Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => Axe => Topic started by: Ikkerens on June 16, 2010, 01:39:42 pm

Title: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Ikkerens on June 16, 2010, 01:39:42 pm
Upon playing a bit with 4lv GrayScale, I found this by accident.
It works on a TI-84+ (not SE), I don't know about an emulator.

Feel free to test for yourself (still at your own risk)

And yes, I know it is very flicker-ish, but still, it's cool.

Edit: removed the :'s at the program
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 16, 2010, 01:48:05 pm
Mhmm is it just supposed to quickly flash the screen? (see attached screenshot)

I think for that you could simply do:

Code: [Select]
ClrDraw
Repeat getkey(15)
DrawInv
DispGraph
End

Again, maybe it's because I used an emulator. The code above does the exact same thing on it.

Also I noticed in your code you added additional : at the beginning of every line so your lines of code looked like

PROGRAM:GSWAVE
::.GS4
::SetUpEditor
::ClrDraw

etc
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Ikkerens on June 16, 2010, 01:49:23 pm
Also I noticed in your code you added additional : at the beginning of every line so your lines of code looked like

PROGRAM:GSWAVE
::.GS4
::SetUpEditor
::ClrDraw

etc

Already re-uploaded the file with that fixed, and the flickering, dunno how to fix it :P

And

Code: [Select]
ClrDraw
Repeat getkey(15)
DrawInv
DispGraph
End

doesn't give the same effect. Gives another cool looking effect tho :)
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 16, 2010, 02:03:13 pm
What program editor do you use? I know KermMartian updated SourceCoder recently, and if it started adding those chars, it might be good to report the bug to him.

As for your effect, I guess it probably varies from the calc to the emulator. For me, both gave the exact same effect in WabbitEmu (TI-84+ ROM 2.41)
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Ikkerens on June 16, 2010, 02:35:54 pm
What program editor do you use? I know KermMartian updated SourceCoder recently, and if it started adding those chars, it might be good to report the bug to him.

As for your effect, I guess it probably varies from the calc to the emulator. For me, both gave the exact same effect in WabbitEmu (TI-84+ ROM 2.41)

I don't use a program editor, on-calc during math ftw.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: SirCmpwn on June 16, 2010, 02:38:06 pm
Will someone gif this for me?
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Ikkerens on June 16, 2010, 02:40:37 pm
Brings me to another question, how do I make those GIF's?
Apart from screening every single frame :P
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 16, 2010, 02:46:08 pm
What program editor do you use? I know KermMartian updated SourceCoder recently, and if it started adding those chars, it might be good to report the bug to him.

As for your effect, I guess it probably varies from the calc to the emulator. For me, both gave the exact same effect in WabbitEmu (TI-84+ ROM 2.41)

I don't use a program editor, on-calc during math ftw.
aaah ok, weird I wondered where the additional : chars came from XD

@SirCmpwn sorry I meant to post one in my post but I forgot to attach it. My bad x.x

As for gif making you need to get a calculator ROM from your calc or somewhere illegal online then use Wabbitemu, found at http://wabbit.codeplex.com
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Ikkerens on June 16, 2010, 03:12:30 pm
That isn't even close to what it looks like on a real calc.
Il just make a vid with my cellphone soon.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: ztrumpet on June 16, 2010, 03:16:43 pm
That isn't even close to what it looks like on a real calc.
Il just make a vid with my cellphone soon.
That would be cool.  Good luck! :)
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 16, 2010, 03:30:09 pm
That isn't even close to what it looks like on a real calc.
Il just make a vid with my cellphone soon.
aaah ok x.x

I guess emulators aren't really the best thing when it comes to very fast animations.

Make sure the cellphone video is high quality, though. I often notice people post vids at 2 fps with 1 bit sound quality and 120x80 resolution x.x
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: SirCmpwn on June 16, 2010, 03:34:27 pm
I have a nice HD video camera that I use for most stuff ;D
Also, Ikkerens should PM me.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Darl181 on June 16, 2010, 03:47:26 pm
Cool, I found about the same thing in geometry ;)

What I was doing, though, was playing around with 'Pause'.
Something like this:

Repeat getKey≠0
DrawInv
DispGraph
Pause 3
DrawInv
Dispgraph
Pause 4
End

I know it doesn't have greyscale, but it's fun to play with.

