Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => Axe => Topic started by: TheGag96 on October 26, 2010, 08:55:38 pm

Title: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: TheGag96 on October 26, 2010, 08:55:38 pm
Alright, I just started programming in Axe today on my brand new TI-84 Plus Silver Edition. :D

I have two things I really need to ask about:

1. When I try to make programs, how do I type in things like Str1 and Pic1? They're not in catalog, and I can't really print lowercase letters... What do I do?
2. When I run the programs I can make after I compile them, I run them through the asm(prgmTEST), and it just says "Done." Even if I tell it to display an answer or whatever, it doesn't say anything at all. What do I do? Wait, scratch this, I ran it through MirageOS and it just ran it for a split second. How do I make it wait?

Thanks!
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: apcalc on October 26, 2010, 09:00:31 pm
Hi!  Welcome to Omnimaga! :)

I only have a 89 and Nspire, so I am not too sure about this, but I believe there is some program that can be downloaded that will allow you to type in lowercase (also, you can probably access these vars somewhere, but I don't know how).

Anyway, there are a ton of 84 users at Omnimaga, so I am sure some will be able to answer you shortly! :)
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: TheGag96 on October 26, 2010, 09:08:41 pm
Great! And thank you!

Also, please don't think I'm a noob when it comes to forums. I've been on SMW Central for about a year now (and I am somewhat known by most users). So, I won't be double posting and making useless threads/posts and crap. :)
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: Aichi on October 26, 2010, 09:13:29 pm
Welcome here!
You can get Pics, Strings etc by pressing VARS. You have to use these tokens to call the OS Vars.
You can activate lowercase by change the option 'Alpha' in the Axe Parser Options menu. You can write text in lowercase by pressing ALPHA a second time.
Use 'Pause' + a value to freeze the program a particular time. Pause 1900 is a second on 6Mhz.
If you want to wait until a key is pressed, you should use
Code: [Select]
.KEYPRESS
Repeat Getkey(15) . 15 = Keycode for CLEAR, take a look at the keycode picture in the Axe Parser folder
End

Edit: Changed 45 to 15.
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: shmibs on October 26, 2010, 09:26:32 pm
/\also, the majority of axe's routines draw to the screen buffer rather than directly to the screen, so you have to use DispGraph to copy the buffer to the screen.

good luck on things!
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: TheGag96 on October 26, 2010, 09:28:28 pm
Oh crap, I actually typed in the . 45 after Getkey(45) and it compiled fine, but now the program won't close, even with Clear pressed. What now?

EDIT: Eh, nevermind, I just took out the batteries. Do I need the parentheses in getkey? I tried it without the . 45 and it did the same thing.

EDIT2: aaa ninja'd
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: Aichi on October 26, 2010, 09:31:44 pm
but now the program won't close, even with Clear pressed. What now?
Sorry, thats my fault. 45 is the basic keycode for CLEAR. What you have to use is 15.
Edit: Here (http://tibasicdev.wikidot.com/key-codes) are all keycodes.
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: nemo on October 26, 2010, 09:35:22 pm
Oh crap, I actually typed in the . 45 after Getkey(45) and it compiled fine, but now the program won't close, even with Clear pressed. What now?

press the X2 button. that's the button that has keycode 45.
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: Aichi on October 26, 2010, 09:52:07 pm
Do I need the parentheses in getkey? I tried it without the . 45 and it did the same thing.
Yes, you need to type the keycode in parantheses.
All written after a dot is commenting text that will be ignored by Axe.
You just have to write
Code: [Select]
.KEYPRESS
Repeat Getkey(15)
End
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: yunhua98 on October 26, 2010, 10:29:38 pm
Msg of these are tokens, after a while, you'll know gem by heart. :P
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 26, 2010, 10:39:22 pm
So, I won't be double posting and making useless threads/posts and crap. :)
I deleted 17 so far. Just kidding, don't worry, our views is that everyone gotta start somewhere so if a new member double-post we will not yell at them or something like that, we will just point them to the right direction. Welcome here by the way :)

To type lowercase you activate the ALPHA function in the Axe menu, or you can use another utility like Doors CS7 or CODEX to enable them. Why Texas Instruments disabled lowercase by default is beyond me.

As for Str1/2/3 you need to go in VARS and there you can find them. :)

Good luck in your Axe programming venture :)
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: Happybobjr on October 26, 2010, 10:43:20 pm
So, I won't be double posting and making useless threads/posts and crap. :)
I deleted 17 so far. Just kidding, don't worry, our views is that everyone gotta start somewhere so if a new member double-post we will not yell at them or something like that, we will just point them to the right direction. Welcome here by the way :)

To type lowercase you activate the ALPHA function in the Axe menu, or you can use another utility like Doors CS7 or CODEX to enable them. Why Texas Instruments disabled lowercase by default is beyond me.

As for Str1/2/3 you need to go in VARS and there you can find them. :)

Good luck in your Axe programming venture :)

i really want to double post now.... 8O

I agree with ti having lowercase disabled by default.
The Letter in all cases for basic calculator functions is to just be a variable.

