Author Topic: # and ! programs?  (Read 7446 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline C0deH4cker

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 258
  • Rating: +11/-1
    • View Profile
    • iNinjas Forum/Repo
# and ! programs?
« on: November 22, 2011, 12:30:09 am »
Just out of curiosity, what are the programs # and ! for on the TI-84? I tried googling, but since you cant search for those characters...

Offline ralphdspam

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 841
  • Rating: +38/-1
  • My name is actually Matt.
    • View Profile
Re: # and ! programs?
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2011, 12:40:44 am »
I've had the same question.  While parsing through the VAT, I've seen some weird stuff.
ld a, 0
ld a, a

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4676
  • Rating: +718/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: # and ! programs?
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2011, 12:46:56 am »
# is used to contain whatever you are trying to execute from the homescreen. This means anything you run from the homescreen is executed as a type of program.

! I am not sure about but I believe it is what contains the entries list. (not sure)

EDIT: Hopefully, I didn't mix them up XD

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: # and ! programs?
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2011, 04:25:35 pm »
Yep., # contains whatever is on the homescreen as a program file and ! is the last thing you ran. Or vice-versa.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline Iambian

  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 739
  • Rating: +216/-3
  • Cherry Flavoured Nommer of Fishies
    • View Profile
Re: # and ! programs?
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2011, 05:20:57 pm »
Just don't delete or rename those files. It is possible to do both, but you'll end up crashing your calc the moment it goes back to the homescreen. The TI-OS expects those "programs" to be there.

Okay, you *can* delete them if you need the extra space, but they've got to be there once you exit back out to the homescreen.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2011, 05:21:33 pm by Iambian »
A Cherry-Flavored Iambian draws near... what do you do? ...

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4676
  • Rating: +718/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: # and ! programs?
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2011, 05:21:45 pm »
Even if they *are* just empty when you go back >.>

Offline C0deH4cker

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 258
  • Rating: +11/-1
    • View Profile
    • iNinjas Forum/Repo
Re: # and ! programs?
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2011, 01:34:00 pm »
if homescreen cmds are run as a program in the form of #, then why cant you use, for example, While and For( ?

Offline Netham45

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2103
  • Rating: +213/-4
  • *explodes*
    • View Profile
Re: # and ! programs?
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2011, 09:36:14 am »
There is a flag that controls rather it's executing at the homescreen or in a program. You can run a bit of ASM to change this flag to allow things like unarchive or such in pure basic programs, but it breaks things like for or while.
Omnimaga Admin

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4676
  • Rating: +718/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: # and ! programs?
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2011, 03:37:26 pm »
I actually had to manipulate that flag a bit to make this Axe routine to run BASIC programs. When you toggle this flag, it will allow you to run program commands from the homescreen, but you can only use in programs whatever you could normally use on the homescreen. So for example, Output( would not work in a program!

Crazy stuff...

Neat idea, though: This means to run prgm# properly, you would need to toggle that flag and then toggle back when finished O.O

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55882
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: # and ! programs?
« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2011, 04:10:49 pm »
I remember back in the days they showed up in MirageOS (Version 1.1 or lower. 1.2 fixed that glitch) when you put a : prefix before an home screen line. ! was the stuff you had currently entered on the current line while # was the last entry.

In any case, NEVER archive any of those! This will mess up your archive and you'll have to use Deep Thought's tutorial about how to fix a calc when RAM clear freezes the calc or turns it OFF, or use this http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/443/44349.html . Hiding them also causes lock ups or crashes (although mainly a RAM clear).

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: # and ! programs?
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2011, 09:55:26 pm »
Yep., # contains whatever is on the homescreen as a program file and ! is the last thing you ran. Or vice-versa.
Pretty sure they're reversed. In any case, I personally find prgm# really useful -- Axe spriters and other code generators I write generally put output in prgm#, so I can go in any program and do 2nd+[RCL], and it's all there, newlines and all :D
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 09:55:35 pm by Deep Thought »