Author Topic: Axe on TI-Nspire (built-in) 84 emu?  (Read 3448 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheNlightenedOne

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 427
  • Rating: +16/-1
    • View Profile
Axe on TI-Nspire (built-in) 84 emu?
« on: May 13, 2013, 03:18:22 pm »
When I try to compile a program with Axe 1.2.1 on the Nspire 84 emu, it gives me a messed up break screen, I have to replace batteries, and it reboots twice. Can I fix this?
"Eris" (Ndless 3.1)
"Keto" (Ndless 3.1)
"Luna" (AMS 3.10, HW4)
"Aurora" (2.55MP)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55897
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe on TI-Nspire (built-in) 84 emu?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2013, 03:19:43 pm »
You would have to ask Runer112. Quigibo intended to keep Axe Nspire compatible before but I am unsure if Runer112 continued that route.

Offline Runer112

  • Moderator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Axe on TI-Nspire (built-in) 84 emu?
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2013, 03:23:17 pm »
Chances are the emulator doesn't properly emulate the flash unlock or some other fancy stuff Axe needs. TI's 84+ emulator for the Nspire isn't very good.

You would have to ask Runer112. Quigibo intended to keep Axe Nspire compatible before but I am unsure if Runer112 continued that route.

The compiled programs themselves are compatible. But with how complicated the compiling process has become, I'm not sure that compatibility can be retained for the application itself. But I'll keep it in mind.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2013, 03:24:05 pm by Runer112 »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55897
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe on TI-Nspire (built-in) 84 emu?
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2013, 03:25:21 pm »
Do you use any undocumented instructions? Because the emulator doesn't support any of those. I don't even know if it supports crystal timers either.

Offline Runer112

  • Moderator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Axe on TI-Nspire (built-in) 84 emu?
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2013, 03:27:34 pm »
Axe uses neither of those. My money's on the flash unlock as the issue. And there isn't really any way around a hacky flash unlock as far as I can tell; the OS tries to stop you from unlocking flash, so you have to abuse things.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2013, 03:28:06 pm by Runer112 »

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Axe on TI-Nspire (built-in) 84 emu?
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2013, 03:52:09 pm »
Wait, flash unlock is needed only for App compiling right ?

Offline Runer112

  • Moderator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Axe on TI-Nspire (built-in) 84 emu?
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2013, 03:53:38 pm »
No, it's always needed. Axe uses the swap sector to store data while compiling.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2013, 03:53:47 pm by Runer112 »

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Axe on TI-Nspire (built-in) 84 emu?
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2013, 03:55:29 pm »
Oh, can't you use extra RAM pages on compatible models ? I guess that"d also be faster.

Offline Runer112

  • Moderator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Axe on TI-Nspire (built-in) 84 emu?
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2013, 04:02:41 pm »
I assume the swap sector was originally used to retain compatibility with 83+ and 48KB RAM 84+ calculators. It's possible that the extra RAM, if available, could be used instead of the swap sector. But coding that capability would consume code space that I don't really have to give right now to address this relatively niche compatibility problem. I'll keep it in mind down the road, though.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2013, 07:21:09 pm by Runer112 »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55897
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe on TI-Nspire (built-in) 84 emu?
« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2013, 07:20:15 pm »
From what I remember, the TI-Nspire 84+ emu emulates the extra RAM pages.