Author Topic: Castle Storm II  (Read 37341 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Castle Storm II
« on: January 18, 2010, 12:27:42 pm »
So, surprisingly, in addition to the continued work on Serenity, I have found myself unexpectedly working on a new Game!  I actualy stumbled upon the concept/implementation quite by accident, but it sure has grown!  The game is going to be a sequel to my early Java game Castle Storm, which can be found in the Greenfoot Gallery here http://greenfootgallery.org/scenarios/360.  While the original Castle Storm was a RayCaster much in the same style as Doom and Wolfenstein, this new engine is brand new, and frankly, I'm very excited about it!

It uses a combination of Rasterization and RayTracing to get much better looking floor textures, as well as allowing a true UP/DOWN direction in the maps.  Worlds can now have tiles with different height, which allows for things like multiple levels, staircases, and even moving platforms.  The game also utilizes some new Mouse Look code like in a traditional FPS, but unfortunately this only works if you download the game and play it on Greenfoot. (You would need to install greenfoot first, although I will see If i can attatch a JAR file soon).  The game will work in the applet, but you have to use the arrow keys.

The game can be found here:
http://greenfootgallery.org/scenarios/1233

And here is a screenshot for the heck of it:


And I will see about getting that Jar file up...
EDIT: Ok I attached the Jar file, now you can play it without downloading Greenfoot!

Use WASD to move around, C to crouch, and Space to jump.  Mouse is used to Look around.
NOTE: If using the Jar file, you will need to calibrate the mouse in the beginning.  To do this, click in the center of the window, and then drag your mouse to the top left corner of your Computer Screen, not just the window.  Let go of your mouse, and it should snap back to the center of the window.  Press ESC to stop the simulation and free your mouse again, or press the right mouse button.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2010, 03:05:09 pm by Builderboy »

Offline Hot_Dog

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3005
  • Rating: +445/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2010, 01:17:43 pm »
SWEET!

Offline Galandros

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1140
  • Rating: +42/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2010, 03:27:45 pm »
Disappointed. I though it was a good castle defence game for TI-BASIC.
I have to do one myself...

I like the black lines around the objects. Will you keep it on all stuff around?
Hobbing in calculator projects.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2010, 03:40:53 pm »
Lol, nope, not a castle defense, more like Doom style FPS action!

Most likely the black lines will stay, there even might be more of them on corners and edges if i can get the code working.  I also need to implement sprite display so that there can be enemies.  The occlusion is killing me x.x

The good news is that I am planning for some epic weapons that just were not possible in the original Castle storm.  Think, explosives >:D

Offline Galandros

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1140
  • Rating: +42/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2010, 03:56:06 pm »
Lol, nope, not a castle defense, more like Doom style FPS action!

Most likely the black lines will stay, there even might be more of them on corners and edges if i can get the code working.  I also need to implement sprite display so that there can be enemies.  The occlusion is killing me x.x

The good news is that I am planning for some epic weapons that just were not possible in the original Castle storm.  Think, explosives >:D
I like explosives, too. Reminds me Worms. ^^

I am kind of obsessed with castle defence, stand ground in front of hordes of enemies, retreat until the final meter (making every centimetre count) and then fight until the end. I love when that happens. In a ~1000 units map in a game, I survived once with just 15 hurt swordsmen left.
Pushing the enemy to a trap and see it fleeing and all the chaos around is also nice.

I really need an epic defence game made by myself. *sigh*
Hobbing in calculator projects.

Offline simplethinker

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 695
  • Rating: +16/-5
  • snjwffl
    • View Profile
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2010, 04:18:40 pm »
Very nice Builderboy!  Is this your own 3D engine?
"We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true." -- Professor Robert Silensky



Chip's Challenge: ħ%

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2010, 04:26:33 pm »
Yep, I wrote everything from scratch, using only a polygon filler and a large 20x20  matrix.

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2010, 05:31:17 pm »
Very nice!  I can't wait to see what more you do. :)

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2010, 06:56:05 pm »
Oh that looks really cool. It'll definitely be a winner if there are explosives... reminds me of playing Goldeneye back it the day. =D

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55931
  • Rating: +3153/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2010, 11:16:06 pm »
Disappointed. I though it was a good castle defence game for TI-BASIC.
I have to do one myself...
Well it was not posted in "Calc projects" so...

And awesome Builderboy! I am glad you're making a sequel of the game ^^. I assume yoU,re gonna release it here when done? I think you might want to include the first in the 2nd game zip file when done, though, so ppl can play the first from here too.

I kinda liked the first, altough the only problem was that I sometimes got stuck into walls so it was a bit hard to move :(

Do you think there will be a way to be able to play with mouse without having to use Greenfoot?
« Last Edit: January 18, 2010, 11:23:09 pm by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2010, 11:30:49 pm »
Yeah, If you download the Jar file you should be able to play it just like an exe.  I am doing a lot of experimentation with the robot class though, so just let me know if anything goes funky with the mouse.

The movement and physics are a lot better than the original, so you shouldn't have any wall problems here :)

I will try to get Castle Storm I up on the downloads section as soon as we get our other computer up and running again.  (The original was made before i got my laptop)

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2010, 11:33:44 pm »
My first thought was that it might've been a calc project too. The latest forum activity box doesn't show where the topic is posted. XD I'd have to agree that it would be nice to have both games included in the finished zip.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2010, 11:40:12 pm »
Yeah, I'll upload Castle Storm 1 soon, and then when Castle Story II is finished, I'll put them together maybe :)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55931
  • Rating: +3153/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2010, 11:43:50 pm »
Yeah, If you download the Jar file you should be able to play it just like an exe.  I am doing a lot of experimentation with the robot class though, so just let me know if anything goes funky with the mouse.
Oh that's why I was asking, because mouse actually does nothing at all in jar format. clicking run does nothing at all either. It asked me to drag the mouse from center to top-left and nothing happened either after I released the mouse. Basically I had to play it from the Greenfoot website. Also, you may want to add a guide in the center for mouse calibration, because it is pretty hard to figure out at which pixel the center is exactly. It might be a good idea in the future to not force people to have to calibrate the mouse either.

The latest forum activity box doesn't show where the topic is posted.

I depends which box, though. The one on main page is like on the old board, it doesn't show the forum in which it was posted since it would make it too large, but the one on board index does.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2010, 11:45:05 pm by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Castle Storm II
« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2010, 11:53:59 pm »
It doesn't work?  Hmmm.  You actually only need to click inside the window for calibration to work, it doesn't need to be in the center.  Also calibration is 100% necessary to get the mouse control to work, there is no way around it unfortunately. :(

Were you clicking in the center of the window, or in the center of the screen?

The game should start automaticaly, so you shouldn't need to press start.  Does the button say start or pause?