Author Topic: Mass Storage for Prizm  (Read 6602 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bb010g

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 428
  • Rating: +22/-1
  • I do stuff
    • View Profile
    • elsewhere on the net
Mass Storage for Prizm
« on: December 18, 2012, 10:19:15 am »
I was wondering if it would be possible to make the Prizm interface with a USB thumb drive or other mass storage device. It would be useful because the Prizm only has 16 MiB of storage available, and a project I'm working on would need more (at least the ability to mount it and use it mid-program).
Arch Linux user
Haskell newbie | Warming up to Lua | Being dragged into C++
Calculators: HP 50g, HP 35s, Casio Prizm, TI-Nspire CX CAS, HP 28s, HP Prime, Mathematica 9 (if that counts)
π: 3.14...; l: 108; i: 105; e: 101; l+i+e: 314
THE CAKE IS A LIE IS A PIE

Offline flyingfisch

  • I'm 1337 now!
  • Members
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1620
  • Rating: +94/-17
  • Testing, testing, 1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8..9
    • View Profile
    • Top Page Website Design
Re: Mass Storage for Prizm
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2012, 10:21:48 am »
I was wondering if it would be possible to make the Prizm interface with a USB thumb drive or other mass storage device. It would be useful because the Prizm only has 16 MiB of storage available, and a project I'm working on would need more (at least the ability to mount it and use it mid-program).

I've been wondering about this as well. I know that in test mode, you can unmount flash memory, which means that it can mount/unmount. I don't know how to get it to interface with an external drive though...



Quote from: my dad
"welcome to the world of computers, where everything seems to be based on random number generators"



The Game V. 2.0

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Mass Storage for Prizm
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2012, 01:38:59 pm »
Heya and welcome here. I think it might be possible if the USB protocol is similar to the TI-84+ and TI-Nspire CX, as it has been done on those calcs, but on the TI-Nspire series it took over 2 years after ASM/C arrives before someone manages to figure out how the USB protocol works.

It would definitively be nice, though. What project do you work on?

Offline bb010g

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 428
  • Rating: +22/-1
  • I do stuff
    • View Profile
    • elsewhere on the net
Re: Mass Storage for Prizm
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2012, 05:35:06 pm »
I'm working on compiling and run Linux with a terminal emulator. (Linux itself is extremely small, the Linux From Scratch team got a basic Apache web server running with 8 MB of disk space.) Everything except for what is essential to boot and mount would be on external storage (including swap).
Arch Linux user
Haskell newbie | Warming up to Lua | Being dragged into C++
Calculators: HP 50g, HP 35s, Casio Prizm, TI-Nspire CX CAS, HP 28s, HP Prime, Mathematica 9 (if that counts)
π: 3.14...; l: 108; i: 105; e: 101; l+i+e: 314
THE CAKE IS A LIE IS A PIE

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Mass Storage for Prizm
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2012, 05:53:26 pm »
One of the difficulties I'm seeing is it wouldn't be able to work by the standard since the Prizm's usb port can't take mini-A plugs (which are normally needed for one device to host another), only B.  Unless it can emulate OTG with just a mini-B port or something? I'm not too familiar with these things :P
I'm guessing it wouldn't be too hard to work around the standard or something but you never know :/
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: Mass Storage for Prizm
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2012, 10:46:30 am »
The Prizm would indeed run Linux. Actually, you could do like what they did with the Nspire, as in write a g3a that could boot the kernel with would mount an image as its root directory. You can use buildroot for that which can generate an extremely small image that can easily fit on the 16 MB storage.

I've looked once on how to port Linux and I hit several walls and questions:
1. First of all, how to write the bootloader?
2. Then you might want to have input/output: you probably have to write a driver for the screen and for the keyboard, unless it sends the output to the bootloader's PrizmIO, but still you might still want to write the drivers if you want more than basic I/O. (Like if you want to run SDL or something.)
3. Compile for the right SH CPU model? Like for ARM processors, you might have to compile not only for SH4, but for the particular model of SH4 the Prizm uses.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Mass Storage for Prizm
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2012, 01:08:37 pm »
I think I heard that the PRIZM's USB port only supports peripheral mode, and it's not OTG. That's why you can't use it for calc-to-calc linking and such, and I don't think it's able to run in host mode at all.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: Mass Storage for Prizm
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2012, 05:43:21 pm »

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline Vogtinator

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1193
  • Rating: +108/-5
  • Instruction counter
    • View Profile
Re: Mass Storage for Prizm
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2012, 05:55:38 pm »
The size of the flash would not be a problem, my fritzbox has only 4 MB flash and has two webservers, wlan etc..
According to http://prizmwiki.omnimaga.org/wiki/Casio_Prizm the prizm does only have 2 MiB RAM.
I don't think that would be enough space to run applications.
Does the prizm allow executing programs directly from flash?
Then the bootloader would only need to load sections with r/w access into RAM.

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: Mass Storage for Prizm
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2012, 06:16:47 pm »
The flash is 16 MiB and apps are directly ran from there, so I guess it won't be a problem. Everything (bootloader, kernel, rootfs) would be loaded from flash. But I dunno if you can do much with 2 MiB of RAM, I guess you could solve this with swap.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2012, 06:18:16 pm by Juju »

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline MPoupe

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • Rating: +30/-1
  • The coder of yesterday
    • View Profile
    • My web site about Casio calculator
Re: Mass Storage for Prizm
« Reply #10 on: January 02, 2013, 05:46:40 am »
...I guess you could solve this with swap.
The flash is very slow, as SimonLothar wrote in his fx_calculators_SuperH_based_xx manual:
"...The system needs about 3 minutes to create a file of 1 MB size...", which less than 6KB/s.

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: Mass Storage for Prizm
« Reply #11 on: January 02, 2013, 03:17:18 pm »
6KB/s swap, that indeed won't really be useful.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.