Author Topic: Extracting Casio OS images  (Read 3196 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Extracting Casio OS images
« on: April 11, 2012, 05:19:40 pm »
Hi,


With the whole fx-8960G family, it was possible to get an OS image while the computer was updating the calculator by checking the following pathes, depending on your Windows version:
« \Documents and Settings\...\Local Settings\Temp\{64B068C2-4158-42C8-9566-5FC76416D0E5} »
« \Users\...\Local\Temp\{64B068C2-4158-42C8-9566-5FC76416D0E5} »

The image file was named UpdateCode.bin with a size of 2496KB.

This allways worked for me with Casio updaters coming with various versions from 1.05 to 2.00.


It seems that it doesn't work anymore for Casio updaters coming with the new version 2.01.

Is it just me or did some of you experience the same problem?

Could you find another way of extracting the new 2.01 OS image from the Casio updater?


Thanks,

Critor
« Last Edit: April 11, 2012, 05:22:03 pm by critor »
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline fxdev

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 177
  • Rating: +34/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Extracting Casio OS images
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 03:13:08 pm »
We have images from OS 2.01 and OS 2.02 (SH-4A based models). I have sent you a PM.
The only interesting part would be the "dummy" boot code image from the official OS 2.01 setup, but it seems they did not change anything.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2012, 10:00:57 am by cfxm »

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: Extracting Casio OS images
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2012, 10:09:36 pm »
Thank you very much for your comprehensive reply :)
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline flyingfisch

  • I'm 1337 now!
  • Members
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1620
  • Rating: +94/-17
  • Testing, testing, 1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8..9
    • View Profile
    • Top Page Website Design
Re: Extracting Casio OS images
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2012, 04:21:55 am »
Do you have an fx-9860, critor? o.o



Quote from: my dad
"welcome to the world of computers, where everything seems to be based on random number generators"



The Game V. 2.0

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: Extracting Casio OS images
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2012, 10:55:47 am »
Yes - why?
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline flyingfisch

  • I'm 1337 now!
  • Members
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1620
  • Rating: +94/-17
  • Testing, testing, 1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8..9
    • View Profile
    • Top Page Website Design
Re: Extracting Casio OS images
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2012, 07:37:59 pm »
Just wondering, I thought you only owned TI-calcs :)



Quote from: my dad
"welcome to the world of computers, where everything seems to be based on random number generators"



The Game V. 2.0

Offline fxdev

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 177
  • Rating: +34/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Extracting Casio OS images
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2012, 10:01:55 am »
Take a look here: http://ourl.ca/17058/317420
I have updated the OS extraction tools. ;D