Author Topic: Casio-BASIC  (Read 43332 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Casio-BASIC
« on: October 12, 2010, 10:42:24 pm »
Here's the first part of my tutorial on Casio-BASIC for TI programmers. It deals with the text and I/O commands.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2010, 10:45:34 pm by Qwerty.55 »
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2010, 11:19:12 pm »
Nice to see you decided to work on this :D

Btw the TI manual is about 900 pages large, I think. It just doesn't come with the 84+ series. You need to download it online. The 83+ came with an extremly large manual explaining each commands, although not a lot of decent code examples. Hopefully maybe it could help people transition between both language. :D

Offline yunhua98

  • You won't this read sentence right.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2718
  • Rating: +214/-12
  • Go take a dive in the River Lethe.
    • View Profile
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2010, 11:35:16 pm »
Oh nowonder I could not get my manual with my calc.  ;)

Spoiler For =====My Projects=====:
Minor setback due to code messing up.  On hold for Contest.
<hr>
On hold for Contest.


Spoiler For ===Staff Memberships===:






Have you seen any good news-worthy programs/events?  If so, PM me with an article to be included in the next issue of CGPN!
The Game is only a demo, the code that allows one to win hasn't been done.
To paraphrase Oedipus, Hamlet, Lear, and all those guys, "I wish I had known this some time ago."
Signature Last Updated: 12/26/11
<hr>

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2010, 11:52:46 pm »
Mine came with one, but that was an original black 84+, not an SE. i wish I still had it, but without it I would never have had my awesome 86, nor my nspire!

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2010, 12:23:40 am »
Hopefully maybe it could help people transition between both language. :D

I'm planning a second version for Casio-->TI as well.

I realized that I forgot the output command! That's kind of important, even though it's pretty much useless in a final program.

EDIT: And I got the part about code locking wrong. Looks like I'm going to have to be more careful about what I write.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2010, 12:27:46 am by Qwerty.55 »
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2010, 02:36:39 am »
Er I am sure output can be useful in a program. See Illusiat series. You can make rather good games with it even if it's ASCII. You cannot use the 8th row of text, though.

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2010, 03:30:10 am »
The officially named Casio-BASIC Output command (represented by a little triangle that kind of looks like ▲) is slightly different than the TI-BASIC Output( command. When you use it, it will display the string "-DISP-" where the data is supposed to be UNTIL you press EXE, whereupon which it will change to the data. Then you have to press EXE again to return to the program flow. It doesn't look very nice and it's really useful only for debugging, as far as I can tell.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2010, 03:32:22 am by Qwerty.55 »
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2010, 03:36:53 am »
Oh ok I thought you were talking about the TI one. On Casio Output() is Locate. I tried writing in FX-9x50G BASIC before and remember messing around with it. I remember on the 9860G it was about 4x times faster than on a 83+SE, so much that I could do grayscale. The downside is that it doesn't support word-wrap, so to display 7 lines of text, you have to use 7 Locate commands.

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2010, 03:49:40 am »
Casio also included a command that they officially called the "Output Command" in the language. But yes, Locate is the Casio equivalent of the TI Output(. It's kind of confusing grammatically. Output( is Locate. "Hello World" is Disp. ▲ is its own little thing that's a cross between Pause and Disp.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2010, 03:50:51 am by Qwerty.55 »
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2010, 03:55:33 am »
Yeah at first I thought it had no text command like the TI output then I saw it was locate. And yeah I remember the triangle command.

One thing I hate about old Casio calcs is that insert mode is disabled by default and since on Casio, linebreaks disappears as you type stuff, it gets really annoying to type programs without accidentally erasing everything below.

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2010, 04:02:03 am »
That'll be good to know. I haven't experienced it yet, but I do know that TI's programming environment is much better. All of TI-OS is really much prettier than Casio's stuff. Whatever their code is like, they can design nice stuff.
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2010, 04:06:08 am »
Yeah and Casio BASIC is 20x slower than TI BASIC in some cases. It was not as optimized as on TI calcs I think, except maybe the Nspire. The cool thing about Casios, though, is the TI-85/86 style menus.

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2010, 04:10:53 am »
SLOWER than TI-BASIC! :o
 Is that even possible?
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2010, 04:46:51 am »
Yes. TI may not be that great, but Casio is even worse on that point. On a AFX 1.0, which has a 4 MHz processor, a For(Z,0,999):Disp Z:End loop ran 20x slower than a 83+SE and 10x slower than their calcs that had no flash memory/asm capabilities. The FX-9860G runs at like 83+ BASIC speed except Locate which runs about 5x faster but it has a considerably faster CPU.

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Casio-BASIC
« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2010, 08:12:21 am »
Casio BASIC...
I've tried it before..
I used f(x)-9750(I think this is right model name)
I made text-based decision-making game before..and nothing else
Sig wipe!