Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => Axe => Topic started by: epic7 on October 21, 2011, 08:43:27 pm

Title: Nothing is working
Post by: epic7 on October 21, 2011, 08:43:27 pm
I've started Axe today and started reading the User's Guide.

I have experience in ti-basic and have enough knowledge to make simple games on it.

Well, I made a basic program and it didn't work. Is there something wrong?

:.PROGRAM
:1->S
:Disp S>Dec

I went to compile and selected no shell and ran the program. All I get is a syntax error.

Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: parserp on October 21, 2011, 08:45:23 pm
if you are compiling it for no shell, did you do this:?
asm(prgmPROGRAM

what exactly was the code for the "hello world" program?
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: epic7 on October 21, 2011, 08:48:44 pm
I compiled it from the axe application.

I read the users guide wrong, actually. The hello world thing makes sense now.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: parserp on October 21, 2011, 08:49:18 pm
so everything's good now?
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: epic7 on October 21, 2011, 08:51:28 pm
No, the program still doesnt work

:.PROGRAM
:1->S
:Disp S>Dec

I was asking 2 different questions
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: Darl181 on October 21, 2011, 08:52:17 pm
It may or may not be relevant but compiling for Ion might fix...?  Also it would work in shells.
Which program are you running, the source or the compiled?  How are you running it?

Also, you might want to put in a Pause 1900 after the Disp line, chances are it would quit before you could tell it put something on the screen.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: parserp on October 21, 2011, 08:53:29 pm
yeah you probably just need a:
Code: [Select]
:Repeat getKey
:End
at the end of the program
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: Darl181 on October 21, 2011, 08:53:56 pm
But if he's getting a syntax error there's something else going on. ;)
Say the source name (the program you select in Axe) is TESTSRC and the compiled program is PROGRAM.  Which one are you running?
Running TESTSRC would understandably throw a syntax error but PROGRAM is the one that actually does the stuff.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: epic7 on October 21, 2011, 08:54:21 pm
I understand the string thing now; I figured it out.

I ran the compiled code.

Im not really sure what a shell is or ion.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: parserp on October 21, 2011, 08:55:51 pm
shells are things like MirageOS and DCS, I think.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: epic7 on October 21, 2011, 08:56:44 pm
Well.... I dont know what that is either.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: parserp on October 21, 2011, 08:57:10 pm
oh, let me see if I can get a liink...
EDIT: got the link (http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/139/13949.html)
you can run assembly and basic progs from it.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: Juju on October 21, 2011, 08:57:17 pm
The code should be valid, unless you messed up with the -> (STO) or >DEC.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: epic7 on October 21, 2011, 09:01:28 pm
Ok. Attached the exact screenshot of the code. Then I went to Axe, to compile with no shell selected, then pushed enter, then, opened prgmPROGRAM.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: parserp on October 21, 2011, 09:02:22 pm
Ok. Attached the exact screenshot of the code. Then I went to Axe, to compile with no shell selected, then pushed enter, then, opened prgmPROGRAM.
did you run it with the command asm( ?
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: epic7 on October 21, 2011, 09:03:52 pm
Now it works!
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: parserp on October 21, 2011, 09:04:28 pm
hooray!!!
what did you do different?
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: epic7 on October 21, 2011, 09:06:09 pm
I did Asm(prgmPROGRAM instead of just prgmPROGRAM

Thanks for the help!
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: parserp on October 21, 2011, 09:06:38 pm
Anytime ;D
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: epic7 on October 21, 2011, 09:09:45 pm
I noticed if I understood what you said in the second post, that it would have solved it then :P
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: Deep Toaster on October 21, 2011, 09:55:12 pm
All assembly programs must be run with Asm( when you run them from the home screen. (Axe compiles to assembly and has nothing to do with TI-BASIC.)
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 21, 2011, 10:08:48 pm
On a side note epic7 welcome to the forums :D
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: C0deH4cker on October 21, 2011, 10:31:25 pm
i usually prefer getkeyr to doing either a Pause or a Repeat getkey:End loop. It's smaller. and looks better.

