Author Topic: Wave Simulator (sortof)  (Read 17575 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ikkerens

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 378
  • Rating: +28/-9
  • JavaScript Magician
    • View Profile
    • Walotech
Wave Simulator (sortof)
« on: June 16, 2010, 01:39:42 pm »
Upon playing a bit with 4lv GrayScale, I found this by accident.
It works on a TI-84+ (not SE), I don't know about an emulator.

Feel free to test for yourself (still at your own risk)

And yes, I know it is very flicker-ish, but still, it's cool.

Edit: removed the :'s at the program
« Last Edit: June 16, 2010, 01:44:39 pm by Ikkerens »

Splut for Android [----------]
Paused/halted indefinitely, might be abandoned, our graphic designer quit and the rest of us simply doesn't have the time to work on it...

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55881
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2010, 01:48:05 pm »
Mhmm is it just supposed to quickly flash the screen? (see attached screenshot)

I think for that you could simply do:

Code: [Select]
ClrDraw
Repeat getkey(15)
DrawInv
DispGraph
End

Again, maybe it's because I used an emulator. The code above does the exact same thing on it.

Also I noticed in your code you added additional : at the beginning of every line so your lines of code looked like

PROGRAM:GSWAVE
::.GS4
::SetUpEditor
::ClrDraw

etc

Offline Ikkerens

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 378
  • Rating: +28/-9
  • JavaScript Magician
    • View Profile
    • Walotech
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2010, 01:49:23 pm »
Also I noticed in your code you added additional : at the beginning of every line so your lines of code looked like

PROGRAM:GSWAVE
::.GS4
::SetUpEditor
::ClrDraw

etc

Already re-uploaded the file with that fixed, and the flickering, dunno how to fix it :P

And

Code: [Select]
ClrDraw
Repeat getkey(15)
DrawInv
DispGraph
End

doesn't give the same effect. Gives another cool looking effect tho :)
« Last Edit: June 16, 2010, 01:50:58 pm by Ikkerens »

Splut for Android [----------]
Paused/halted indefinitely, might be abandoned, our graphic designer quit and the rest of us simply doesn't have the time to work on it...

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55881
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2010, 02:03:13 pm »
What program editor do you use? I know KermMartian updated SourceCoder recently, and if it started adding those chars, it might be good to report the bug to him.

As for your effect, I guess it probably varies from the calc to the emulator. For me, both gave the exact same effect in WabbitEmu (TI-84+ ROM 2.41)

Offline Ikkerens

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 378
  • Rating: +28/-9
  • JavaScript Magician
    • View Profile
    • Walotech
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2010, 02:35:54 pm »
What program editor do you use? I know KermMartian updated SourceCoder recently, and if it started adding those chars, it might be good to report the bug to him.

As for your effect, I guess it probably varies from the calc to the emulator. For me, both gave the exact same effect in WabbitEmu (TI-84+ ROM 2.41)

I don't use a program editor, on-calc during math ftw.

Splut for Android [----------]
Paused/halted indefinitely, might be abandoned, our graphic designer quit and the rest of us simply doesn't have the time to work on it...

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2010, 02:38:06 pm »
Will someone gif this for me?

Offline Ikkerens

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 378
  • Rating: +28/-9
  • JavaScript Magician
    • View Profile
    • Walotech
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2010, 02:40:37 pm »
Brings me to another question, how do I make those GIF's?
Apart from screening every single frame :P

Splut for Android [----------]
Paused/halted indefinitely, might be abandoned, our graphic designer quit and the rest of us simply doesn't have the time to work on it...

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55881
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2010, 02:46:08 pm »
What program editor do you use? I know KermMartian updated SourceCoder recently, and if it started adding those chars, it might be good to report the bug to him.

As for your effect, I guess it probably varies from the calc to the emulator. For me, both gave the exact same effect in WabbitEmu (TI-84+ ROM 2.41)

I don't use a program editor, on-calc during math ftw.
aaah ok, weird I wondered where the additional : chars came from XD

@SirCmpwn sorry I meant to post one in my post but I forgot to attach it. My bad x.x

As for gif making you need to get a calculator ROM from your calc or somewhere illegal online then use Wabbitemu, found at http://wabbit.codeplex.com
« Last Edit: June 16, 2010, 02:46:29 pm by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline Ikkerens

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 378
  • Rating: +28/-9
  • JavaScript Magician
    • View Profile
    • Walotech
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2010, 03:12:30 pm »
That isn't even close to what it looks like on a real calc.
Il just make a vid with my cellphone soon.

Splut for Android [----------]
Paused/halted indefinitely, might be abandoned, our graphic designer quit and the rest of us simply doesn't have the time to work on it...

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2010, 03:16:43 pm »
That isn't even close to what it looks like on a real calc.
Il just make a vid with my cellphone soon.
That would be cool.  Good luck! :)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55881
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2010, 03:30:09 pm »
That isn't even close to what it looks like on a real calc.
Il just make a vid with my cellphone soon.
aaah ok x.x

I guess emulators aren't really the best thing when it comes to very fast animations.

Make sure the cellphone video is high quality, though. I often notice people post vids at 2 fps with 1 bit sound quality and 120x80 resolution x.x

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2010, 03:34:27 pm »
I have a nice HD video camera that I use for most stuff ;D
Also, Ikkerens should PM me.

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #12 on: June 16, 2010, 03:47:26 pm »
Cool, I found about the same thing in geometry ;)

What I was doing, though, was playing around with 'Pause'.
Something like this:

Repeat getKey≠0
DrawInv
DispGraph
Pause 3
DrawInv
Dispgraph
Pause 4
End

I know it doesn't have greyscale, but it's fun to play with.

EDIT: yes, random pointless necroedit, just wanted to attach something
« Last Edit: April 12, 2011, 03:07:56 am by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55881
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2010, 03:51:35 pm »
Oh yeah you can control the gray shades with that ^^

Actually since the Nspire also display stuff in a similar way in 83+ mode it seems, when doing stuff like that, I think those effects could be used fine accross all calc models for stuff like magic animations, for example

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Wave Simulator (sortof)
« Reply #14 on: June 16, 2010, 03:55:38 pm »
I don't know how it worked, but something i did made the screen turn blue, but I can't remember what it was...

EDIT....
here it is

Repeat 1=2
If getKey=15
Goto E
End
-1→B
62→A
Repeat A>62
Shade(A)
A+B→A
If A<1
-B→B
End
End
End
Lbl E
Shade(47)
« Last Edit: June 16, 2010, 04:00:32 pm by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue