Author Topic: Force TilEm to send to archive ?  (Read 5616 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Force TilEm to send to archive ?
« on: August 05, 2014, 10:47:28 am »
So I have two >10KB files I'd like to send to the emulator. The problem is that the sum of their sizes is over the amount of RAM. Obviously, I can and have to send them to archive. But how can I do that in command line with tilem ? For now I do "tilem2 file" and I don't see where I decide where I want my file to go.
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Force TilEm to send to archive ?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2014, 07:52:33 pm »
If they're separate files, you should be able to send them individually, then archive them in turn. ie Send, Archive, Send, Archive. I don't think the CLI interface has send-to-archive as a feature, unfortunately.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Force TilEm to send to archive ?
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2014, 07:59:32 pm »
Tilem has link cable emulation for Tilp and other libti* based tools like titools. The latter supports sending to archive.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Force TilEm to send to archive ?
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2014, 02:28:20 am »
If they're separate files, you should be able to send them individually, then archive them in turn. ie Send, Archive, Send, Archive. I don't think the CLI interface has send-to-archive as a feature, unfortunately.
Yeah, but thats not the goal. In fact, I have a script that edits both Axe source files in vim, then tok8xes them, then sends them to TilEm (who says "error memory") then opens a macro in TilEm to automatically compile the source into an executable, all of that before I even have time to reach the "Preferences menu" to set Tilem's speed back to normal.
If I send both files one by one, it completely kills the speed.

Tilem has link cable emulation for Tilp and other libti* based tools like titools. The latter supports sending to archive.
Ok, but why does Tilem receive in Archive on my netbook but not on my other computer ? Some people told me that even the old version of TiLP I installed on the "problematic computer" supports sending to Archive.
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline ben_g

  • Hey cool I can set a custom title now :)
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • Asm noob
    • View Profile
    • Our programmer's team: GameCommandoSquad
Re: Force TilEm to send to archive ?
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2014, 10:41:04 am »
iirc weather files should be sent to the archive or to RAM is stored in the .8xp files themselves. You may be able to change that flag on the software you use to pack the files in the 8xp format (assuming you regenerate those files ofthen).
My projects
 - The Lost Survivors (Unreal Engine) ACTIVE [GameCommandoSquad main project]
 - Oxo, with single-calc multiplayer and AI (axe) RELEASED (screenshot) (topic)
 - An android version of oxo (java)  ACTIVE
 - A 3D collision detection library (axe) RELEASED! (topic)(screenshot)(more recent screenshot)(screenshot of it being used in a tilemapper)
Spoiler For inactive:
- A first person shooter with a polygon-based 3d engine. (z80, will probably be recoded in axe using GLib) ON HOLD (screenshot)
 - A java MORPG. (pc) DEEP COMA(read more)(screenshot)
 - a minecraft game in axe DEAD (source code available)
 - a 3D racing game (axe) ON HOLD (outdated screenshot of asm version)

This signature was last updated on 20/04/2015 and may be outdated

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Force TilEm to send to archive ?
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2014, 11:19:38 am »
I know that, and this flag is activated since I use tok8x -a. I know that flag works because using tok8x -a then sending to TilEm indeed sends to archive, while not using the -a option sends to RAM... but that's on my netbook, not on my main PC (plus, I can't do it with appvars since I don't generate them with tok8x). So I think I am really looking for a way to force when sending, not a workaround that could send to archive.
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Force TilEm to send to archive ?
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2014, 06:47:36 am »
So I killed Ubuntu 13.04, installed Lubuntu 14.04 instead (among other things :P) and now sending to archive using the flag mentionned by ben_g works.

However, I still think that forcing to send to archive would be a great feature when we can't modify that byte as easily as with tok8x (for example when we want to send an appvar and not a program).
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Force TilEm to send to archive ?
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2014, 08:29:08 am »
How about you make the change and submit a patch then. :P

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Force TilEm to send to archive ?
« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2014, 09:55:42 am »
Do you really think I am able to read/modify other people's code ? -.-
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Force TilEm to send to archive ?
« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2014, 12:22:19 pm »
YEah i remember that the archive flag was stored inside the program before, which caused problems with emulators such as PindurTI, which didn't accept any file that had the flag ON. On the other hand, I hated when emulators forced groups to be ungrouped as they are sent or sent things to RAM no matter what, because it made certain games particularly hard, if not impossible to install.