Author Topic: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg  (Read 24849 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #15 on: October 07, 2011, 09:32:57 pm »
That seems interesting. I unfortunately do not know much about that stuff, so I can,t help, though.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #16 on: October 07, 2011, 10:21:44 pm »
I think the font is pretty nice as it is. And I'll try this next time I'll get on a Linux machine.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline MPoupe

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • Rating: +30/-1
  • The coder of yesterday
    • View Profile
    • My web site about Casio calculator
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #17 on: October 11, 2011, 08:57:31 am »
I think the font is pretty nice as it is. And I'll try this next time I'll get on a Linux machine.
Hello,
you probably misread my post. I have problem to choose correct font for 9860G. It's screen is too small to use normal font.


Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #18 on: October 11, 2011, 12:48:21 pm »
I think the font is pretty nice as it is. And I'll try this next time I'll get on a Linux machine.
Hello,
you probably misread my post. I have problem to choose correct font for 9860G. It's screen is too small to use normal font.


Oh, ok, sorry. In that case, maybe something akin to Telnet 83, with a 3x4 font and a horizontally and vertically scrollable screen (much like when your screen is zoomed in).

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline JonimusPrime

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 389
  • Rating: +25/-5
    • View Profile
    • Jonimoose.net
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #19 on: October 17, 2011, 04:11:38 pm »
If you try fxterm with Casio serial cable, you may find, that stream PC->fxterm goes OK, but fxterm->PC doesn't. The problem is in DTR signal on COM port, which must be set ON. The cable (probably) uses it to get power.
I used following (and very dirty workaround):
Linux is running in vmware (which run on windows), it has serial port, which is configured as named pipe (\\.\pipe\seriak), vmware end is server,other end is an application.
On windows run proxy - attached application, which forwards data between pipe and real COM1 port. The proxy ensures, that DTR signal is ON, so it works.

This is very dirty solution, proxy is very dirty software, but at least it works for testing:-)
I hope there is a way to configure Linux to set DTR signal ON, I did a very quick research, but found nothing:-(
Martin

Very nice work! You may be able to use something like setserial on your nix machine to disable/enable flow control which should fix that issue. Or you may even be able to force power to that port to be on with it.

"Always code as if the person who will maintain your code is a maniac serial killer that knows where you live" -Unknown

"If you've done something right no one will know that you've done anything at all" -Futurama

"Have a nice day, or not, the choice is yours." Tom Steiner

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #20 on: October 24, 2011, 03:46:22 pm »
I think the font is pretty nice as it is. And I'll try this next time I'll get on a Linux machine.
Hello,
you probably misread my post. I have problem to choose correct font for 9860G. It's screen is too small to use normal font.


Oh, ok, sorry. In that case, maybe something akin to Telnet 83, with a 3x4 font and a horizontally and vertically scrollable screen (much like when your screen is zoomed in).
Yeah that would be an idea, or maybe KermMartian's 3x3 fonts, although I don't think they had numbers, commas and dots.

EDIT: Actually Telnet used 3x5 fonts. This is the Telnet 83 program he's talking about by the way: http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/71/7116.html . I bet they could be modified to be 3x4 though.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2011, 03:47:06 pm by DJ_O »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #21 on: October 24, 2011, 03:56:53 pm »
Also any way to make it work with USB?

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline JonimusPrime

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 389
  • Rating: +25/-5
    • View Profile
    • Jonimoose.net
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #22 on: October 27, 2011, 08:05:09 pm »
Juju, for this to work with USB one would have to emulate an well supported USB TTL chip, I know there was some talk on doing this on the TI-89T a while back but I doubt we know enough Prizm's USB controller to do this, but I'd love to be proven wrong.

