Author Topic: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port  (Read 21987 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline flyingfisch

  • I'm 1337 now!
  • Members
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1620
  • Rating: +94/-17
  • Testing, testing, 1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8..9
    • View Profile
    • Top Page Website Design
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #30 on: January 04, 2014, 08:19:40 pm »
Ok thanks for this update. :) Do I have to re-install the entire game or just replace the old Casio files with your new ones?

Just replace the casio files ;)



Quote from: my dad
"welcome to the world of computers, where everything seems to be based on random number generators"



The Game V. 2.0

Offline ProgrammerNerd

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Rating: +9/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #31 on: January 04, 2014, 08:52:17 pm »
More specifically just replace openjazz.g3a

Offline The_King

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 247
  • Rating: +6/-2
  • Ⓣⓗⓔ Ⓖⓐⓜⓔ ⓍⒹ
    • View Profile
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #32 on: January 04, 2014, 08:53:20 pm »
hey this is quite a port

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55896
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #33 on: January 04, 2014, 10:14:14 pm »
Ok thanks for the info :)

Offline flyingfisch

  • I'm 1337 now!
  • Members
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1620
  • Rating: +94/-17
  • Testing, testing, 1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8..9
    • View Profile
    • Top Page Website Design
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #34 on: January 04, 2014, 10:19:40 pm »



Quote from: my dad
"welcome to the world of computers, where everything seems to be based on random number generators"



The Game V. 2.0

Offline ProgrammerNerd

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Rating: +9/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #35 on: May 24, 2014, 09:30:28 pm »
I have released a new version. I edited my post to explain the changes. It is highly recommended that you upgrade as this version as the old version may write to ram locations used by the OS. This version should not have that issue.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55896
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #36 on: May 24, 2014, 10:07:01 pm »
Good to see an update. Maybe this might explain why I had some weird crashes with the previous version. I'll give the new one a try when  I have some chance.

Offline ProgrammerNerd

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Rating: +9/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #37 on: May 25, 2014, 01:43:02 am »
I am glad that you appreciate my update. In fact I just released another update. This fixes screen corruption on real hardware. Make sure you download 1.03. The update is pending acceptance in archives.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55896
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #38 on: May 25, 2014, 01:48:06 am »
Ok thanks for letting me know. :)

Offline ProgrammerNerd

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Rating: +9/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #39 on: May 25, 2014, 09:31:32 am »
Edit: version 1.03 is up at both sites.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2014, 12:13:51 pm by ProgrammerNerd »

Offline neuronix

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 108
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #40 on: March 14, 2015, 04:08:23 am »
Hello, this program doesn't work on my FX-CG 20?
How about it?
Thank you in advance.

Offline RetroKid

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 1
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #41 on: February 07, 2018, 03:59:57 pm »
One question...
Would you consider porting this over to the TI-84 Plus CE or TI N-spire CX?
A Plus CE port might be possible, as it does use an enhanced Zilog eZ80 at 48 MHz (much faster than the CSE)
Plus, the TI-84 Plus CE lacks any platforming games besides ONE mario game.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6234
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #42 on: February 07, 2018, 04:17:28 pm »
One question...
Would you consider porting this over to the TI-84 Plus CE or TI N-spire CX?
A Plus CE port might be possible, as it does use an enhanced Zilog eZ80 at 48 MHz (much faster than the CSE)
Plus, the TI-84 Plus CE lacks any platforming games besides ONE mario game.
The last reply to this thread was in 2015. This was a bit of a necro post.

That said, this is an open source project. You could easily fork his github repository and port it to another platform yourself.
/e

Offline ProgrammerNerd

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • Rating: +9/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Open Jazz jackrabbit Casio prizm port
« Reply #43 on: April 30, 2021, 06:37:05 pm »
I've release a new update that I would consider urgent because it fixes invalid memory access and a file handle leak. The link is the same. You can download it from here: https://github.com/ComputerNerd/Open-Jazz-Jackrabbit-Casio-Prizm-port/blob/master/openjazz.7z

If you accidentally leave a file open on the Prizm it's really bad because you have to reset your calculator or put it in USB Mass Storage Mode to resolve the issue.

From the Casio Prizm wiki (https://prizm.cemetech.net/index.php?title=Bfile_OpenFile_OS) it says:
Quote
but strange behavior (most likely a OS bug) occurs if files other than the one in the first handle slot are located in directories (other than the root).

The strange behavior part is concerning. Although nothing bad has happened to my calculator I don't want anything bad to happen to yours. That's why I strongly urge you to update to the latest version.

I know that the G3A file is hosted elsewhere. If you are hosting this game I ask that you make this update available on your website as well so that people don't accidentally download the old version. I understand if you have a version history that's fine. I just mean that this should be an option.