Author Topic: please help me with appvariables  (Read 6667 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
please help me with appvariables
« on: August 17, 2010, 12:24:44 pm »
ok, i am having trouble understanding the whole thing with saving into an app var. can someone help me?

Here is what i am trying to do.

i am trying to make my etch-a-sketch prog. have the ability to save the picture for later viewing.
i also want to save the grayscale part, thus i cannot save it as a pic.

I believe the best way to deal with it is by saving L3 and L6 into GDB's

So how exactly would i save them into archive?


School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: please help me with appvariables
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2010, 01:25:55 pm »
GDB's? We can't access those in Axe yet, so I'll assume you mean groups.
Groups, however, are for multiple variables, and we can't write them.
So let's do it with appvars :)
(Note that we could save it to a Pic, actually, though we'd either use two pics or use a non-standardly large one (If you RecallPic these in BASIC, only the first 768 bytes are drawn)
So let's call the appvar appvETCHSAVE. This example writes L3 and L6 to the appvar if it doesn't exist or is in RAM
Code: [Select]
"appvETCHSAVE"->Str0
If GetCalc(Str0,Y0)
.Check if it's in the archive. Make sure you aren't using Y0
Disp "APPV ARCHIVED
Return
End
.The following line will create it if it doesn't already exist, and recreate it otherwise
!If GetCalc(Str0,1536)->X
.Check if there was enough room for the appvar to be created
Disp "OUT OF MEMORY
Return
End
.1536 is 768*2, or the size of both buffers
Copy(L6,X,768
Copy(L3,X+768,768
.Copy L6 and then L3 into the appvar. Each buffer is 768 bytes in size
Return
If you need to archive it, (I recommend not to in order to save wear and tear on flash, but that's up to you) use
Code: [Select]
Archive Str0Which will Archive the appvar if there was enough free archive and return 1, or return 0 if there wasn't enough archive space.
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: please help me with appvariables
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2010, 01:34:20 pm »
thanks. and i was speaking of gdb's not groups.

i'll write this out now. thank you
« Last Edit: August 17, 2010, 01:48:47 pm by happybobjr »
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: please help me with appvariables
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2010, 01:35:52 pm »
Yeah we can't work with GDB's, not to mention they are in a very specific format and are used to store window settings and equations. Storing two pics just wouldn't work :P
Good luck! :)
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: please help me with appvariables
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2010, 02:05:21 pm »
thank you. works great.

now to put it on ticalc.org.  (after putting you in credits :D)
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: please help me with appvariables
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2010, 02:10:38 pm »
That'll be my first time in the credits of... anything O_O
* calcdude is honored :D
I think I'll try out the updated version after it's on ticalc.org ;D
« Last Edit: October 09, 2010, 05:43:15 pm by calcdude84se »
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: please help me with appvariables
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2010, 02:11:53 pm »
thanks, now i feel honored.

are you going to make the attachment?
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: please help me with appvariables
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2010, 02:20:37 pm »
Attachment?
What do you mean? For the credits?
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: please help me with appvariables
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2010, 03:04:09 pm »
you can make an attachment for the i/o port that when you shake. will clear the screen bit by bit.

note: release might take a while as there is a new bug
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: please help me with appvariables
« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2010, 03:12:17 pm »
Oh, my bad x.x
I'm afraid not, though I might if I ever do other hardware stuff.
What kind of bug is there now?
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: please help me with appvariables
« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2010, 08:52:31 pm »
the attachment only takes about $5-6

Bugs... ummm... i'm not sure how to describe it/them....  (one bug causes multiple errors)

here is the sorce and compiled (for asm())

draw gray on topish of screen then save.  move around and recall.  all worked well.
quit and reopen prog.  recall.   the top section of gray is gone.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2010, 09:11:34 pm by happybobjr »
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: please help me with appvariables
« Reply #11 on: August 20, 2010, 07:00:34 am »
sry about this, but I am bumping the topic with this post requesting for help.

if you would run my eas program mentioned in an above post then check the source code for the error i would appreciate it.
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________