• Axe Q&A 5 5
Currently:  

Author Topic: Axe Q&A  (Read 528234 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Stefan Bauwens

  • Creator of Myst 89 - סטיבן
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1799
  • Rating: +162/-24
  • 68k programmer
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #675 on: October 03, 2011, 04:14:09 am »
Thanks, it helped. :D

EDIT:I have another question.
I want to save the value of x to a string, so I can see it out of my program. The following doesn't seem to work.
Code: [Select]
:10->x
:x->str1
You would have to write code to manually extract the digits, convert to tokens, and put into a TI-OS string variable.

Maybe something like this (input is in X, uses 5 bytes at L1 to temporarily store characters):
Code: [Select]
L1+5→A
0→B
While 1
  B+1→B
  X^10+'0'→{A-1→A}
EndIf X/10→X
Copy(A,GetCalc("Str1",B),B)
Wow, since I am a newbie to Axe i don't think i understand anything of this.
I will try to ofcourse


Very proud Ticalc.org POTY winner (2011 68k) with Myst 89!
Very proud TI-Planet.org DBZ winner(2013)

Interview with me

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #676 on: October 03, 2011, 10:37:36 am »
Does Axe handle getKey(#) differently in Full speed mode?  It keeps bugging on me whenever I try it..
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #677 on: October 03, 2011, 10:41:09 am »
It shouldn't. To me it works normally.

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #678 on: October 03, 2011, 02:35:28 pm »
Normally it does for me, too, but as soon as I put a Full in my program weird junk started happening (eg. pressing MATH would quit, instead of it just being clear)

Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #679 on: October 03, 2011, 02:41:44 pm »
You need to remember, that the keys have different numbers, clear is 15.

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline FinaleTI

  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1830
  • Rating: +121/-2
  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
    • View Profile
    • dmuckerman.tumblr.com
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #680 on: October 03, 2011, 03:27:08 pm »
Wow, since I am a newbie to Axe i don't think i understand anything of this.
I will try to ofcourse

Here's an explanation of the code, in case you still need it.
Spoiler For Explanation:
Code: [Select]
L1+5→A         //Stores a pointer to L1+5 to A.
0→B                       //Stores 0 to B.
While 1                  //Begin loop
  B+1→B                 //Increment number length
  X^10+'0'→{A-1→A}//Divide number (X) by 10, and take the remainder. The remainder is the last digit of the number (X). Then add the remainder to the value of the character '0', to convert it the correct character. The answer is stored to the location pointed to by A, and the location pointed to by A is decremented by 1.
EndIf X/10→X         //Loop condition. Checks to see if X is still divisible by ten, and if so, divides by 10 and continues to loop. Otherwise, the loop ends, and the string is created.
Copy(A,GetCalc("Str1",B),B) //The data pointed to at A is copied to Str1 for a length of B bytes. Str1 is created being B bytes long, B being the length of the number (X).

I hope this is helpful to someone.


Spoiler For Projects:

My projects haven't been worked on in a while, so they're all on hiatus for the time being. I do hope to eventually return to them in some form or another...

Spoiler For Pokemon TI:
Axe port of Pokemon Red/Blue to the 83+/84+ family. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia:
My big personal project, an original RPG about dimensional travel and a few heroes tasked with saving the world.
Coding-wise, on hold, but I am re-working the story.

Spoiler For Finale's Super Insane Tunnel Pack of Doom:
I will be combining Blur and Collision Course into a single gamepack. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia Origins: Sky's Story:
Prequel to Nostalgia. On hold, especially while the story is re-worked.

Offline mrmprog

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 559
  • Rating: +35/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #681 on: October 03, 2011, 05:06:15 pm »
On the topic of keypresses, isn't there a bug that makes some keys confused with each other? It has happened to me before.

