Author Topic: [Q]Boot2 Flashing  (Read 4614 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kevkid

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
[Q]Boot2 Flashing
« on: March 19, 2012, 12:46:24 am »
Just a question (Don't know if this is a dumb question), What If I were to flash a CAS boot2 to my non-CAS? Would that allow me to install a CAS OS? Or will the boot1 say it isn't valid and break my system. Also Was wondering if someone could clear up the issue we are having with cracking the RSA key. What is the RSA key used for?

Thanks,

--Kevin

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: [Q]Boot2 Flashing
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 12:51:35 am »
The RSA key is used for encryption to make sure the right OS is sent to your calc, at the moment, the RSA keys bundled with the Nspires are uncrackable. Well they are, but it will take a ridiculous amount of time cracking them with the current technology (read several years, even millenia).

For the boot2, someone recently released a tool to flash boot2 without the use of RS232, but the CAS check is prolly in the boot1 (which is not flashable), not sure.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2898
  • Rating: +467/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: [Q]Boot2 Flashing
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2012, 10:29:47 am »
The boot2 is the same on both non-CAS and CAS models. It checks the hardware type directly and selects which RSA key to use.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline kevkid

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Q]Boot2 Flashing
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2012, 11:48:50 pm »
Since there has been recent news about flashing boot2's and changing prototype to retail, is there any way to downgrade the nspire from 3.1 to a 2.x?

Kevin Lopez

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55872
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [Q]Boot2 Flashing
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2012, 12:42:53 am »
Why would you want to go back to 2.x series, though? With Ndless 3.1 around, 2.x is pretty much obsolete now (unless you absolutely need an old Ndless software that is not compatible with Ndless 3.1?)

By the way welcome to the forums :) (I forgot if I welcomed you yet or not)
« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 12:43:26 am by DJ_O »

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: [Q]Boot2 Flashing
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2012, 12:28:58 pm »
Since there has been recent news about flashing boot2's and changing prototype to retail, is there any way to downgrade the nspire from 3.1 to a 2.x?

Kevin Lopez

Not easily for now, as no Ndless 3.1 Boot2 flashing and downgrade programs have been released for classic Nspire up to now.


The only way for now is my old trick with the external RS232 adapter...
« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 12:29:14 pm by critor »
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline kevkid

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Q]Boot2 Flashing
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2012, 07:03:33 pm »
oh cool, I asked because there is a nspire CX boot2 downgrader; and I know that the cx comes preloaded with the 3.xx firmware. But thats still ok, I will just have to go and build the rs232 adapter. Hope some day a bootflasher for the original nspire is released. Just one more question. If I were to get it downgraded to a 2.xx would I be able to do a safe upgrade where I can easily downgrade if need be? I heard about tnoc; but I wasn't sure if it would be a good solution for this.

Kevin Lopez

Offline sumarth

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Q]Boot2 Flashing
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2012, 08:17:31 pm »
Not easily for now, as no Ndless 3.1 Boot2 flashing and downgrade programs have been released for classic Nspire up to now.
In the article about the bootflasher that works with Ndless, it says:
For now, you can only use it on ClickPad/TouchPad Nspire with OS 1.7 or 2.0.1 (Ndless 2.0).
An update will be needed for Ndless 3.1 and CX calculators, but the hard part of the work is done

Will there be an update to the Ndless 2 boot flashing program for the classic Nspire on OS 3.1? I really need to have a way to downgrade my classic Nspire to OS 2.

Thank you,
sumarth