Author Topic: Blaster Master!  (Read 42079 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ranman

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1354
  • Rating: +83/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #15 on: February 07, 2011, 02:33:48 am »
My only single piece of criticism is that I think when you are in the air, the wheels should move down instead of the hull moving up.  Other than that however, this is looking undeniably epic!  *Especially* the sprites ;D
/\true, true. i'll have to change that when i redo the sprites

I don't think you would have to redo the sprites to do what Builderboy is asking... simply draw the current sprite with the y position incremented by 1.

Looks absolutely outstanding schmibs!
Ranman
Bringing Randy Glover's Jumpman to the TI-89 calculator. Download available at Ticalc.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2011, 02:35:05 am »
It might be tricky if the wheels are already at the bottom of the sprite though D:

Offline Ranman

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1354
  • Rating: +83/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #17 on: February 07, 2011, 02:38:15 am »
It might be tricky if the wheels are already at the bottom of the sprite though D:

Well... it would be a special case. Just have a flag called "in_air" (or something like that). If the car is in the air, set the flag to true. Then, when drawing the screen, if the flag is true simply add 1 to the y position.
Ranman
Bringing Randy Glover's Jumpman to the TI-89 calculator. Download available at Ticalc.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #18 on: February 07, 2011, 02:40:53 am »
yeah.  Or if he wanted, he could change the on-ground sprite to have the wheels one pixel in the air, and then go and change the bounding box, but that sounds a bit excessive :P

Offline Ranman

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1354
  • Rating: +83/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #19 on: February 07, 2011, 02:45:15 am »
yeah.  Or if he wanted, he could change the on-ground sprite to have the wheels one pixel in the air, and then go and change the bounding box, but that sounds a bit excessive :P

I was trying to think of a way he would not have to change the sprites. However... if modifying the sprites is trivial, then that may be the all-around best way to go.
Ranman
Bringing Randy Glover's Jumpman to the TI-89 calculator. Download available at Ticalc.

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #20 on: February 07, 2011, 03:16:31 am »
modifying the sprites is anything but trivial(as i explained in my first post XD)
however, i'm going to be revising them as it is, so i may as well go ahead and hard code (err... hard-draw?) the difference instead of adding another special case and bogging down the engine.
thanks for the encouragement, ranman!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #21 on: February 08, 2011, 01:38:01 am »
Woah that's incredible! I love the look so far and I'm glad to see yet one more classic ported to calculators. I hope to see this finished. WIll it use the same levels as on the NES or will it be a new game?

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #22 on: February 08, 2011, 07:50:06 pm »
the level sets, gameplay, etc will be similar to the original game but not exactly the same, as some things just wouldn't be practical.
the jet fuel not being refilled by items dropped by enemies, for instance, and the map's being in smaller room chunks instead of the massive, contiguous maps of the original. i still intend to add in the overhead map portions and the bosses that need to be defeated in order to upgrade the tank, though. oh, and there will be fewer maps than are in the original game, because the sizes i'll be working with are massive enough as it is. probably just the first three (forest-y place, castle, and futuristic space station).
at the moment(after seeing squidget's sandland tilemapper), though, it's obvious that i still have some optimising to do.

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #23 on: February 10, 2011, 08:41:14 am »
ok, a quick update. last night i managed to shave another 170 bytes off of the engine and then started testing out some variable length list things which will be used for projectiles and enemies. i'm pretty sure i can get this to work eventually, but i know this type of thing has been done before so i was wondering:
can anyone refer me to an open source project with examples of this? i know i'm just being lazy, but if it isn't too much trouble...

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #24 on: February 13, 2011, 08:31:45 pm »
Sounds cool. Good luck. Unfortunately, I don't really have too much experience with variable length arrays. Didn't your dust toy use one though?

Offline agent84

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 110
  • Rating: +9/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #25 on: February 13, 2011, 09:05:06 pm »
whoa.  cool looking project dude, keep it up!

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #26 on: February 14, 2011, 12:46:12 am »
in the dust toy i cheated and used a fixed length array into which particles were inserted at random (if the space wasn't already occupied, that is). i actually like the way that turned out, though, as it made the particle movements less uniform and more realistic.
however, after a bit of work, i think i now have a system for dealing with bullets:

there definitely won't be this many bullets on the screen at a time, but i figured: why not?

now on to the hard part: scripting enemy movements and determining when they have been struck in order to inflict damage and make bullets disappear simultaneously  :crazy:

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #27 on: February 14, 2011, 04:13:19 pm »
Looking good, shmibs. ;D
I like the player's sprite in that! ;D

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #28 on: February 15, 2011, 04:21:09 am »
That looks great. I like the bullets too. :)

Offline Runer112

  • Moderator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Blaster Master!
« Reply #29 on: February 15, 2011, 01:59:42 pm »
I don't know if you did this for debugging purposes or just for the effect, but you may not want to store the bullet data in L6. I can see it at the top of the screen. :P

But it looks good!