Author Topic: PRIZM Disassembler  (Read 31475 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline JosJuice

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1344
  • Rating: +66/-14
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #30 on: January 19, 2011, 11:26:00 am »
It seems like the .g3a reading still tries to read part of the header. And, um... disassembling doesn't seem to work at all.

Of course not, PRIZM Assembly is not known yet, none can make a Disassembler, it only reads the Hex. Part of the header? Can you say how many bytes?
Prizm assembly is known - it's pretty the same thing as other devices that use the SH3. Writing a disassembler is possible, but probably hard.
You need to skip 1686.5 more bytes of the header.

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #31 on: January 19, 2011, 11:29:01 am »
It seems like the .g3a reading still tries to read part of the header. And, um... disassembling doesn't seem to work at all.

Of course not, PRIZM Assembly is not known yet, none can make a Disassembler, it only reads the Hex. Part of the header? Can you say how many bytes?
Prizm assembly is known - it's pretty the same thing as other devices that use the SH3. Writing a disassembler is possible, but probably hard.
You need to skip 1686.5 more bytes of the header.

Well, do you have Conversion.g3a? If you could tell me what is the header of that file, I could know if I'm doing it right or wrong :S

Offline z80man

  • Casio Traitor
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 977
  • Rating: +85/-3
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #32 on: January 19, 2011, 07:42:08 pm »
Turns out the app I ran did not refresh my ram. Are we sure though that the proc is not 58Mhz because the app I created ran twice as fast I suspected it to on a 29Mhz proc.

List of stuff I need to do before September:
1. Finish the Emulator of the Casio Prizm (in active development)
2. Finish the the SH3 asm IDE/assembler/linker program (in active development)
3. Create a partial Java virtual machine  for the Prizm (not started)
4. Create Axe for the Prizm with an Axe legacy mode (in planning phase)
5. Develop a large set of C and asm libraries for the Prizm (some progress)
6. Create an emulator of the 83+ for the Prizm (not started)
7. Create a well polished game that showcases the ability of the Casio Prizm (not started)

Offline alberthrocks

  • Moderator
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 876
  • Rating: +103/-10
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #33 on: January 20, 2011, 03:54:47 pm »
I agree with going CLI. It's not quite an IDE, just a disassembler. :)
(Besides, the GUI code was a copy and paste from http://www.wellho.net/resources/ex.php4?item=y207/wx03_02.py, which is a big no no. :P)

On the plus side, CLI does have pluses, including the ability to focus on core stuff! :)
(You should really understand disassembly before writing this utility... :P)

That said, I've went and beautified and converted it to a library.
For those who wish to use it (in the future, it's in a terrible state), simply do:
Code: [Select]
import prizmdisasm # (this may be shorter in the future)
# do anything you want to get done here, including data fetching/manipulation
prizmdisasm.getG3Adata(datavar) # Only if you use a G3A
prizmdisasm.disassemble(asmdata) # Disassemble it!

That's it! :) As said above, the GUI is removed, so you don't have to worry about wx being installed.

P.S. - you guys should combine your efforts (bsl and Scout) and make a unified disassembler! :) For bsl, I'd advise you to use a dictionary to pull values so that it's easy to modify code, plus making it more organized. ;)

EDIT: also, here's the help (and how to get the help):
Code: [Select]
~$ python prizmdisasm.py -h
PRIZM Disassembler v1.0.1 CLI and Library
=========================================
Usage: prizmdisasm.py [option(s)] ... [inputfile]

General options:
-o, --output=[outfile] Specify output file to write to.
Disassembly options:
-t, --type=[type] Specify the input file type.
Type can be 'hex', 'bin', 'enii', or 'g3a'.
-s, --distype=[distype] Specify the disassembly type.
Help/About:
-h, --help Get help! :) (Shows this help)
-w, --webhelp Go to PRIZM hacking site for more info/help! :)
-c, --credits Who made this awesome program? :D
(This also shows the license of this program.)
« Last Edit: January 20, 2011, 03:55:51 pm by alberthrocks »
Withgusto Networks Founder and Administrator
Main Server Status: http://withg.org/status/
Backup Server Status: Not available
Backup 2/MC Server Status: http://mc.withg.org/status/


Proud member of ClrHome!

Miss my old signature? Here it is!
Spoiler For Signature:
Alternate "New" IRC post notification bot (Newy) down? Go here to reset it! http://withg.org/albert/cpuhero/

Withgusto Networks Founder and Administrator
Main Server Status: http://withg.org/status/
Backup Server Status: Not available
Backup 2/MC Server Status: http://mc.withg.org/status/

Activity remains limited due to busyness from school et al. Sorry! :( Feel free to PM, email, or if you know me well enough, FB me if you have a question/concern. :)

Don't expect me to be online 24/7 until summer. Contact me via FB if you feel it's urgent.


Proud member of ClrHome!

Spoiler For "My Projects! :D":
Projects:

Computer/Web/IRC Projects:
C______c: 0% done (Doing planning and trying to not forget it :P)
A_____m: 40% done (Need to develop a sophisticated process queue, and a pretty web GUI)
AtomBot v3.0: 0% done (Planning stage, may do a litmus test of developer wants in the future)
IdeaFrenzy: 0% done (Planning and trying to not forget it :P)
wxWabbitemu: 40% done (NEED MOAR FEATURES :P)

Calculator Projects:
M__ C_____ (an A____ _____ clone): 0% done (Need to figure out physics and Axe)
C2I: 0% done (planning, checking the demand for it, and dreaming :P)

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #34 on: January 20, 2011, 03:57:06 pm »
I just checked it out, it's cool but since you used my code, but don't forget to use the last version of it:

http://pastebin.com/DiySnjCK

It's also much faster!