EDIT: yes, random pointless necroedit, just wanted to attach something
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 16, 2010, 03:51:35 pm
Oh yeah you can control the gray shades with that ^^

Actually since the Nspire also display stuff in a similar way in 83+ mode it seems, when doing stuff like that, I think those effects could be used fine accross all calc models for stuff like magic animations, for example
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Darl181 on June 16, 2010, 03:55:38 pm
I don't know how it worked, but something i did made the screen turn blue, but I can't remember what it was...

EDIT....
here it is

Repeat 1=2
If getKey=15
Goto E
End
-1→B
62→A
Repeat A>62
Shade(A)
A+B→A
If A<1
-B→B
End
End
End
Lbl E
Shade(47)
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: calcdude84se on June 16, 2010, 03:57:02 pm
That is not a good thing... was it Axe only? (no inline-asm)
and how you sure it was blue, or just really high contrast?
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: SirCmpwn on June 16, 2010, 03:57:56 pm
Badbadbadbad
Never ever do that again.
It's called test mode, and don't do it ever.
It will burn out your LCD if you leave it that way for long.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 16, 2010, 03:59:33 pm
Mhmm strange, the LCD must not like such quick and drastic changes in display. I know that happens on 15 Mhz calcs hardware when quickly changing the contrast from very low to high values. But it's not as dangerous as test mode (BSOD) unless you leave the calc that way for a long while.

UNless you really mean it showed a non-flashy BSOD?
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Darl181 on June 16, 2010, 04:11:55 pm
It didn't show text or anything like the windows BSOD, it just turns this vibrant blue (kind of like the blue in most of the links) and fades back at the end.

@calcdude: yes, it was just axe

BTW i'm using an 84+ with os2.43
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Ikkerens on June 16, 2010, 04:20:50 pm
It didn't show text or anything like the windows BSOD, it just turns this vibrant blue (kind of like the blue in most of the links) and fades back at the end.

Don't think a blue screen should happen on a black/white screen :O

Anyway, here's the vids.(zipped, because this forum doesn't accept *.3gp, you need quicktime player to open them, or ur cell)
The first vid is from my own code.
The second vid is from the code Dj Omnimaga linked in the 2nd post of this topic.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: calcdude84se on June 16, 2010, 04:23:58 pm
Is it the program you listed earlier, or is it a different one? This needs reporting... getting the BLOD's is not good.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Ikkerens on June 16, 2010, 04:26:59 pm
You talking to me? That's not a bluescreen, but the reason why I started this topic :P
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Darl181 on June 16, 2010, 04:28:31 pm
It was the second one, with the Shade( command.
Reply #14

Got to go, my library session's about to time out.  I should be able to get back on around noon tomorrow.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: calcdude84se on June 16, 2010, 04:29:20 pm
No, sorry, talking to Darl181.
The effects caused by improper synchronization (the "waves") does look interesting, I must say.
Edit: (Reply to Darl181)
Weird, that shouldn't be happening... Only giving Shade( certain out of-range values (92-95, to be specific) should cause that... I'll bother quigibo later.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Ikkerens on June 16, 2010, 04:37:54 pm
No, sorry, talking to Darl181.
The effects caused by improper synchronization (the "waves") does look interesting, I must say.

Wasn't that what this topic was about? :P
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: nemo on June 16, 2010, 04:39:50 pm
sorry it kind of got hijacked... BSOD is a large deal.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: ztrumpet on June 16, 2010, 07:04:02 pm
BSOD = bad!  I thought Quigibo added checks for this, but I guess he left them out to save space.  Never put the calc in BSOD (make the contrast higher than it's supposed to be) if you want your calc to be the same.

That animation looks cool! :D  I like the one you made a lot. ;D
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: meishe91 on June 16, 2010, 11:08:13 pm
I just tested Darl181's code. It doesn't give a BSOD at all. At least not on mine. All it did was darken it slightly then when you press [CLEAR] lightens it.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 16, 2010, 11:12:33 pm
Wow nice effects. I think I got them happen once on my calc before but I forgot how.

As for the BSOD I think it might due to contrast settings not being right. You need to enter a value of a certain range, else it can cause stuff like BSOD.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Darl181 on June 18, 2010, 03:17:15 pm
Quote from axe documentation:
"Shade(EXP) Sets the contrast. 0 is lightest, 63 is darkest. "
Repeat 1=2
If getKey=15
Goto E
End
-1→B
62→A
Repeat A>62
Shade(A)
A+B→A
If A<1
-B→B
End
End
End
Lbl E
Shade(47)

The loop is set up so A is always <62 and >1.

A is always in the range.
What DJ said about the display not liking high speed contrast changes seems to make the most sense.
I'm guessing that the LCD has just a slight tinge of blue and the quick adjustment brings it out more...?


