Author Topic: Calling one axe program from another  (Read 11204 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chattahippie

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 358
  • Rating: +27/-0
  • Super Member! :D
    • View Profile
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #15 on: February 24, 2012, 06:44:07 pm »
So is there a way to easily (on calc) fix this, manually or auto?  Or does it require changing it on the computer?

Offline kindermoumoute

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 836
  • Rating: +54/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #16 on: February 24, 2012, 06:47:35 pm »
To conclude, how to to fix it ?
Projects :

Worms armageddon z80 :
- smoothscrolling Pixelmapping : 100%
- Map editor : 80%
- Game System : 0%

Tutoriel français sur l'Axe Parser
- 1ère partie : en ligne.
- 2ème partie : en ligne.
- 3ème partie : en ligne.
- 4ème partie : 10%
- Annexe : 100%

Offline chattahippie

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 358
  • Rating: +27/-0
  • Super Member! :D
    • View Profile
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #17 on: February 24, 2012, 06:48:23 pm »
On IRC, Runer suggested Zoom compiling the source, and it seems to work

Offline DrDnar

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 546
  • Rating: +97/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #18 on: February 24, 2012, 11:39:17 pm »
I've got an epic solution and optimization for you all. I can both eliminate the problem with Copy( and reduce the code size by about ten bytes.
Code: [Select]
"prgmNAME"Asm(E7EF7C4EBAM! One-liner.
EDIT: This code causes a memory leak; see below for the fix.

For the curious:
Code: [Select]
ld hl, ptrToName
rst rMOV9TOOP1
bcall(_ExecutePrgm)


Also, to recap: The peep-hold optimizer is causing crashes with the Copy( command sometimes. You can stop Axe from doing the peep-hole optimization with ZOOM. However, it's all a moot point since I just replaced the Copy( command with the single assembly instruction rst rMOV9TOOP1.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2012, 04:44:20 pm by DrDnar »
"No tools will make a man a skilled workman, or master of defense, nor be of any use to him who has not learned how to handle them, and has never bestowed any attention upon them. . . . Yes, [] the tools which would teach men their own use would be beyond price."—Plato's The Republic, circa 380 BC

Offline chattahippie

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 358
  • Rating: +27/-0
  • Super Member! :D
    • View Profile
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #19 on: February 25, 2012, 12:41:17 am »
I've got an epic solution and optimization for you all. I can both eliminate the problem with Copy( and reduce the code size by about ten bytes.
Code: [Select]
"prgmNAME"Asm(E7EF7C4EBAM! One-liner.

For curious:
Code: [Select]
ld hl, ptrToName
rst rMOV9TOOP1
bcall(_ExecutePrgm)


Also, to recap: The peep-hold optimizer is causing crashes with the Copy( command sometimes. You can stop Axe from doing the peep-hole optimization with ZOOM. However, it's all a moot point since I just replaced the Copy( command with the single assembly instruction rst rMOV9TOOP1.
Thanks for the fix :D

Offline Jonius7

  • python! Lua!
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1918
  • Rating: +82/-18
  • Still bringing new dimensions to the TI-nspire...
    • View Profile
    • TI Stadium
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #20 on: February 25, 2012, 06:01:58 am »
Could this somehow be added to the next version of Axe? Good thought for starting this topic, penguin77.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2012, 06:02:38 am by Jonius7 »
Programmed some CASIO Basic in the past
DJ Omnimaga Music Discographist ;)
DJ Omnimaga Discography
My Own Music!
My Released Projects (Updated 2015/05/08)
TI-nspire BASIC
TI-nspire Hold 'em
Health Bar
Scissors Paper Rock
TI-nspire Lua
Numstrat
TI-nspire Hold 'em Lua
Transport Chooser
Secret Project (at v0.08.2 - 2015/05/08)
Spoiler For Extra To-Be-Sorted Clutter:

Spoiler For Relegated Projects:
TI-nspire BASIC
Battle of 16s (stalled) | sTIck RPG (stalled) | Monopoly (stalled) | Cosmic Legions (stalled)
Axe Parser
Doodle God (stalled while I go and learn some Axe)

Offline kindermoumoute

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 836
  • Rating: +54/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #21 on: February 25, 2012, 06:30:48 am »
Damn, is work perfectly ! :D

* kindermoumoute wonder if there is a way to start asm program compatible with shells...
Projects :

Worms armageddon z80 :
- smoothscrolling Pixelmapping : 100%
- Map editor : 80%
- Game System : 0%

Tutoriel français sur l'Axe Parser
- 1ère partie : en ligne.
- 2ème partie : en ligne.
- 3ème partie : en ligne.
- 4ème partie : 10%
- Annexe : 100%

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #22 on: February 28, 2012, 02:55:57 am »
Yeah sorry about that, I've fixed this problem but haven't released the update yet.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline chattahippie

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 358
  • Rating: +27/-0
  • Super Member! :D
    • View Profile
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #23 on: March 01, 2012, 08:35:30 pm »
I think I found a bug with this... it causes my RAM to steadily decrease
I tried running both programs seperately, took out the "prgmNAME"Asm(E7EF7C4E) command, chose the same options on the menu (except no program was run from it), and no memory was lost ???

