Author Topic: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem  (Read 10549 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fefin

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 2
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« on: December 28, 2012, 09:17:36 am »
Hi all ;D hope you can help me, I got this problem:
When I try to recover the flash with fxRemote to (2.01.0200), the calculator just freezes and says "OS not identifiable! Start bootcode OS update manually and try again."
What i have to do to convert my calculator?  The OS version is 02.01.0700

Thanks and bye !

Offline Spyro543

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1189
  • Rating: +74/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2012, 10:51:05 am »
I had this same problem. When you get that error message, press the F2, AC/on, 4, and RESTART (on the back) buttons. Then release them. Next, press and release the 9 key, and press and release the x key (multiply key). Then try recovering the flash. Also, your calculator could be the new model (Power Graphic 2). Try recovering with the "2_02_0201_sh4.fls" file.

Offline flyingfisch

  • I'm 1337 now!
  • Members
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1620
  • Rating: +94/-17
  • Testing, testing, 1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8..9
    • View Profile
    • Top Page Website Design
Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2012, 11:08:54 am »
I had this same problem. When you get that error message, press the F2, AC/on, 4, and RESTART (on the back) buttons. Then release them. Next, press and release the 9 key, and press and release the x key (multiply key). Then try recovering the flash. Also, your calculator could be the new model (Power Graphic 2). Try recovering with the "2_02_0201_sh4.fls" file.

Yup, exactly what i was going to say.

I am not sure what this forum's policy on these topics is though. On UCF, we can do it in the IRC and through PM's, and on casiopeia you can do it anywhere.




Quote from: my dad
"welcome to the world of computers, where everything seems to be based on random number generators"



The Game V. 2.0

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55913
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2012, 11:47:47 am »
Actually we might not be able to help much due to new forum policies (added after many complains from members of another TI forum and to avoid more inter site drama) but if you e-mail cfxm he might be able to help you. I think an issue is that you got a new generation 9750G with the SH4 processors, but cfxm apparently knows the answer :)

Offline flyingfisch

  • I'm 1337 now!
  • Members
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1620
  • Rating: +94/-17
  • Testing, testing, 1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8..9
    • View Profile
    • Top Page Website Design
Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2012, 12:02:48 pm »
Actually we might not be able to help much due to new forum policies (added after many complains from members of another TI forum and to avoid more inter site drama) but if you e-mail cfxm he might be able to help you. I think an issue is that you got a new generation 9750G with the SH4 processors, but cfxm apparently knows the answer :)

He knows the answer because he made the hack ;)



Quote from: my dad
"welcome to the world of computers, where everything seems to be based on random number generators"



The Game V. 2.0

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2012, 03:31:50 pm »
I have no idea what policy you guys are talking about, would someone care to enlighten me(PM would be fine)? As far as I can tell this doesn't seem any different form making a TI-73 into a TI-83+, and I don't see what's wrong with discussing it.

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2012, 04:16:17 pm »
Actually we might not be able to help much due to new forum policies (added after many complains from members of another TI forum and to avoid more inter site drama) but if you e-mail cfxm he might be able to help you. I think an issue is that you got a new generation 9750G with the SH4 processors, but cfxm apparently knows the answer :)

Might we know what kind of complaints would be related to the 9750Gii -> 9860Gii transformation?
This is not related to cheating to my advice.

Because I'm now wondering if I should stop newsing here on Linux and Boot1 flashing on the TI-Nspire for example. Many things have been attempted successfully this week... It would be sad not to tell you the end of the story.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2012, 04:18:54 pm by critor »
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline TheNlightenedOne

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 427
  • Rating: +16/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Re: Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2012, 04:35:35 pm »
Actually we might not be able to help much due to new forum policies (added after many complains from members of another TI forum and to avoid more inter site drama) but if you e-mail cfxm he might be able to help you. I think an issue is that you got a new generation 9750G with the SH4 processors, but cfxm apparently knows the answer :)

Might we know what kind of complaints would be related to the 9750Gii -> 9860Gii transformation?
This is not related to cheating to my advice.

Because I'm now wondering if I should stop newsing here on Linux and Boot1 flashing on the TI-Nspire for example. Many things have been attempted successfully this week... It would be sad not to tell you the end of the story.