Offline Wellen

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 118
  • Rating: +7/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #682 on: October 03, 2011, 06:41:32 pm »
A question : I've got the hex code of a picture, but how can I display it *where I want* on the screen?
-/...././/--./.-/--/.
I'm french, so please feel free to correct my bad english, it'd help me a lot ;)
Spoiler For Feat. Loulou54:
Spoiler For Projects:
Spoiler For Axe:
Ti-Lock : Lock your calc before turning it off               [XXXXXXXX--] 80%
Spoiler For Ti-Basic:
Spoiler For Soko-Ti, a sokoban game in Ti-Basic:

Spoiler For Memory:

Downloads here.

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #683 on: October 03, 2011, 07:01:47 pm »
You need to remember, that the keys have different numbers, clear is 15.
I'm aware of that, I've gotten it pretty much memorized after ~1 year of using Axe. :P  the thing is, [Math] happens to be 47 instead of 15 ;)

On the topic of keypresses, isn't there a bug that makes some keys confused with each other? It has happened to me before.
Yes there is. http://ourl.ca/7652/133708

So..is it handled differently in Full speed mode?  Is there some sort of delay while it waits for the keys, and the delay is cut short or something?
« Last Edit: October 03, 2011, 08:04:30 pm by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #684 on: October 03, 2011, 10:48:39 pm »
A question : I've got the hex code of a picture, but how can I display it *where I want* on the screen?
Put the width and height bytes before it and use the Bitmap() function.




Offline Stefan Bauwens

  • Creator of Myst 89 - סטיבן
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1799
  • Rating: +162/-24
  • 68k programmer
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #685 on: October 04, 2011, 07:00:49 am »
Thanks FinaleTi. I didn't need it anymore but I would like to understand it so thanks.
Don't understand it yet completely, but I will look at it and try to.  8)


Very proud Ticalc.org POTY winner (2011 68k) with Myst 89!
Very proud TI-Planet.org DBZ winner(2013)

Interview with me

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #686 on: October 04, 2011, 10:59:40 pm »
I do believe that direct keypresses do not work correctly in fullspeed mode. switch to normal before checking for keypresses
« Last Edit: October 04, 2011, 11:00:45 pm by squidgetx »

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #687 on: October 04, 2011, 11:12:32 pm »
I do believe that direct keypresses do not work correctly in fullspeed mode. switch to normal before checking for keypresses

I'm pretty sure that Quigibo purposely added extra delay so it would work at 15MHz.


Does Axe handle getKey(#) differently in Full speed mode?  It keeps bugging on me whenever I try it..

I can only think of two things that could be causing this. Either Axe is having problems and parsing your code incorrectly, or your calculator is running substantially faster than 15MHz and the built-in delay isn't enough. I'm guessing that it's the second case, especially if you're using wabbitemu. If so, make sure that you didn't enable the option called "Emulate 20MHz and 25MHz calculators" or "Emulate proposed hardware speeds" because having this checked would certainly cause your problem.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2011, 11:13:45 pm by Runer112 »

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #688 on: October 04, 2011, 11:20:17 pm »
Does Axe handle getKey(#) differently in Full speed mode?  It keeps bugging on me whenever I try it..

I can only think of two things that could be causing this. Either Axe is having problems and parsing your code incorrectly, or your calculator is running substantially faster than 15MHz and the built-in delay isn't enough. I'm guessing that it's the second case, especially if you're using wabbitemu. If so, make sure that you didn't enable the option called "Emulate 20MHz and 25MHz calculators" or "Emulate proposed hardware speeds" because having this checked would certainly cause your problem.
This being said, some calc run faster than 15MHz.  Mine, for instance runs at 16.495MHz (Revision M, tested with thepenguin's TrueSpeed program).

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #689 on: October 05, 2011, 03:28:05 pm »
I just ran TruSpeed: 15.333 Hz, rev B.  And this is on the real calc.
Around the part that checks keypresses for the bullet shooting (which is the biggest thing bugging, among other things) I put a Normal at the beginning and a Full at the end and it still bugged ???
(tho admittedly I didn't put it around
If getKey(15)
Goto END
End

and that bugged, but still, when I press [stat] it's supposed to shoot up-right not just up :P)
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue