Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => General Calculator Help => Topic started by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 07:19:27 pm

Title: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 07:19:27 pm
My calculator is no longer letting me modify or store to Strings in programs. Even the simple command:

Code: [Select]
Input "",Str0
is yielding "Err: Undefined". This is true for the "sub(" command and the "equ->string(" and "string->equ(" commands. This is even if I predefine the string. And it's EVERY string.

Editing and defining of strings outside of the program is fully functional.

What is going on????
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 08, 2010, 07:22:14 pm
Weird, what were you doing recently?
Try a RAM reset as well, and check your memory menu and see if they exist.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 07:24:38 pm
Only working with Axe stuff recently.
RAM reset: same error.
Memory Menu: no strings in memory
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 08, 2010, 07:25:53 pm
Odd...
Check to see if CalcSys thinks they are there.
Also, pre-define a string and see if it shows up, too.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 07:27:13 pm
Yes, a predefined String shows up.

Resetting DEFAULT had no effect-still error.
Calc Sys pending

Where am I heading in CalcSys?
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 08, 2010, 07:33:02 pm
In CalcSys, go to More>VAT>1 and look up the string (I think.  No calc atm)
Then, look for your string and post with the hex/characters.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 07:34:08 pm
Str0: FD10
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 08, 2010, 07:35:11 pm
Anything else?  Post with the whole page of hex, please, along with the string it should be and the characters displayed below each byte.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 08, 2010, 07:35:47 pm
strange, I never heard of this error before. It must be a bad ASM prog that was ran before that. I would try maybe backing up your stuff too if you have the chance, in case (nvm if you got CalcUtil and do stuff from archive)
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 07:38:18 pm
1. FD2B:F
2. FD22:E
3. FD19:C
4. FD10:Str0
5. FD07:M
6. Next
7. Back

Is this what u need? It's under the "Symbol VAT".
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 08, 2010, 07:39:29 pm
Press "4"
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 07:40:07 pm
Lets do this on the chat.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 08, 2010, 07:40:50 pm
I'll post the solution once we are done.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 08, 2010, 07:41:29 pm
Ah!  OmnomIRC bot is down.  Netsplit.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 08, 2010, 07:45:50 pm
Mhmm that last post was totally offtopic and it was even a double-post x.x

Wait nvm the post was on the topic of doing it in the chat x.x my bad

Still double post tho :P
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 08:02:07 pm
9ECC: 02         00        50         50
         u            .          P          P
9ED0: 00         00        08         00
         .             .    (deriv sign)   .
9FD4: 5F          50        4F         4B
         _            P         O          K
9ED8: 45          4D       4F         4E
          E           M         O          N
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: Juju on April 08, 2010, 10:15:47 pm
So your program is named prgmNOMEKOP?
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 10:29:30 pm
So your program is named prgmNOMEKOP?

lol. no.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 10:32:10 pm
To SirCrpwn when u get this: I get Err: Could not Initialize USB device when i attempt to dump the ROM with TILP MAC. Also, my calc refuses to accept the replacement OS. It says Err: Please turn calc off. Then turn back on (or something like that) when its done, the 2.40 is still there. I sent a support ticket to TI-cares and even they were boggled by this.

But my calc still accepts non OS data. So, if we can get a hold of Mapar007's source perhaps we can write a counterpatch? Would that work?
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 08, 2010, 11:01:39 pm
Possibly.  Brandon Wilson could do it.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 11:13:28 pm
Well, lets hope that he is willing to. I kind of need string using ability.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: Builderboy on April 08, 2010, 11:19:35 pm
I'm just going to throw this out here, did you try garbage collecting?  Sometimes that fixes RAM-clear independent bugs for me.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 11:25:00 pm
Garbage Collect

Running...Running...Running...Error! Press any key to turn calc off. Then turn back on.

