Author Topic: Duke Nukem Mod for Doom  (Read 3502 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline njaddison

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
  • Rating: +24/-27
    • View Profile
Duke Nukem Mod for Doom
« on: August 19, 2012, 08:14:57 pm »
Hi guys, I am creating a duke nukem 3d mod for doom which uses 3D enemies and weapons.

The mod is for skulltag, GZDoom, and the Doomsday Engine. I am using 3D models from the polymer high-res pack for duke nukem 3D.

I have come across a number of errors while making the mod.

One is the weapons are drawn to the top of the screen. The other is that the textures are all out of whack, and in distorted and twisted positions. How can I solve this? I have a screenshot below.

As you can see, the pistol is at the top of the screen instead of at the bottom, where it should be.
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_nt2.php">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/badge/nt2/5f42ec78e054645d.png" alt="NerdTests.com says I'm a Highly Dorky Nerd God.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get geeky images and jokes, and talk to others on the nerd forum!">
</a>


Offline flyingfisch

  • I'm 1337 now!
  • Members
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1620
  • Rating: +94/-17
  • Testing, testing, 1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8..9
    • View Profile
    • Top Page Website Design
Re: Duke Nukem Mod for Doom
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2012, 08:45:28 pm »
I wonder if it will work with CGDoom...



Quote from: my dad
"welcome to the world of computers, where everything seems to be based on random number generators"



The Game V. 2.0

Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1950
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: Duke Nukem Mod for Doom
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2012, 09:45:47 pm »
Cool! Is this for nspire?
This used to contain a signature.

Offline ruler501

  • Meep
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2475
  • Rating: +66/-9
  • Crazy Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Duke Nukem Mod for Doom
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2012, 09:48:41 pm »
Cool! Is this for nspire?
Its in computer projects and its using high quality stuff so it might be able to run on nspire when done but it might be too high quality or have some other incompatibiliy
I currently don't do much, but I am a developer for a game you should totally try out called AssaultCube Reloaded download here https://assaultcuber.codeplex.com/
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GCM/CS/M/S d- s++: a---- C++ UL++ P+ L++ E---- W++ N o? K- w-- o? !M V?
PS+ PE+ Y+ PGP++ t 5? X R tv-- b+++ DI+ D+ G++ e- h! !r y

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: Duke Nukem Mod for Doom
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2012, 08:15:49 am »
Cool! Is this for nspire?
Its in computer projects and its using high quality stuff so it might be able to run on nspire when done but it might be too high quality or have some other incompatibiliy

As you mention skulltag, GZDoom and the Doomsday, I doubt it can be run on nDoom.

nDoom 3 does currently support:
- WAD files designed to be compatible with the original Doom engine (1.9/1.10)
- partially WAD files designed to be compatible with the original Heretic engine (1.3)
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline ben_g

  • Hey cool I can set a custom title now :)
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • Asm noob
    • View Profile
    • Our programmer's team: GameCommandoSquad
Re: Duke Nukem Mod for Doom
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2012, 11:58:02 am »
If the arms aren't annimated, it's best to render them as an imagfe and display them on the HUD. And keep in mind that in most 3D engines a coordinate of 0 along the vertical axis represents the bottom of the screen, while in most 2D engines it represents the top.

EDIT: an other fix would be to open the model of the arms in a model editor (for example Blender), and move it down.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2012, 12:01:23 pm by ben_g »
My projects
 - The Lost Survivors (Unreal Engine) ACTIVE [GameCommandoSquad main project]
 - Oxo, with single-calc multiplayer and AI (axe) RELEASED (screenshot) (topic)
 - An android version of oxo (java)  ACTIVE
 - A 3D collision detection library (axe) RELEASED! (topic)(screenshot)(more recent screenshot)(screenshot of it being used in a tilemapper)
Spoiler For inactive:
- A first person shooter with a polygon-based 3d engine. (z80, will probably be recoded in axe using GLib) ON HOLD (screenshot)
 - A java MORPG. (pc) DEEP COMA(read more)(screenshot)
 - a minecraft game in axe DEAD (source code available)
 - a 3D racing game (axe) ON HOLD (outdated screenshot of asm version)

This signature was last updated on 20/04/2015 and may be outdated

Offline njaddison

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
  • Rating: +24/-27
    • View Profile
Re: Duke Nukem Mod for Doom
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2012, 12:52:30 pm »
Cool! Is this for nspire?

The nspire does not have hardware acceleration or opengl rendering, so the mod will not work. Also, the mod is a .pk3 file, and nDoom does not support .pk3 files.

I know it's just a thought, but I wish that someday the nspire could support 3D graphics. But that's off topic.

By the way, does blender support .md3 files? The models I am using are .md3 files.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2012, 12:56:26 pm by njaddison »
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_nt2.php">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/badge/nt2/5f42ec78e054645d.png" alt="NerdTests.com says I'm a Highly Dorky Nerd God.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get geeky images and jokes, and talk to others on the nerd forum!">
</a>


Offline njaddison

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
  • Rating: +24/-27
    • View Profile
Re: Duke Nukem Mod for Doom
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2012, 12:52:31 pm »
Cool! Is this for nspire?

The nspire does not have hardware acceleration or opengl rendering, so the mod will not work. Also, the mod is a .pk3 file, and nDoom does not support .pk3 files.

I know it's just a thought, but I wish that someday the nspire could support 3D graphics. But that's off topic.
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_nt2.php">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/badge/nt2/5f42ec78e054645d.png" alt="NerdTests.com says I'm a Highly Dorky Nerd God.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get geeky images and jokes, and talk to others on the nerd forum!">
</a>


Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55847
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Duke Nukem Mod for Doom
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2012, 01:23:43 pm »
I fear this would not even get close to running on a Nspire anyway, due to the high amount of 3D. However this seems promising for compuiters. How hard is it to mod Doom? Doesn't it require a lot of programming knowledge (such as several years)?

By the way I like how the textures are hi-res.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2012, 01:24:12 pm by DJ_O »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline ben_g

  • Hey cool I can set a custom title now :)
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • Asm noob
    • View Profile
    • Our programmer's team: GameCommandoSquad
Re: Duke Nukem Mod for Doom
« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2012, 01:30:46 pm »
By the way, does blender support .md3 files? The models I am using are .md3 files.
not by default, but you should be able to find a python script for that.
My projects
 - The Lost Survivors (Unreal Engine) ACTIVE [GameCommandoSquad main project]
 - Oxo, with single-calc multiplayer and AI (axe) RELEASED (screenshot) (topic)
 - An android version of oxo (java)  ACTIVE
 - A 3D collision detection library (axe) RELEASED! (topic)(screenshot)(more recent screenshot)(screenshot of it being used in a tilemapper)
Spoiler For inactive:
- A first person shooter with a polygon-based 3d engine. (z80, will probably be recoded in axe using GLib) ON HOLD (screenshot)
 - A java MORPG. (pc) DEEP COMA(read more)(screenshot)
 - a minecraft game in axe DEAD (source code available)
 - a 3D racing game (axe) ON HOLD (outdated screenshot of asm version)

This signature was last updated on 20/04/2015 and may be outdated