• Axe Q&A 5 5
Currently:  

Author Topic: Axe Q&A  (Read 528248 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #465 on: June 15, 2011, 03:37:59 pm »
You don't need a r, the contrast is a 1-byte value. I think it's not appearing to work correctly because the value stored at 0x8447 isn't the value actually sent to the LCD driver. When adjusting the contrast, the value the OS sends to the LCD driver is the byte stored at this address plus 24. So to set a contrast one higher than the current OS contrast, you would do:

Shade({ᴇ8447}+24+1)
« Last Edit: June 15, 2011, 03:40:28 pm by Runer112 »

Offline Aichi

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 290
  • Rating: +76/-3
    • View Profile
    • Devrays
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #466 on: June 15, 2011, 05:22:10 pm »
You don't need a r, the contrast is a 1-byte value. I think it's not appearing to work correctly because the value stored at 0x8447 isn't the value actually sent to the LCD driver. When adjusting the contrast, the value the OS sends to the LCD driver is the byte stored at this address plus 24. So to set a contrast one higher than the current OS contrast, you would do:

Shade({ᴇ8447}+24+1)

Ah, thanks. I was a bit confused. :)

Offline ralphdspam

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 841
  • Rating: +38/-1
  • My name is actually Matt.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #467 on: June 15, 2011, 09:13:06 pm »
I have two questions:
How do you use Y1?
Is Y1 a static pointer?
ld a, 0
ld a, a

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #468 on: June 15, 2011, 10:56:14 pm »
It's actually a combination of a variable (like A-Z and theta and the r1-r6 arguments) and a page number, which is used to figure out which page of flash memory (the "archive") the data is on. It's used specifically to point to variables that are archived, so the only way you "store" to it is through the GetCalc("VARNAME")→Y1 command. Y1 can then be used in a limited set of commands, such as Copy() and {}.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2011, 10:56:22 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #469 on: June 15, 2011, 11:02:49 pm »
I think the command is actually GetCalc("VARNAME",Y1)
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3915
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #470 on: June 16, 2011, 03:39:22 am »
Calc is right. Then you use {Y1+X} to get the byte.
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #471 on: June 19, 2011, 11:03:49 pm »
Whoops, I haven't actually used that command :-[




Offline pianoman

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 426
  • Rating: +24/-0
  • ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #472 on: June 21, 2011, 04:10:27 pm »
How do you run axe programs in an 84+?

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #473 on: June 21, 2011, 04:45:18 pm »
What do you mean? If you have the executable (already compiled program), it's just an assembly program like any other. Run it from DoorsCS or MirageOS, or if you know it was compiled for no shell, run it from the homescreen with Asm(prgmNAME).




Offline pianoman

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 426
  • Rating: +24/-0
  • ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #474 on: June 21, 2011, 04:49:54 pm »
Oh, you don't need an extra shell on your calc?

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #475 on: June 21, 2011, 04:57:16 pm »
If the program was compiled for that extra shell, then yeah. It's exactly the same as any other ASM program.




Offline pianoman

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 426
  • Rating: +24/-0
  • ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #476 on: June 21, 2011, 04:57:47 pm »
Ok, thanks!

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #477 on: June 27, 2011, 02:35:55 pm »
Using [2ND][/] for the e...
I have a level pointer of {P}, like getcalc(Str1)→P
Would 1e{P} get the first byte of the number P points to, or would it be the last byte?  Also is it 1e{P} or 1eP ?

EDIT: answered via IRC.  It would be {P}e1 .
« Last Edit: June 27, 2011, 02:36:44 pm by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #478 on: June 28, 2011, 11:58:00 am »
How optimized are the ++ and -- commands?  Are they slower or faster than the normal A+1→A ?
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #479 on: June 28, 2011, 04:50:10 pm »
They're the same for variables, but usually smaller/faster for memory locations.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2011, 04:50:43 pm by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!