Hmm... are we going to see a completely arbitrary boot1 flash? Anyway, I don't see anything wrong with this or what you're newsing about, critor.
"Eris" (Ndless 3.1)
"Keto" (Ndless 3.1)
"Luna" (AMS 3.10, HW4)
"Aurora" (2.55MP)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55913
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Re: Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2012, 05:27:20 pm »
Actually we might not be able to help much due to new forum policies (added after many complains from members of another TI forum and to avoid more inter site drama) but if you e-mail cfxm he might be able to help you. I think an issue is that you got a new generation 9750G with the SH4 processors, but cfxm apparently knows the answer :)

Might we know what kind of complaints would be related to the 9750Gii -> 9860Gii transformation?
This is not related to cheating to my advice.

Because I'm now wondering if I should stop newsing here on Linux and Boot1 flashing on the TI-Nspire for example. Many things have been attempted successfully this week... It would be sad not to tell you the end of the story.
I don't see anything wrong with discussing that stuff here and it was entirely allowed before, but when simon posted about his program to bypass the cg10 picture limitation (opening risks of cheating), there was public outcry on another TI website (mostly on IRC) about how Omnimaga apparently risks destroying relationship with Casio with such program and prompting them to lock the PRIZM. OSLauncher was brought up as well and OSLauncher happens to allow people to do exactly the same thing on the Nspire as we can do with the 9750GII using cfxm tools, which is converting a cheaper calc model into a more expensive one for free. IMHO, TI and Casio makes OSes of all those calcs freely available publicly and the hardware is almost the same, so since they pretty much (unintentionally) give us the tools to do it and did nothing about it, then I think they might be tolerated here. In fact I do not know the real policies about OSLauncher and the like here, I just know that at one point there was some concern among staff (although I know that cheating programs are totally disallowed).

To be honest, I think the primary reason why PTTKiller and the like were disallowed entirely and why there was concern about OSLauncher and similar tools is because the Omnimaga staff wanted people from the other website in question to stop bitching about us. Back then, Omnimaga was just recovering from a year-long site war and many bannings and people were tired of drama that was only caused by mentalities being different on each site.

Anyway I'll ask staff to make sure, but I think for now this topic and Critor's news are pretty fine ;) (PTTKiller is a different story, though, lol)
« Last Edit: December 28, 2012, 05:41:18 pm by DJ_O »

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2012, 09:41:38 pm »
Ah, i see. I think this topic should be fine though, and the ones Critor mentioned as well. :)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55913
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2012, 09:51:19 pm »
Ok after getting some info from top level administration, OS Launcher should be perfectly fine, as long as people do not give help on how to use it to cheat. This software, 73->83+ and 9750GII->9860G is fine as well since it involves people using their very own hardware how they want using legally downloadable software and third-party tools. :D

PTTKiller, on the other hand, isn't, because it was made exclusively to cheat.

Offline fefin

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 2
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2012, 10:36:42 pm »
I had this same problem. When you get that error message, press the F2, AC/on, 4, and RESTART (on the back) buttons. Then release them. Next, press and release the 9 key, and press and release the x key (multiply key). Then try recovering the flash. Also, your calculator could be the new model (Power Graphic 2). Try recovering with the "2_02_0201_sh4.fls" file.

Thanks!! It's finally working =), I didn't know how to enter to the manual update!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55913
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2012, 10:38:05 pm »
Cool to hear. :D

I wish I could do that, but sadly my FX-9750G PLUS has no Flash memory D:

By the way welcome to the forums :D
« Last Edit: December 28, 2012, 10:38:59 pm by DJ_O »

Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #13 on: December 29, 2012, 02:09:20 am »
Quote
Because I'm now wondering if I should stop newsing here on Linux and Boot1 flashing on the TI-Nspire for example. Many things have been attempted successfully this week... It would be sad not to tell you the end of the story.
The possibility is not on the table (yet), but you would simply tell the end of the story, but on TI-Planet and Cemetech :)
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55913
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Upgrade fx9750GII to fx9860GII problem
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2012, 02:13:36 am »
Well, as mentionned above, I got an answer confirming that such news would be perfectly fine here.