What really gets me is why they didn't have lowercase available in the menu....
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: JustCause on October 27, 2010, 10:31:35 am
Also, please don't think I'm a noob when it comes to forums. I've been on SMW Central for about a year now (and I am somewhat known by most users). So, I won't be double posting and making useless threads/posts and crap. :)
Good to hear. Welcome to Omnimaga.

If you want to wait until a key is pressed, you should use
Code: [Select]
.KEYPRESS
Repeat Getkey(15) . 15 = Keycode for CLEAR, take a look at the keycode picture in the Axe Parser folder
End
Alternatively, you could use getKey(0) to wait for any key instead of just Clear, which is my personal preference.
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: willrandship on October 27, 2010, 11:29:07 am
And your issue with the immediate done thing: I had this issue on my nspire, and the way I fixed it was reinstalling the OS. Not sure if that'll help your situation, but it's worth a shot. Make sure you use 2.43 when you reinstall, not 2.5 MP edition
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: Runer112 on October 27, 2010, 11:34:10 am
And your issue with the immediate done thing: I had this issue on my nspire, and the way I fixed it was reinstalling the OS. Not sure if that'll help your situation, but it's worth a shot. Make sure you use 2.43 when you reinstall, not 2.5 MP edition

I believe the only reason he was having this problem is because he was compiling the programs with the Ion/MirageOS header, which will immediately return if run with Asm() on the home screen.
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 27, 2010, 02:59:43 pm
On OS 2.53/54MP, I noticed that after running a no-stub Axe program, if you press ENTER again on the home screen, nothing happens at all, not even a Done message. Normally it would run the program again but not on the MP OSes. I have to press 2nd then ENTER twice to run it again.

Also, in rare occasions (earlier Axe versions), certain errors in your code could cause all ASM programs to just instantly display Done when ran, even if compiled no-stub, even if they had no errors. A RAM Clear would not even fix this, only a Mem Clear would.
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: yunhua98 on October 27, 2010, 04:55:42 pm
strange, that doesn't happen to me.  ???

although if I was ran the source code to edit it, then compiled the compiled one, and pressed 2nd+Enter twice, the source program wouldn't show up.  I dont know if its MP only though.
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: squidgetx on October 27, 2010, 05:01:04 pm
That happens to me all the time....my fingers now can press 2nd Enter Enter in less than a second lol
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: calcdude84se on October 29, 2010, 11:14:03 pm
On OS 2.53/54MP, I noticed that after running a no-stub Axe program, if you press ENTER again on the home screen, nothing happens at all, not even a Done message. Normally it would run the program again but not on the MP OSes. I have to press 2nd then ENTER twice to run it again.

Also, in rare occasions (earlier Axe versions), certain errors in your code could cause all ASM programs to just instantly display Done when ran, even if compiled no-stub, even if they had no errors. A RAM Clear would not even fix this, only a Mem Clear would.
2.53/54 MP is special :P
Runer is correct. MirageOS/DoorsCS programs just return immediately if run from the homescreen.
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: Happybobjr on October 29, 2010, 11:35:41 pm
If i am correct, mirage programs (asm) are identified with 'Return' at the beginning of the program.  In Asm( though,  that would immediately shut that off.

*happybobjr has a thought and runs away
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: MRide on October 29, 2010, 11:53:08 pm
On OS 2.53/54MP, I noticed that after running a no-stub Axe program, if you press ENTER again on the home screen, nothing happens at all, not even a Done message. Normally it would run the program again but not on the MP OSes. I have to press 2nd then ENTER twice to run it again.

Also, in rare occasions (earlier Axe versions), certain errors in your code could cause all ASM programs to just instantly display Done when ran, even if compiled no-stub, even if they had no errors. A RAM Clear would not even fix this, only a Mem Clear would.
More OS 2.53 epic fail! Way to be awesome totally mess up, TI.
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: Happybobjr on October 30, 2010, 10:33:27 am
On OS 2.53/54MP, I noticed that after running a no-stub Axe program, if you press ENTER again on the home screen, nothing happens at all, not even a Done message. Normally it would run the program again but not on the MP OSes. I have to press 2nd then ENTER twice to run it again.

Also, in rare occasions (earlier Axe versions), certain errors in your code could cause all ASM programs to just instantly display Done when ran, even if compiled no-stub, even if they had no errors. A RAM Clear would not even fix this, only a Mem Clear would.

not completely true.  Run the program when it does not have diagnosticsoff  8D
At least that fixes for me.

The really suckish thing is, Os 2.53  will occasionally not let me have mathprint at all.
It really sucks when i have to clear my ram to get it back in a middle of a question in academic team >(
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: calcdude84se on October 30, 2010, 06:55:47 pm
If i am correct, mirage programs (asm) are identified with 'Return' at the beginning of the program.  In Asm( though,  that would immediately shut that off.

*happybobjr has a thought and runs away
Mostly correct. :) There's a bit more of a header than that, but they do begin with a 'ret'
Title: Re: How to be an utter n00b, by me
Post by: willrandship on November 02, 2010, 10:35:24 pm
Umm, I actually had the issue I was referring to......with No-stub. It was back when I first got my nspire.