Offline z80man

  • Casio Traitor
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 977
  • Rating: +85/-3
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #35 on: January 20, 2011, 05:41:37 pm »
I have an idea, but I'm not sure if it is going to work. Unlike the TI 83+ the Prizm has its lcd directly mapped to memory. One screen image on the Prizm takes up 166 kilobytes. What I don't know though is where all this data is. I'm assuming that the Prizm doesn't have more than 1 megabyte of ram. What this means that if I do a few writes to memory I might be able to find where the plotscreen is. This could also really screw up my Prizm too. What I will do is up to one megabyte every 160 kilobytes I will send 32 bytes of one color. Every segment seperated 160 kilobytes will also be a different color. Hopefully when (if)  :P I get a small line on my screen, I will be able to determine the general memory location. Then later I can narrow that down. to an exact location  :-\

List of stuff I need to do before September:
1. Finish the Emulator of the Casio Prizm (in active development)
2. Finish the the SH3 asm IDE/assembler/linker program (in active development)
3. Create a partial Java virtual machine  for the Prizm (not started)
4. Create Axe for the Prizm with an Axe legacy mode (in planning phase)
5. Develop a large set of C and asm libraries for the Prizm (some progress)
6. Create an emulator of the 83+ for the Prizm (not started)
7. Create a well polished game that showcases the ability of the Casio Prizm (not started)

Offline JosJuice

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1344
  • Rating: +66/-14
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #36 on: January 21, 2011, 01:31:12 am »
I have an idea, but I'm not sure if it is going to work. Unlike the TI 83+ the Prizm has its lcd directly mapped to memory. One screen image on the Prizm takes up 166 kilobytes. What I don't know though is where all this data is. I'm assuming that the Prizm doesn't have more than 1 megabyte of ram. What this means that if I do a few writes to memory I might be able to find where the plotscreen is. This could also really screw up my Prizm too. What I will do is up to one megabyte every 160 kilobytes I will send 32 bytes of one color. Every segment seperated 160 kilobytes will also be a different color. Hopefully when (if)  :P I get a small line on my screen, I will be able to determine the general memory location. Then later I can narrow that down. to an exact location  :-\
Sounds like a good idea... But also a dangerous one. Let's hope it works - knowing how to write to the LCD would be very helpful.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #37 on: January 21, 2011, 01:34:51 am »
z80man I certainly hope the screen content is not stored in the Flash memory. At the speed the draw commands and pxl-tests run, I am worried. O.O

Offline JosJuice

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1344
  • Rating: +66/-14
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #38 on: January 21, 2011, 01:37:09 am »
z80man I certainly hope the screen content is not stored in the Flash memory. At the speed the draw commands and pxl-tests run, I am worried. O.O
If it was, even the OS menus would be incredibly slow. It doesn't make sense to store something like the current picture of the screen in Flash - RAM is intended for temporary storage like this.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #39 on: January 21, 2011, 02:19:24 am »
What if drawing home screen text just involved changing a tiny portion of the screen memory, though? Could that be faster?

Offline jnesselr

  • King Graphmastur
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2270
  • Rating: +81/-20
  • TAO == epic
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #40 on: January 21, 2011, 07:34:40 am »
What if drawing home screen text just involved changing a tiny portion of the screen memory, though? Could that be faster?
No, and we're not trying to change the "homescreen", we're trying to find where the ram is that the screen is mapped to.  In the TI-83/84 series, the LCD has it's own ram, which is why it is so slow.  Besides, writing this way would actually be faster because there are fewer sections because the memory is larger.

Offline fxdev

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 177
  • Rating: +34/-6
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #41 on: January 21, 2011, 07:57:52 am »
Do you guys already have a clue on how large the actual RAM chip is? On the GII calculators it is 512k.
Simon told me once you can check this via the FA-124 communication protocol and the Prizm's 3-pin port still has to support most of this.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2011, 08:00:46 am by cfxm »

Offline JosJuice

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1344
  • Rating: +66/-14
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #42 on: January 21, 2011, 11:20:10 am »
Do you guys already have a clue on how large the actual RAM chip is? On the GII calculators it is 512k.
Simon told me once you can check this via the FA-124 communication protocol and the Prizm's 3-pin port still has to support most of this.
We don't know anything about RAM other than that there's 61 KB user RAM.

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #43 on: January 21, 2011, 11:25:21 am »
What if drawing home screen text just involved changing a tiny portion of the screen memory, though? Could that be faster?

Actually, it wouldn't be faster. The reason drawing to the homescreen seems faster is because the OS handles all of the messy text location, but in actuality drawing to the homescreen means that you still have to change the same bits in the LCD RAM to get the same image.
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline z80man

  • Casio Traitor
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 977
  • Rating: +85/-3
    • View Profile
Re: PRIZM Disassembler
« Reply #44 on: January 21, 2011, 03:21:33 pm »
If you've used the picture plot app and maually flip through through one of the animation pictures, the screen updates quite quickly.

List of stuff I need to do before September:
1. Finish the Emulator of the Casio Prizm (in active development)
2. Finish the the SH3 asm IDE/assembler/linker program (in active development)
3. Create a partial Java virtual machine  for the Prizm (not started)
4. Create Axe for the Prizm with an Axe legacy mode (in planning phase)
5. Develop a large set of C and asm libraries for the Prizm (some progress)
6. Create an emulator of the 83+ for the Prizm (not started)
7. Create a well polished game that showcases the ability of the Casio Prizm (not started)