Author Topic: Axe Q&A  (Read 528421 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline JosJuice

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1344
  • Rating: +66/-14
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1020 on: November 20, 2011, 10:13:45 am »
So, say a certain person tried to make a program on their calculator in Axe, but when they made the main loop, they failed at the GetKey= statement and can't quit their program.

What should I, I mean they, do?
If a program cannot be exited by normal means, the best way to cancel it is to pull a battery. RAM will be cleared, but nothing else will be damaged.

Offline macweirdo

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Rating: +0/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1021 on: November 20, 2011, 10:21:49 am »
But... RAM clear?  :(

I guess that's ok except for the fact that it's effin' impossible to get anything onto a TI-Nspire via Win7 and I'll have to wait another 82 trillion years to put Axe back on.

EDIT: HAHANO, Axe is in archive 'cause it's an app! [/noob]
« Last Edit: November 20, 2011, 10:47:50 am by macweirdo »

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1022 on: November 20, 2011, 12:50:04 pm »
Also is Text(x,y):Text "Strings" smaller than Text(x,y,"Strings")?
Nope, but Text(Y*256+X):Text "Strings" is, if Y and X are constants.
So, say a certain person tried to make a program on their calculator in Axe, but when they made the main loop, they failed at the GetKey= statement and can't quit their program.
Make sure your getKey values are Axe keycodes, not BASIC keycodes: http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=ezportal;sa=page;p=21




Offline macweirdo

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Rating: +0/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1023 on: November 20, 2011, 03:15:04 pm »
So, say a certain person tried to make a program on their calculator in Axe, but when they made the main loop, they failed at the GetKey= statement and can't quit their program.
Make sure your getKey values are Axe keycodes, not BASIC keycodes: http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=ezportal;sa=page;p=21

Yeah, I used the Getkey^r keycodes, because I made a GETKEY program that way, and didn't notice that the Getkey^r keys are different from the GetCSC keycodes. Whoops :p

EDIT: fail quotes, that's what I get for not using Preview.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2011, 03:27:21 pm by macweirdo »

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1024 on: November 20, 2011, 04:38:23 pm »
Why is this not stickied anymore?

Offline macweirdo

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Rating: +0/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1025 on: November 20, 2011, 04:42:46 pm »
Why is this not stickied anymore?

I have no clue, but it became unstickied recently (like as of today or yesterday.)

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1026 on: November 20, 2011, 05:00:47 pm »
Someone must have accidently unstickied it; it only takes one erroneous click from a CoT or Admin to do so.
It's sticked again now.  Thanks for bringing the issue up.

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1027 on: November 20, 2011, 05:36:57 pm »
Spoiler For quote:
Am I doing this right?
"appvBLARG"→Str1
GetCalc(Str1,123)→oVAR
255→oVAR
!If oVAR-255
.if equal to 255
Disp "Yay"
Else
Disp "Noes"
End


I thought it would be more like

"appvBLARG"→Str1
GetCalc(Str1,123)→oVAR
255→{oVAR}
!If {oVAR}-255
Disp "Yay"
Else
Disp "Noes"
End


Since you treat appvars like areas of free RAM. I'm not certain though.
Leafiness has it right.  However it's still giving me problems:
GetCalc(Str1,12)→oPTR
...throws ERR:INVALID TOKEN at compile time and points to the o.

Is there a way to make a custom-named variable point to an appv, prgm, etc?  Or is it basically a static pointer a la Str# or Pic#?
« Last Edit: November 20, 2011, 08:55:19 pm by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1028 on: November 20, 2011, 09:40:05 pm »
You should only use the degree symbol when defining the location of that variable, e.g. L1+2→°PTR. Your code should actually be GetCalc(Str1,12)→PTR.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1029 on: November 20, 2011, 09:46:31 pm »
so the oPTR is the physical location of it, just plain PTR references the contents?
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1030 on: November 20, 2011, 09:59:03 pm »
so the oPTR is the physical location of it, just plain PTR references the contents?
That is correct.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline collechess

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
  • Rating: +22/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1031 on: November 21, 2011, 08:22:22 pm »
How much space does

Code: [Select]
[181842424242423C]->GDB0
[01]
Str00
Str10

take?
The Str00 points to an 8 character long string, the Str10 to a 20 chararacter long string.

Offline Stefan Bauwens

  • Creator of Myst 89 - סטיבן
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1799
  • Rating: +162/-24
  • 68k programmer
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1032 on: November 22, 2011, 06:01:06 am »
I'm trying to find how to put two 'things' together. Like:
Code: [Select]
:5->A
:text(25,25,0 and A>Dec)
I want "05" printed. What must I do, if this is possible?
Thanks in advance.


Very proud Ticalc.org POTY winner (2011 68k) with Myst 89!
Very proud TI-Planet.org DBZ winner(2013)

Interview with me

Offline FinaleTI

  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1830
  • Rating: +121/-2
  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
    • View Profile
    • dmuckerman.tumblr.com
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1033 on: November 22, 2011, 06:04:22 am »
I'm trying to find how to put two 'things' together. Like:
Code: [Select]
:5->A
:text(25,25,0 and A>Dec)
I want "05" printed. What must I do, if this is possible?
Thanks in advance.
You could try this:
Code: [Select]
Text(25,25,'0','0'+A)
It only works for single digit numbers, though.


Spoiler For Projects:

My projects haven't been worked on in a while, so they're all on hiatus for the time being. I do hope to eventually return to them in some form or another...

Spoiler For Pokemon TI:
Axe port of Pokemon Red/Blue to the 83+/84+ family. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia:
My big personal project, an original RPG about dimensional travel and a few heroes tasked with saving the world.
Coding-wise, on hold, but I am re-working the story.

Spoiler For Finale's Super Insane Tunnel Pack of Doom:
I will be combining Blur and Collision Course into a single gamepack. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia Origins: Sky's Story:
Prequel to Nostalgia. On hold, especially while the story is re-worked.

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Q&A
« Reply #1034 on: November 22, 2011, 06:45:40 am »
Really? I got it to work with multidigit numbers
Using:

Text(25,25,"0",A->Dec

Also a somewhat relating question, how would you put together 2 strings and store it into a new string?
« Last Edit: November 22, 2011, 06:46:21 am by epic7 »