Author Topic: Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix  (Read 5959 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JustCause

  • Project Author
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +115/-5
    • View Profile
Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix
« on: October 31, 2011, 09:47:47 am »
Will update this post later with downloads, screenshots and info.

Okay, everyone, so I know this project's been dormant for a long time. College apps and stuff have been preventing me from making any real progress on anything, and my calc projects were the first to get put on the back burner.

But last weekend, for one glorious day, I had absolutely nothing to do. I was completely free.

So, naturally, I set out to debug the monstrosity that is Cubes.

After about five hours, this happened.

Scrolling Fix + External Level Loading + Level Editing


And then this happened.

Level Creation


And then this happened.

Multi-Level Creation/Loading


I'm still working out the details of app signing, so I don't have a download yet available. Look at the pretty screenshots instead. ^^;

The actual details of the numerous glitches can mostly be traced back to sync problems. For instance, the scrolling glitch was caused by the tile-drawing subroutine, DT, using different values for the map offset than the rest of the scrolling routines. Specifically, those values never got updated at all, meaning that it wasn't properly redrawing the map.

I also had a rather embarrassing program hang that got caused, weirdly enough, by the grayscale calibration. The delay value got reset to zero somewhere in the level opening process, causing a Pause 0 to be executed and the program to stall forever. Good thing I caught that. ^^;

Basically, from this point forward, it's all UI tweaks. The editor needs some serious polishing, I'd like a way to add levels on-the-fly instead of specifying them within the set, and it goes without saying that the menu is just awful. Regardless, this is a major step forward for me and for Cubes, and I'm happy to be working on this project again!
« Last Edit: October 31, 2011, 01:43:11 pm by JustCause »
See you, space cowboy...

Offline JustCause

  • Project Author
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +115/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2011, 01:43:23 pm »
Bump for screenies and info!
« Last Edit: October 31, 2011, 01:43:29 pm by JustCause »
See you, space cowboy...

Offline ben_g

  • Hey cool I can set a custom title now :)
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • Asm noob
    • View Profile
    • Our programmer's team: GameCommandoSquad
Re: Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2011, 02:59:06 pm »
looks great.

Will the levels be harder than in build1? Those levels were a bit too easy.
My projects
 - The Lost Survivors (Unreal Engine) ACTIVE [GameCommandoSquad main project]
 - Oxo, with single-calc multiplayer and AI (axe) RELEASED (screenshot) (topic)
 - An android version of oxo (java)  ACTIVE
 - A 3D collision detection library (axe) RELEASED! (topic)(screenshot)(more recent screenshot)(screenshot of it being used in a tilemapper)
Spoiler For inactive:
- A first person shooter with a polygon-based 3d engine. (z80, will probably be recoded in axe using GLib) ON HOLD (screenshot)
 - A java MORPG. (pc) DEEP COMA(read more)(screenshot)
 - a minecraft game in axe DEAD (source code available)
 - a 3D racing game (axe) ON HOLD (outdated screenshot of asm version)

This signature was last updated on 20/04/2015 and may be outdated

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3913
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2011, 03:20:09 pm »
Nice. BTW, is this axe? (I always assume that :|)
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline JustCause

  • Project Author
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +115/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2011, 04:03:04 pm »
looks great.

Will the levels be harder than in build1? Those levels were a bit too easy.
A lot of people disagree with you. :P Regardless, with the new capabilities of the engine (100 teleporters and arbitrary level size) I'll be sure to create some truly mind-breaking levels. Just for you. :)

Nice. BTW, is this axe? (I always assume that :|)
Yup. I'm not good enough to do this in ASM and definitely not good enough to do this in BASIC. :P
See you, space cowboy...

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55838
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2011, 04:32:07 pm »
Wow awesome to see this is progressing again. I can't wait for trying it. Also keep the original levels too if possible, it might help making the difficulty curve not too abrupt like games such as Donut Quest, for example. :P
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2011, 06:00:25 pm »
Wow awesome to see this is progressing again. I can't wait for trying it. Also keep the original levels too if possible, it might help making the difficulty curve not too abrupt like games such as Donut Quest, for example. :P
That game was hard O.o (After escaping prison one)
Sig wipe!

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3913
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2011, 09:47:33 am »
looks great.

Will the levels be harder than in build1? Those levels were a bit too easy.
A lot of people disagree with you. :P Regardless, with the new capabilities of the engine (100 teleporters and arbitrary level size) I'll be sure to create some truly mind-breaking levels. Just for you. :)

Nice. BTW, is this axe? (I always assume that :|)
Yup. I'm not good enough to do this in ASM and definitely not good enough to do this in BASIC. :P
Lol basic + this speed ??? HH
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55838
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Re: Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix
« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2013, 04:53:51 am »
wat

Bot or posting in wrong thread? ??????
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2013, 04:57:40 am »
Bot I think.

Online DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55838
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Re: Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix
« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2013, 11:27:20 am »
That would make it a strange bot for sure, giving help on a computer thing that is off-topic, but still not advertise weird website links... unless M$ would have started to use forum spam softwares? :P
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Build 3 Preview: Editor + Scrolling Fix
« Reply #11 on: June 22, 2013, 04:06:52 pm »
unless M$ would have started to use forum spam softwares? :P
Sure thing. :P