Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => Axe => Topic started by: Downsider on November 20, 2010, 12:48:12 pm

Title: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: Downsider on November 20, 2010, 12:48:12 pm
Hey, guys, first post here. Love the Axe parser, I always wanted to write ASM on the calculator itself, and this is the closest thing I can get. Well done!

Anyway, got a few questions to throw at you guys.

1) Flipping/rotating a sprite. How can I do this? Would be incredibly useful..

2) In drawing a sprite larger than 8x8, do you need to use multiple calls to pt-mask or pt-on? That's how I've been doing it, calling it multiple times, incrementing the X and Y values and the data pointer.

And finally, I get so many RAM resets it's incredibly annoying and makes me lose an awful amount of work.. Is there a way to put something in both the archive and RAM at the same time? Otherwise, I'm terrified to edit anything whatsoever..

Thanks in advance!
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: Xeda112358 on November 20, 2010, 12:53:16 pm
Well, you can not edit the archive directly, but you can definitely invest in Grouping. Press [2nd][mem][8] and you can backup your RAM. After a RAM clear, just Ungroup from the same menu.

I don't know much about Axe, myself, but I do program in hex on the calculator. It is my primary method of programming :D, so it can be done.
And welcome to Omnimaga!
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: squidgetx on November 20, 2010, 12:55:01 pm
1) Yes. In the DISTR>DRAW menu you will find flipH, flipV, rotC and rotCC comands for that :)

2) That's the only way I know how, unless you use the bitmap command which is slow since it is a bcall and not a handwritten routines.

3) You can use Axe's auto backup feature which helps a lot with that. Also, archiving source before running untested programs will help. Also there are many assembly utilities like this one (http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/411/41128.html) and this one (http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/226/22626.html) that may help.

And welcome to Omnimaga :)

edit: woo 500th post
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: Downsider on November 20, 2010, 12:57:12 pm
Brilliant! Thanks!

This is quite honestly one of the greatest things I've ever stumbled upon; no longer bored in class, perfect! :D
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: FinaleTI on November 20, 2010, 04:28:54 pm
I think I'm a little late, but CalcUtil lets you edit and run archived programs. I'd post a link, but it's kinda hard to do from my iPod, sorry.
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on November 20, 2010, 04:48:51 pm
Hi and welcome here. Glad you like Axe. I hope you enjoy your stay around here. :)

By the way the reason why those resets occurs is because like ASM, to ensure the highest speed possible, no error checking is done during program execution, so if a bad thing happens, it can cause a RAM clear. Always backup your progress, not just on the calc but also the computer, from time to time.
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: ztrumpet on November 20, 2010, 05:00:24 pm
I think I'm a little late, but CalcUtil lets you edit and run archived programs. I'd post a link, but it's kinda hard to do from my iPod, sorry.
Here's a link: http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/400/40029.html

Welcome to Omnimaga by the way. :)
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: Downsider on November 20, 2010, 05:42:03 pm
Been running into a ridiculous amount of RAM resets..

After running the 8x8 sprite editor from here (http://ourl.ca/7776), I encounter one of two errors:

1) Bad address. Lets me quit without a RAM reset.

2) It shows:
  G:
     1) No
     2) Yes

Clicking either results in a screen with two series of horizontal dots, one above the other, and pressing any button after results in a RAM reset. RAM resets are EVERYWHERE.

Is it the firmware version I'm using? The frequency of them has gotten ridiculous..
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: squidgetx on November 20, 2010, 05:44:54 pm
Wait, that's my sprite editor o.o! When running it, you say it gives you those errors....? Weird...

Edit; k, I just tested it on wabbit and it works fine... I didn't use any weird instructions that should cause those errors... >.< Did you compile it yourself or are you using the included excecutable with the Asm() token?

Oh and btw, the sprites that that thing produces are meant for use with the Pt-Mask command...although you can use the first 8 bytes (16chars) for monochrome standard Pt-On and Pt-Off stuff
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: Downsider on November 20, 2010, 06:52:27 pm
I compiled it myself. I even looked through the source, as you did, to ensure there was nothing that would do something like that.

I have no clue where the G: prompt comes from, and it's fucking annoying, because I feel so powerless; I'm forced to click yes or no, and regardless of which I click, it gives me the two horizontal line dots  ::)

I don't think it's your fault; I'm going to try resetting the beast completely. And yeah, I figured out how to get monochrome output from your editor too.

And just wondering.. Does anybody know how to get the output from Runer112's sprite editor (http://ourl.ca/6216)? It seems like a great tool, but I've no clue how to get the output from it without manually copying down the hex on the bottom..
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: yunhua98 on November 20, 2010, 07:08:19 pm
I think I'm a little late, but CalcUtil lets you edit and run archived programs. I'd post a link, but it's kinda hard to do from my iPod, sorry.

this is very late, but I would reccommend against calcutil if you have 2.53MP, I've lost progress on the save menu way more than from Axe.  ;)
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: Runer112 on November 20, 2010, 08:23:59 pm
And just wondering.. Does anybody know how to get the output from Runer112's sprite editor (http://ourl.ca/6216)? It seems like a great tool, but I've no clue how to get the output from it without manually copying down the hex on the bottom..

It's a mess, even I'm sometimes confused as to how I structured it lol. One of the things on my to-do list is to remake the sprite editor with features like output of the hex, which wasn't yet implemented in the version of Axe with which I made the program.
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: AngelFish on November 20, 2010, 08:49:18 pm
Would it be feasible to store the hex to the TI-OS Ans variable?
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: Runer112 on November 20, 2010, 08:59:28 pm
It's feasible, but not with Axe. It would have to be assembly. You could put the hex in an OS string, though.
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: ztrumpet on November 20, 2010, 10:31:09 pm
There's a great 8*8 editor in Binder News's sig (link to his profile: http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=profile;u=1067 ).  It's made in pure Asm and exports to Str1. :)
Title: Re: Drawing flipped sprites.
Post by: Downsider on November 20, 2010, 11:28:50 pm
It's feasible, but not with Axe. It would have to be assembly. You could put the hex in an OS string, though.

Definitely needs support for that string output. Would be unparalleled in terms of graphics tools if it was done in that way.