EDIT: perhaps I should clarify more.  It wasn't a BSOD, just a blue screen.  No words.  Just blue.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Builderboy on June 18, 2010, 03:18:41 pm
I know that i was able to get a shade of blue using xLibs contrast change, and by changing it rabidly from max to min and back again.  I dont think its equivalent to the BSOD.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: calcdude84se on June 18, 2010, 03:19:56 pm
Explanation: http://ourl.ca/4072/96027 (http://ourl.ca/4072/96027)
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 18, 2010, 05:36:49 pm
I know that i was able to get a shade of blue using xLibs contrast change, and by changing it rabidly from max to min and back again.  I dont think its equivalent to the BSOD.
I think it is BSOD that is showing up, but it shows up for a so short amount of time that even if you trigger it 50 times a second, it won't ever match the intense blue a static BSOD can produce, or as much damage it can cause.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Darl181 on June 21, 2010, 04:29:02 pm
Okay, I was reading through page 25 or so of the bug reports thing and would like to say that I'm NOT gone... I just have only a 90-minute slot in which to use the computer.
Example below.

Anyways, I've tried it again and I've noticed the screen kind of fluctuates.

Below is the source for any brave souls who wish to try it.
great...5 minutes now...
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 21, 2010, 11:06:24 pm
ouch this sucks you are limited this much on computer usage x.x

I assume it's parental filter, right?

By fluctuate, do you mean there is some sort of wave effect or something like in Ikkerens video at http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=3505.0;attach=1750 ?
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Raylin on June 21, 2010, 11:26:45 pm
He's at a library.
That is the PCReservation program.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 21, 2010, 11:37:00 pm
oh ok. Well, I never accessed a library computer before in hi school because early in hi school they had Windows 3.1 and no internet (I believe they had Encarta), later they had decent computers (for the time) but only 3 and they were always taken. In College they just required your student ID and there were no filter at all :P
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Darl181 on June 22, 2010, 02:24:16 pm
Yeah, libraries suck.  I just try to avoid using one of the PC's at my parent's house because they'd probably start filtering/blocking almost everything...that's what they did to my brother.
Anyways, by 'fluctuate' I don't mean waves, but the whole screen still changing contrast for a second or two before settling to a neutral shade.  Think of it like plucking a rubber band and it vibrates for a minute or so.  The contrast level 'vibrates' for a bit before settling.

I'll try to get a video of it soon (once I find my SD card for the camera).

Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 22, 2010, 02:27:09 pm
Btw Darl181 could you repost a new version of your sound program from the other page? No one got able to send it to an emulator or their calc. It seems corrupted :(

EDIT: oops it was in another topic. Anyway check Re: Your Projects - Post and Critique too

(and that sucks about parents blocking everything, it reminds me SirCmpwn parents x.x. The worst part with Sir is how Omnimaga is blocked at school and libraries, though)
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Ikkerens on June 22, 2010, 02:35:00 pm
Btw Darl181 could you repost a new version of your sound program from the other page? No one got able to send it to an emulator or their calc. It seems corrupted :(

EDIT: oops it was in another topic. Anyway check Re: Your Projects - Post and Critique too

(and that sucks about parents blocking everything, it reminds me SirCmpwn parents x.x. The worst part with Sir is how Omnimaga is blocked at school and libraries, though)

*reply to offtopic*
Proxy?
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 22, 2010, 02:37:03 pm
Oh, he used proxies I believe, but if I remember, they can detect them and if they catch you you're in deep trouble, or they block them one after another. Not to mention many proxies won't let you login on most sites.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Darl181 on June 22, 2010, 02:52:16 pm
I might be able to use a proxy if, when I used a home computer, my parents (stepdad especially) blocked things.
1) My parents don't even know I'm doing any programming or whatsoever with a calculator
2) Even when I'm using powerpoint or word for some big school project he keeps on "ckecking up on my progress".  Obviously he's sucpicious of something, or he's just a control freak.
I might just get a netbook and encrypt the whole thing, but my stepdad periodically goes through my backpack about once every two-three months.
Backpack lock: that would be pretty much asking him to go through it.

Best plan for me is to just avoid using home computers altogether, and use those in the library.
Omnimaga is blocked at my school as well, I guess some idiot googling 'online games' found the arcade and the school district discovered it.

Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 22, 2010, 03:15:06 pm
Aaah ok I see x.x

Well the thing with Omni is that it's a lot game-oriented so this is inevitable it will get blocked at most places.

