Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => Axe => Topic started by: baptystes on May 18, 2012, 11:25:14 am

Title: More TileMap ?
Post by: baptystes on May 18, 2012, 11:25:14 am
With google traduction  ;D :
Hello every one, is it possible to store a tilemap in a secondary program, and call her when you want (to reduce the RAM used, and to store more maps).
My tilemap looks like that : [0000000] -> gbd1
                                        [10000...
 Thank you  :)
Title: Re: More TileMap ?
Post by: MGOS on May 18, 2012, 11:52:40 am
Instead of using a second program, you could store the maps in different appvars you can archive and unarchive in axe.
To create those appvars, it might be helpful to make a map editor.
Title: Re: More TileMap ?
Post by: Hayleia on May 18, 2012, 11:56:10 am
This tutorial (http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=articles;sa=view;article=58) wil teach you how to use appvars (it teaches some other things but the appvar is the most interesting variable for your problem).
Basically, what you do is creating a program to create the appvar and put your map(s) in it, then archive your appvar then run your main prog that will read into the appvar. However, this method doesn't work for "dynamic maps". I mean that you won't be able to write to the map without unarchiving the appvar (but you stil can unarchive it :))

edit: ninja'd D:
Title: Re: More TileMap ?
Post by: baptystes on May 18, 2012, 01:35:39 pm
Ok, thank you, but when i try to copy an appvar on a file, it doesn't work :
Code: [Select]
:GetCalc("appvMAP1",2)->A
:5->{a+0}
:Output(0,0,{a+0}>dec    //here it is working, it displays "1"  :D
:
:GetCalc("appvMAP1",Y1)
:{Y1}->B
:Output(0,1,{B+0}>dec    //but here, it displays an another number
???
Title: Re: More TileMap ?
Post by: Darl181 on May 18, 2012, 02:42:45 pm
Using Getcalc to find archived files does not return the pointer to the file.
You use the file itself, like
Output(0,1,{Y1}r►Dec)
Title: Re: More TileMap ?
Post by: baptystes on May 19, 2012, 09:56:30 am
Ok thanks for this tuto, I did my map editor and its perfectly working !
Thank you !  :D