Author Topic: logo help  (Read 14524 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
logo help
« on: June 09, 2010, 04:06:09 pm »
well, I finally got my logo working and that kind of thing, so I tried to combine it with my background... complete fail. Can someone help me structure my program the way it should be so that the logo does not scroll and that the background does not draw on top of the logo? The source is attached. Thanks.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2010, 04:07:09 pm by Snake X »
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: logo help
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2010, 04:11:41 pm »
Hmm, this is a tough one.
You could write a custom routine to AND the data onto the screen.  Below is a routine to do this for you (probably), and you can draw the background independently of the picture.  Like this:
Code: (Main Loop) [Select]
While 1
[Update background]
StorePic
Pic1:sub(DP
DispGraph
RecallPic
And here is DP:
Code: (AND Picture Routine) [Select]
->A
For(B,0,767  // If your data is not 768 bytes, change this to size-1
{A+B} and {L6+B}→{L6+B}
End

Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
Re: logo help
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2010, 04:20:48 pm »
so, uhh... what would that exactly look like in the full code? I don't want to place this code in the wrong spot exactly.. =s

edit: well, I tried to insert that into my code, and here's what the code looks like. I have included an attachment.
edit 2: I have gotten err: block on the code, so I added an extra end on the end to... i have no idea what was not ended. After that, I got an err: lbl missing.
edit 3: what is DP? That makes me want to think Diamond and pearl XD
« Last Edit: June 09, 2010, 04:50:41 pm by Snake X »
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: logo help
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2010, 07:15:52 pm »
DP is just a generic label name, I put it there to represent Draw Picture.  I don't have the resources atm to test that for you, either.  Use this:
Code: (Replace your pic drawing code with this) [Select]
StorePic
Pic1:sub(DP
DispGraph
RecallPic
And this:
Code: (Put this at the end of your program) [Select]
Lbl DP
→A
For(B,0,767  // If your data is not 768 bytes, change this to size-1
{A+B} and {L6+B}→{L6+B}
End
« Last Edit: June 09, 2010, 07:35:48 pm by Mr_Coding_Knight »

Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
Re: logo help
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2010, 01:40:38 pm »
well, since SirCmpwn can't help, is anyone else able to resolve this? Since I'm not seeing him come on in the future any time soon...

*Snake X awaits Quigibo
« Last Edit: June 18, 2010, 09:52:12 am by mapar007 »
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: logo help
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2010, 02:42:26 pm »
You could have the logo be grayscale.  Then all you have to do is draw the logo to the back buffer and never worry about it again.  Just update the screen with DispGraphrr.

Another, more annoying way to do it is to split the logo into a bunch of 8x8 sprites and then use Pt-Change() to add and remove it every frame.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
Re: logo help
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2010, 02:44:30 pm »
oh. Well, I am planning to animate the logo in a wavy up-down style, so Im not sure what method to use in that case. Not to mention, if its possible, use DJ_Omni's sandstorm effect to fill in the whiteness of the logo.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 02:47:32 pm by Snake X »
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: logo help
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2010, 03:14:19 pm »
You lost a little speed, but I believe this is the outcome you were looking for. It would probably run a bit faster if you either:
  • Re-entered the logo data inverted so you didn't have to include "65535□" in the logo drawing subroutine
or
  • Before the main loop, copied the logo to the back buffer, inverted the back buffer, copied the inverted logo to another location such as L₁, and then referenced "{B*2+L₁}ʳ" instead of "65535□{B*2+Pic1}ʳ in the logo drawing subroutine"
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 03:22:45 pm by Runer112 »

Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
Re: logo help
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2010, 03:21:48 pm »
ah. Nice! Thanks man. but.. is there any way to get rid of the white line on there?
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: logo help
« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2010, 03:28:32 pm »
ah. Nice! Thanks man. but.. is there any way to get rid of the white line on there?

Oh, is that not part of your data? Your source program said to copy 312 bytes from Pic1 to the buffer, apparently you only needed 298.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 03:29:33 pm by Runer112 »

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: logo help
« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2010, 03:46:55 pm »
I heard something about a sandstorm?

EDIT: Sorry about the double post, just realized :-[
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 03:47:52 pm by Runer112 »

Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
Re: logo help
« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2010, 04:23:21 pm »
this makes me very happy. thanks man! Ok.. well, since I made this thread for general problems I will have on my logo, I have another one... bad symbol.
I modded the logo without the sandstorm, but once I get that working ill just put it into the logo.

the error lays within the code that replaces drawinv, because I have my own way of blackening the screen in a creative manor. The piece will execute perfectly in ti-basic, but not in axe.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 04:25:36 pm by Snake X »
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: logo help
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2010, 04:24:57 pm »
Setting the increment in for loops is not supported. Neither are decimals. And what exactly are you trying to do with that code?
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 04:25:36 pm by Runer112 »

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: logo help
« Reply #13 on: June 12, 2010, 04:25:11 pm »
Nice job Snake and Runner!  That's a neat logo. :D

Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
Re: logo help
« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2010, 04:26:31 pm »
I modded my post to show what I did with that code. Thanks ztrumpet :D
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.