Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => General Calculator Help => Topic started by: TonicTwelve on August 15, 2011, 07:35:39 pm

Title: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: TonicTwelve on August 15, 2011, 07:35:39 pm
Is it in any way possible? My first thought was simply to download the latest CAS operating system and update my calc with it, haven't tried as of yet as my computer cable has gone missingfor the moment, however I seriously doubt it's that easy otherwise everyone would be doing it. I have 2 ti-spire CAS clickpads, both of their screens got damaged, they flicker and one of the screens has gone blue. However if I hold them in the sunlight and squint I can just see the screen and they appear to be working fine, the screen just can't be read. So any way any of these calcs can be fixed so I have a working Ti-nspire CAS? Thanks in advance for any help!
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: XVicarious on August 15, 2011, 07:36:17 pm
There is a library somewhere called "mcas". Let me just find it for you.

EDIT: the page is in french, but here you are, http://ti.bank.free.fr/index.php?mod=archives&ac=voir&id=1884
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: fb39ca4 on August 15, 2011, 07:43:30 pm
Unfortunately, you can't install the CAS OS on a regular calc, but mcas is a good solution. Installing the CAS OS will be a possibility when we figure out how to make our own bootloader for the calc, though.
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: Levak on August 15, 2011, 07:50:22 pm
OSLauncher ftw :
http://ti.bank.free.fr/index.php?mod=archives&ac=voir&id=3544



To sum up : launch the CAS OS directly in RAM without installing it (Needs Ndless)
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: fb39ca4 on August 15, 2011, 10:10:24 pm
It got released? How did I not hear about that. There must not be a whole lot of free space left on it, though.
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: Levak on August 15, 2011, 10:11:35 pm
It got released? How did I not hear about that. There must not be a whole lot of free space left on it, though.

Yes it has been released.
If I have good mind, the OS takes 5MB
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: fb39ca4 on August 15, 2011, 10:26:07 pm
How does the OS take only 5mb???
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: Levak on August 15, 2011, 10:28:38 pm
How does the OS take only 5mb???

10MB unzipped, 5MB zipped
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: fb39ca4 on August 15, 2011, 10:29:02 pm
Ah, that's nice.
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: TonicTwelve on August 16, 2011, 05:34:26 am
Thanks for the fast replies everyone. Have downloaded the OSlauncher kit and I'm already stuck on the first step. It asks me to install an older OS in order to be able to run Ndless, have downloaded and attempted to install the appropriate OS, however at the end it tells me that you cannot install an older OS. According to the tutorial this should only happen if you have a boot2 code version above 2, however mine is 1.4.1571.. Am I missing something glaringly obvious? Thank you!
Edit: In fact, having checked again the handheld status, I am in fact running 2.0.0.1.1188 version of the OS.. so installing 2.0.1.6 is in fact not a downgrade. ???
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: Lionel Debroux on August 16, 2011, 06:43:30 am
2.0.1188 is indeed not supported by Ndless, because it was soon replaced with 2.0.1.60.
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: TonicTwelve on August 16, 2011, 07:37:01 am
Awesome thanks, fixed the problem and got it to accept 2.0.1.6 and have now installed and run Ndless and the OSlauncher. Waiting for the OS to load, keeping fingers crossed mine is not one of the 1 in 20 that it doesn't work on. Thank you!
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: Lionel Debroux on August 16, 2011, 07:41:24 am
The OS should load quickly (< 15 seconds). If it hangs, remove the batteries and retry, until it works (on my calculator, it fails maybe 19 out of 20 times...).

Be sure to either disable hibernation, or use your calculator often enough, if you don't want the Nspire reverting to non-CAS state quickly ;)
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: TonicTwelve on August 16, 2011, 09:13:35 am
Awesome.. Yeah I waited 10 minutes, nothing happened. Reset, took batteries out, wait 10 minutes still nothing. Reread the tutorial and then tried disconnectingthe keypad as it was loading and then reconnecting it. So far, this has worked quickly for me 100% of the time for me with the very irritating side effect of the touchpad not working at all so having to do everything via keyboard shortcuts. However I'll keep trying without disconnecting the keypad and hope it works.

Edit: I kept resetting it and trying again and it eventually did the right thing! Problem solved! Thanks to everyone for their advice!
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: fb39ca4 on August 16, 2011, 12:27:23 pm
Just curious, how does OSLauncher work? Does it overwrite the copy of the original OS that is in RAM? Or does it put both OSes in ram alongside each other?
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: Adriweb on August 16, 2011, 12:38:03 pm
Ithink it overwrites it, so when you reboot, the normal OS is there.
Title: Re: Adding CAS to Ti-nspire Touchpad?
Post by: Lionel Debroux on August 16, 2011, 02:05:57 pm
Yes, OSLauncher overwrites the original OS in RAM. The core functionality of OSLauncher boils down to five C statements, one of which may be superfluous:
Code: [Select]
   *((uint32_t *)0xDC00000C) = 0xFFFFFFFF;
    __builtin_memcpy((void *)0x10000000, dest, ziphdr.usize);
    __builtin_memcpy((void *)0x00000000, (void *)0x10000000, 0x40);
    *((uint32_t *)0xC000001C) &= ~((1 << 0) | (1 << 11));
    asm volatile(
    ".arm \n"
    "mov lr, pc\n"
    "ldr pc, =0x10000000\n"
    );