Edit: im not sure about speed in comparison, but i just use it for debugging anyways, so that doesnt matter for me.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: Darl181 on October 21, 2011, 10:31:37 pm
All assembly programs must be run with Asm( when you run them from the home screen.
Unless you're using something along the lines of zStart, NoShell, CalcUtil, DCS, etc :D
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: C0deH4cker on October 21, 2011, 10:32:22 pm
I use zStart and DCS7.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 21, 2011, 10:33:15 pm
Yeah I like the latter because of the no requirement for Asm and running from archive/homescreen. I didn't try zStart yet, though.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: Darl181 on October 21, 2011, 10:37:10 pm
zStart is pretty epic ;)

It was kind of funny when I used dcs, I used like two or three functions and after a few crashes I got tired of it :P
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: C0deH4cker on October 21, 2011, 10:51:20 pm
with DCS, there are some VERY annoying bugs. for example, when i was making my maze engine in xLIB, i was making levels (external programs). the engine is prgmMAZE, and the mazes are like prgmMAZE#. When i would edit prgmMAZE0 or prgmMAZE1, it would delete prgmMAZE, even if it was in archive. so i think im gonna switch back to MirageOS.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: epic7 on October 21, 2011, 11:40:01 pm
Also, what's a subroutine?
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: Yeong on October 21, 2011, 11:40:40 pm
I think subroutine is a equivalent of subprograms in TI-BASIC.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: Happybobjr on October 21, 2011, 11:41:54 pm
A subroutine is....

Several lines of code that can be called from any part of a program.  Subroutines are helpful in reducing coding size and program size by removing repeated code.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: epic7 on October 21, 2011, 11:45:31 pm
Cool. That sounds useful
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: saintrunner on October 29, 2011, 09:03:27 pm
no u dont need to run it in asm(), no shell runs fine + u dont have to worry about all the other crap of goin thru mirage, so on and so on....but since what no shell does is, allow u to use programs from the archives, u just need to compile it and then archive it!! i had the same problem at the beggining, no shell does work fine, and ur prgm is fine...no adays i just use ion....that works best for everything
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: calcdude84se on October 29, 2011, 09:15:15 pm
saintrunner, welcome to Omnimaga!
What you are stating in your post, as I understand it, is somewhat erroneous. However, I cannot be at all certain on account of the extreme difficulty I encountered in attempting to decipher what you wrote. Please, please edit your post for correct capitalization, punctuation, spelling, and all the other standards for written English. If not that, then at least make a decent attempt at it.
I normally do not complain about poor English from others, but that's because I can easily understand what they are saying. If nothing else, make your post easy to understand.
Of course, I do not intend to offend. You are welcome here, and I am obliged to ask you to consider introducing yourself (http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=post;board=10.0) once you can write more coherently. :)
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: Happybobjr on October 29, 2011, 11:05:30 pm
many people here have English as a secondary language, and thus would find that difficult to read/ google translate.
(nicer way to put it :P )
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 30, 2011, 01:06:31 am
saintrunner, welcome to Omnimaga!
What you are stating in your post, as I understand it, is somewhat erroneous. However, I cannot be at all certain on account of the extreme difficulty I encountered in attempting to decipher what you wrote. Please, please edit your post for correct capitalization, punctuation, spelling, and all the other standards for written English. If not that, then at least make a decent attempt at it.
I normally do not complain about poor English from others, but that's because I can easily understand what they are saying. If nothing else, make your post easy to understand.
Of course, I do not intend to offend. You are welcome here, and I am obliged to ask you to consider introducing yourself (http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=post;board=10.0) once you can write more coherently. :)
Yeah I agree. Omni is more lax on grammar and spelling (on certain other sites in the past, they yelled at people for 3 mistakes even if it was their first post ever) but it's best to do an effort at least, so people can understand you. Also some people use Google Translate to read English messages, which doesn't work if a message contains many spelling mistakes or MSN-like talk. It's best to spend an extra half a minute per post to make sure they're easy to read/translate, else people may not spend the extra 5-10 minutes required to dechiper the post and may simply not reply to it.

