the ram cleared screen.
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2011, 02:17:03 am »
hehe, not quite >_>
I'll give a hint...
http://tibasicdev.wikidot.com/hexcodes#toc0

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2011, 02:18:53 am »
Wait this let us use program commands on the home screen? O.O

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2011, 02:21:53 am »
Not quite... What happens is that when you run the program, only the stuff you could use on the homescreen (or in a y= var) can be used. As soon as I figured this out, I just added the code to set BASIC mode and after the program is done, it returns to EQU mode.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2011, 02:22:50 am »
Oh ok. So that's why Unarchive/Archive would work, then?

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2011, 02:26:53 am »
Unarchive/archive would not work in the BASIC program for program vars (unless you run the code I linked to)... that is kind of confusing, sorry.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe: How to Execute BASIC Programs
« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2011, 02:30:52 am »
Ok, I am confused too now. X.x I was wondering since the TIBD link specified something about Archive/Unarchive.