IMHO I would watch out what I do on the home computers if I was you. if there is anything that they can discover, don't do it. If they are illiterate about other things, then I guess you're fine. Just remember to clear suspicious site links from your browsing history from time to time if you can.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Darl181 on June 22, 2010, 03:30:42 pm
I try.
Also, some versions of internet explorer have something called InPrivate browsing which I use when possible.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: calcdude84se on June 22, 2010, 03:36:31 pm
That would be newer versions. Chrome supports a very similar feature, while Firefox forces you to mask your whole session at a time. (I don't use Opera or other browsers)
Is there any hope of this returning to topic? :P
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 22, 2010, 03:50:52 pm
yeah it would be nice indeed :P

Btw, by alternating quickly the homescreen with the graph screen, you can create pretty cool effect with the screen. In Axe, though, it is not as practical, because you just have to use native grayscale instead, but in BASIC it can give some cool but flashy results.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: ztrumpet on June 22, 2010, 08:19:28 pm
In Basic the following code looks crazy!

Code: [Select]
:ClrHome
:For(A,Ymin,Ymax,deltaY
:Horizontal A
:End
:Repeat getKey
:Disp
:DispGraph
:End
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 23, 2010, 02:11:32 am
wow I didn't thought about For(A,Ymin,Ymax,deltaY before

ANd yeah it creates similar effect to the Axe code shown in that thread, except much slower, so no wave effect.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: calcdude84se on June 23, 2010, 01:53:55 pm
It's still there, and I'd say there's a wave effect, but it is definitely much weaker and harder to notice.
And yeah, For(A,Ymin,Ymax,deltaY:Horizontal A:End is about the fastest and smallest way to blacken the screen.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 23, 2010, 02:26:49 pm
Aaah nice, glad to know about this. I always did For(A,0,62:Horizontal A:End (one byte smaller I think) or For(A,-62,0:Horizontal A:End, but those required the screen to be set manually to 0->Ymin and 62->Ymax
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: Darl181 on June 23, 2010, 03:12:06 pm
Yay! Back on topic!
I found out while waiting for the library to open today that the MirageOS ON+[any top row key from Y= to graph] speed-change thing changes the effect.  One would think it was common sense but not many people know about that feature.

[offtopic]
I got the blue screen video now, but by this point the whole supposed BSOD thing should probably be another thread at this point.
[/offtopic] hopefully for real
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 23, 2010, 03:28:27 pm
Oh I remember that. I totally forgot about this MirageOS feature, because I last tried it in 2003 and as time went by, fewer and fewer ASM program supported it. Most managed to disable this.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: ztrumpet on June 23, 2010, 05:32:11 pm
smallest way to blacken the screen.
Actually, this is the smallest:
Shade(Ymin,Ymax)
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: calcdude84se on June 23, 2010, 05:36:51 pm
You should have made you're program more optimized then! :P
How about the smallest way that does it one line at a time?
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 23, 2010, 06:22:21 pm
You should have made you're program more optimized then! :P
How about the smallest way that does it one line at a time?
You know that most of the programs I wrote for the 83+ were made several years before TI-BASIC Developper opened, back when you could boast about your TI-BASIC skills if you did not close quotes when ending a line of code, right? Back then, we did not know about all those advanced tricks we got today. All people had was the 900 pages TI-83+ guidebook explaining what each command did, where they closed parhentesises and quotes, and the people who had internet at home (and a computer) just had BASIC Guru Online, which has Text(-1, teaches how to not use Lbl/Goto, but lacks most other tricks.

Don't put the blame on me when you never frequented the TI community yourself in 2001-04.
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: ztrumpet on June 23, 2010, 09:34:26 pm
Woah, calm DJ.  I think he was pointing that out to me, as I posted the code he referred to.  If it was dirrected at me, then it was because the way I first posted was faster. :)
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 23, 2010, 09:39:11 pm
I think it was more to me since the code you posted was more optimized
Quote
Shade(Ymin,Ymax)
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: calcdude84se on June 24, 2010, 04:13:09 pm
Sorry for looking like I was harassing you, DJ. I was just bothering ztrumpet. No hard feelings, right?
I was just wondering why the tiny program he put up that had a similar effect didn't use shade if it was better (I'm not normally aware of the math-centered commands, so I don't use them much either). In a jesting manner, of course :P
Title: Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 24, 2010, 04:15:56 pm
I see. Don't worry about it

From experience with Shade, though, it was much slower, so it might explain why he did not use it. Sometimes people go for speed instead of size.