That said, welcome to the forums and I hope you enjoy your stay. :)
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: saintrunner on October 30, 2011, 02:15:49 pm
saintrunner, welcome to Omnimaga!
What you are stating in your post, as I understand it, is somewhat erroneous. However, I cannot be at all certain on account of the extreme difficulty I encountered in attempting to decipher what you wrote. Please, please edit your post for correct capitalization, punctuation, spelling, and all the other standards for written English. If not that, then at least make a decent attempt at it.
I normally do not complain about poor English from others, but that's because I can easily understand what they are saying. If nothing else, make your post easy to understand.
Of course, I do not intend to offend. You are welcome here, and I am obliged to ask you to consider introducing yourself (http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=post;board=10.0) once you can write more coherently. :)

I apologize, I forgot about other languages. I was simply stating that it is more beneficial to use ion for all your compiling needs. I tends to work easier. Also if you chose to use no shell, you must remember to archive your program before running it.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 30, 2011, 02:19:59 pm
Well the thing is that the majority of people on calc forums uses Doors CS or Noshell, which can run archived programs directly from the PRGM menu, even ASM ones, and you don't even need the Asm() command. This is why most people now compile for no shell. Ion is also a good option so your program will run in all 3 major shells (Ion, MirageOS and Doors CS7), but the majority of people still mainly use Doors CS nowadays it seems, since it had more features.

Ion is kinda obsolete nowadays because it eats like 1600 bytes of RAM after installing (even if you delete the install program), so a lot of large games cannot run with it. Gemini 3D is an example, and I could barely even run Dying Eyes. Also it tends to crash more often on any OS higher than 1.12.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: Keoni29 on October 30, 2011, 02:20:06 pm
saintrunner, welcome to Omnimaga!
What you are stating in your post, as I understand it, is somewhat erroneous. However, I cannot be at all certain on account of the extreme difficulty I encountered in attempting to decipher what you wrote. Please, please edit your post for correct capitalization, punctuation, spelling, and all the other standards for written English. If not that, then at least make a decent attempt at it.
I normally do not complain about poor English from others, but that's because I can easily understand what they are saying. If nothing else, make your post easy to understand.
Of course, I do not intend to offend. You are welcome here, and I am obliged to ask you to consider introducing yourself (http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=post;board=10.0) once you can write more coherently. :)

I apologize, I forgot about other languages. I was simply stating that it is more beneficial to use ion for all your compiling needs. I tends to work easier. Also if you chose to use no shell, you must remember to archive your program before running it.
Just use the backup feature :)
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: epic7 on October 30, 2011, 02:20:28 pm
Yeah, I use Doors

(100th post!)
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: calcdude84se on October 30, 2011, 02:21:19 pm
No matter, just keep making good posts. :)
I would agree that, in general, compiling for ION is the best choice because all other commonly used shells (MirageOS, DoorsCS, etc.) are compatible with its format.
Also, I think you meant "unarchive"; the OS will only run programs if they are in RAM. (Archiving puts programs into Archive and out of RAM.)
Edit: Do you mean compiled code or source code? If the latter, Keoni's point applies.
Edit 2: Didn't see your post there, DJ!
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: Keoni29 on October 30, 2011, 02:21:22 pm
Yeah, I use Doors

(100th post!)
Like I care
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 30, 2011, 02:25:25 pm
Yeah, I use Doors

(100th post!)
Like I care
What was that post for? It's rather rude and provocative. Are you trying to start a fight or something? I rated it down btw
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: Keoni29 on October 30, 2011, 02:41:51 pm
Yeah, I use Doors

(100th post!)
Like I care
What was that post for? It's rather rude and provocative. Are you trying to start a fight or something? I rated it down btw
I was about to say [/flamewar], but seen the situation this is not a good idea. I am really sorry. I was not aware of the fact that epic7 was responding on a previous post of yours. You see it bothers me that people go offtopic after the problems are solved. Given the fact that I already broke a rule even before it existed i will be extra carefull not to provoke anyone anymore.
Title: Re: Nothing is working
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 30, 2011, 02:44:24 pm
Well the thing is that there are much worse things that some people did on the Internet than just going off-topic for a short while, such as someone just mindlessly bashing someone else's project, although of course if someone always went off-topic it would be bad. Anyway apology accepted. Just don't do it again.