"Always code as if the person who will maintain your code is a maniac serial killer that knows where you live" -Unknown

"If you've done something right no one will know that you've done anything at all" -Futurama

"Have a nice day, or not, the choice is yours." Tom Steiner

Offline Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1430
  • Rating: +130/-10
  • (-_(//));
    • View Profile
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #23 on: October 30, 2011, 10:03:23 am »
How do you connect to Linux?
(I've got Ubu)

Offline MPoupe

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • Rating: +30/-1
  • The coder of yesterday
    • View Profile
    • My web site about Casio calculator
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #24 on: November 01, 2011, 09:58:13 am »
How do you connect to Linux?
See (for example) this:http://linuxtechres.blogspot.com/2009/09/how-to-login-from-serial-port-under.html
But please use speed 9600, it is hardcoded in this verion of the fxterm.
So you will need to add line to your inittab:
s0:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 9600 ttyS0 vt100
to enable serial console on COM1

Offline helder7

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
  • Rating: +33/-1
    • View Profile
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #25 on: February 26, 2012, 12:31:19 pm »
cool, i have connected my prizm with my otheros++ in my ps3

awesome martin poupe

=============
ps: the app icon is quite confusing, in the menu

can you recompile the app with this icon?



you can download icon package at mediafire -> http://www.mediafire.com/?4nc5e27ke847pac

I made an icon compatible with simon sdk (bmp 8 bits, low quality), and other compatible with cemetechSDK (bmp 24 bits, high quality)...
« Last Edit: February 26, 2012, 12:31:49 pm by helder7 »

Offline MPoupe

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • Rating: +30/-1
  • The coder of yesterday
    • View Profile
    • My web site about Casio calculator
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #26 on: February 27, 2012, 11:38:37 am »
can you recompile the app with this icon?
Hi, thank you for icons, I will use them.

Offline christop

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 87
  • Rating: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #27 on: March 07, 2012, 07:13:19 pm »
As a self-proclaimed VT100 expert, I have to say this is impressive! Yours is nicer than my VT100 emulator too: mine is only monochrome (though I recently added grayscale glyphs) and only 60 columns by 20 rows. Each character is 4x6 pixels (the screen 240x128). Mine doesn't even support setting top and bottom margins for the scrolling region, or double-width and double-height lines! I found it to be sufficient for some full-screen applications like "links", though.

How did you implement your emulator? Did you write a state machine? I used the pages at http://vt100.net/emu/dec_ansi_parser (which contains a very useful state diagram) and http://vt100.net/docs/vt100-ug/ to write my emulator. I haven't tried connecting mine to a Linux system yet, but I plan to do that before too long (if I can figure out how to make TiEmu act like a virtual serial port).
Christopher Williams

Offline MPoupe

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • Rating: +30/-1
  • The coder of yesterday
    • View Profile
    • My web site about Casio calculator
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #28 on: March 08, 2012, 09:29:02 am »
As a self-proclaimed VT100 expert, I have to say this is impressive! Yours is nicer than my VT100 emulator too: mine is only monochrome (though I recently added grayscale glyphs) and only 60 columns by 20 rows. Each character is 4x6 pixels (the screen 240x128). Mine doesn't even support setting top and bottom margins for the scrolling region, or double-width and double-height lines! I found it to be sufficient for some full-screen applications like "links", though.

How did you implement your emulator? Did you write a state machine? I used the pages at http://vt100.net/emu/dec_ansi_parser (which contains a very useful state diagram) and http://vt100.net/docs/vt100-ug/ to write my emulator. I haven't tried connecting mine to a Linux system yet, but I plan to do that before too long (if I can figure out how to make TiEmu act like a virtual serial port).
Hello,
I think we did a parallel job:-). I also used dec_ansi_parser, but another doc sources (thank you for link, I just downloaded vt100-ug doc).
I also do not support all escape sequences (I don't support these you mentioned and also fxTerm has problems with partial clearing of the screen - like clear line from cursor to end, etc.). My first target was to be able to login to the linux machine, correctly display output of man pages (= test text attributes) and run Midnight commander (mc -a for colors and -mc- a -b for another test). But the MC internal editor (like any other editor) is broken :-)
My fxTerm may be nicer, but it is only because I can use color display with more pixels. The released version uses font similar to one from old Casio calculator (6x8), but I created smaller fonts to have more characters on the screen. I will use them in next version.

Where does your TV100 emulator live ? I would like to see it (at least screenshots)

Martin





Offline Jim Bauwens

  • Lua! Nspire! Linux!
  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +206/-7
  • Linux!
    • View Profile
    • nothing...
Re: FXTerm - VT100 terminal emulator for Casio fx cg
« Reply #29 on: March 08, 2012, 11:26:13 am »
I think he is referring to his project Punix, an POSIX (IIRC) OS for the 68k calcs.
There is a topic somewhere on the forums with pics in it :)