As you can see in the screenie, nothing was created, yet about 5000 bytes of memory disappeared (15000 at start to 10000 at finish) :(

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #24 on: March 01, 2012, 09:10:09 pm »
You can try this:

Type 1 in homescreen, press enter, and check memory again.
Sig wipe!

Offline chattahippie

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 358
  • Rating: +27/-0
  • Super Member! :D
    • View Profile
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #25 on: March 01, 2012, 09:16:32 pm »
You can try this:

Type 1 in homescreen, press enter, and check memory again.

Tried that, it doesn't fix it
Still about 2000-2500 bytes lost per run :(

Offline DrDnar

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 546
  • Rating: +97/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #26 on: March 03, 2012, 12:18:29 am »
How are you quitting from the second program? It looks like the subprogram is quitting in a manner that prevents the memory being used by the caller from being freed.
"No tools will make a man a skilled workman, or master of defense, nor be of any use to him who has not learned how to handle them, and has never bestowed any attention upon them. . . . Yes, [] the tools which would teach men their own use would be beyond price."—Plato's The Republic, circa 380 BC

Offline DrDnar

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 546
  • Rating: +97/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Calling one axe program from another
« Reply #27 on: March 03, 2012, 04:29:36 pm »
Update: I blame thepenguin77's for this one. Looking at the disassembly of _ExecutePrgm, it's clear that the OS does not save the value in 89ECh (a.k.a. asm_prgm_size) before modifying it, so it turns out that the memory used by the caller will never be properly freed, unless you save it yourself. Fortunately, that's easy to do, so here's the new version:
Code: [Select]
"prgmNAME"Asm(E72AEC89E5EF7C4EE122EC89Edit: calc84maniac suggested rearranging the assembly instruction sequence to make it less ugly, though no smaller or faster.

So, once again, keep these points in mind:
  • Just like running programs with the Asm( token from the homescreen, you need a quantity of free RAM equal to the size of the program being run.
  • Because the OS has to shuffle RAM around for this to work, it takes a split second for the new program to start. So if you do this a lot, it'll be really slow.
  • If you call yourself like this, the OS will make yet another copy of yourself. Duh.
  • Instant quit will return control to the calling program, not the homescreen or the shell. This is because the error handlers get nested. (The good news is that if the calling program throws an OS error, control is returned to the calling program, but I don't believe any Axe programs use error handlers.)
  • WARNING: This code will leak memory if the program throws an error! To prevent this, use the Axiom for running programs.
  • By extension, do not call a shell's instant quit routine, or the memory used by caller won't get freed.
  • Assuming Axe just makes a stub ISR that jumps to the real ISR, you're going to get a crash if you have an interrupt running and you try this, because your ISR just got moved.
  • L1 through L6 will not be modified by the OS, neither during calling nor returning. The OP registers, however, will be corrupted.


OS Disassembly:
Code: [Select]
OS 2.55MP _ExecutePrgm disassembly
07:5758:
ld a, 03h
call 3891h
ld a, 38h
jp nz, 2793h
call 178Bh
ex de, hl
ld c, (hl)
inc hl
ld b, (hl)
inc hl
ld a, (hl)
cp 0BBh
jp nz, 2729h
inc hl
ld a, (hl)
cp 6Dh
jr nz, 57D4h
inc hl
push hl
push bc
pop de
push de
ld hl, 2000h
or a
sbc hl, de
jp c, 2729h
ex de, hl
call 1735h
pop hl
push hl
ld de, 9D95h
call 0F81h
pop hl
ld (89ECh), hl
pop hl
ld de, 9D95h
ld bc, (89ECh)
add hl, bc
ldir
579Fh: call 1837h
jr nz, 57AEh
in a, (20)
push af
bit 5, (iy+24h)
call 0DCBh
57AEh: ld hl, 5800h
call 27DAh
call 57FDh
call 2800h
call 1837h
jr nz, 57C4h
pop af
and 01
out (20), a
57C4h: ld de, (89ECh)
ld hl, 0000h
ld (89ECh), hl
ld hl, 9D95h
jp 1368h
57D4h: rst 18h ;rPUSHREALO1
call 5717h
ld hl, 2000h
or a
sbc hl, de
jp c, 2729h
ex de, hl
push hl
call 1735h
pop hl
push hl
ld de, 9D95h
call 0F81h
pop hl
ld (89ECh), hl
call 150Fh
ld de, 9D95h
call 5734h
jr 579Fh
57FDh: jp 9D95h
5800h: call 1837h
jr nz, 580Ah
pop af
and 01
out (20), a
580Ah: ld de, (89ECh)
ld hl, 0000h
ld (89ECh), hl
ld hl, 9D95h
call 1368h
jp 2799h
« Last Edit: March 06, 2012, 02:57:39 am by DrDnar »
"No tools will make a man a skilled workman, or master of defense, nor be of any use to him who has not learned how to handle them, and has never bestowed any attention upon them. . . . Yes, [] the tools which would teach men their own use would be beyond price."—Plato's The Republic, circa 380 BC