Go figure.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: _player1537 on April 08, 2010, 11:33:30 pm
umm, was this program written specifically for the NSpire?
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: Juju on April 08, 2010, 11:36:45 pm
Hm, backup all your programs and try to remove all the batteries and/or try the Test Mode cheat code.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 08, 2010, 11:36:51 pm
No, for the TI-84+ SE v2.43

I ran it on a TI-84+ SE v2.40
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 09, 2010, 12:02:40 am
Hey, Brandon W. Maybe the reason I can't install a new OS is because I screwed my certificate. What you describe in your readme for the unbricking "Overflow" file is exactly what is happening to me. Any ideas.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 09, 2010, 12:13:55 am
^ouch.
I'm sorry.  There is a decent chance you are holding a paperweight.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 09, 2010, 12:15:12 am
^ouch.
I'm sorry.  There is a decent chance you are holding a paperweight.

What does that mean?
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: _player1537 on April 09, 2010, 12:16:00 am
it means it won't work anymore no matter what you do
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 09, 2010, 12:16:09 am
Meaning that your calculator will only be good for holding down papers on your desk
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: meishe91 on April 09, 2010, 12:16:57 am
Usually if something happens to the certificate there isn't much you can do to fix it.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 09, 2010, 12:18:13 am
The certificate is very touchy.
I wish you good luck.
Messing up the certificate can destroy your calculator.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 09, 2010, 12:21:59 am
The certificate is very touchy.
I wish you good luck.
Messing up the certificate can destroy your calculator.

Well, I know that Brandon's thing can fix it. I just need him to edit and compile code.z80 for me, as I have not yet found a working compiler for mac.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: meishe91 on April 09, 2010, 12:28:46 am
Well even BrandonW has his limits I'm sure, though I haven't seen what you're talking about.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 09, 2010, 12:29:40 am
Well, I know that Brandon's thing can fix it. I just need him to edit and compile code.z80 for me, as I have not yet found a working compiler for mac.

I can compile it, link?
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 09, 2010, 12:32:15 am
http://brandonw.net/calcstuff/overflow.zip
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 09, 2010, 12:33:22 am
as a program?
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 09, 2010, 12:35:12 am
that file contains two .8xp files.
The one called code.z80 is the one that needs to be editted, then compiled into code.8xp.

its all in the readme
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 09, 2010, 12:38:00 am
Looking at the readme, you are probably better off with Brandon's help.  He doesn't frequent omni, look him up on IRC.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 09, 2010, 12:40:25 am
Specifically #ti and #cemetech

I hope nothing bad happened to your calc, tho, like parts of the OS certificate being erased due to a bad program x.x (supposedly very slim chances to happen, but it can happen)
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 09, 2010, 12:41:07 am
Will_W. That him?
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 09, 2010, 12:41:26 am
No, BrandonW.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: Silver Shadow on April 09, 2010, 02:50:31 am
Ouch. I hope you manage to fix this.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 09, 2010, 08:19:01 am
Ok. This is fail. Just did the mode+alpha+s self test. Here's what happens.

After initial screen:

Scrn 1:  START?


Scrn 2:  24539


Scrn 3:  0


Scrn 4:  ROM FAIL



Then, Ram clears.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 09, 2010, 08:32:25 am
Oooo, ouch.
I remember reading about what actually happens when you do a self test, and ROM FAIL only occurs with an invalid certificate.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 09, 2010, 09:20:46 am
Ugh the results seems to be due to a broken ROM or something. I'm not an expert on the thing, though. BrandonW would probably be able to help. If I am lucky tonight, maybe #ti people will be there. I should probably try to hop in there if I am in a OK mood to IRC then, and ask BrandonW if ACagliano is not on at the same time. I'll try pointing him to this topic. Unless I forget x.x
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 09, 2010, 09:38:48 am
Thanks everyone. I think I learned my lesson about OS patches.


Hey: Maybe if BrandonW and TI can come to agreements, maybe they can make Brandon's remote certificate patch a part of a later OS. U know, like it adds something to the link menu that says "Repair Certificate".

Please connect calcs and ensure they are a similar or compatible OS...

Please wait...

Reinstalling certificate of damaged calc...

Sending copy of host OS to damaged calc...

Done.


That would be really cool. But, it would mean TI would have to support software development.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: mapar007 on April 09, 2010, 09:53:08 am

But my calc still accepts non OS data. So, if we can get a hold of Mapar007's source perhaps we can write a counterpatch? Would that work?

Definitely impossible in practice. You can only reset bits in flash. Else you must clear an entire sector, and back it up somehow, etc etc.

So you were running OS 2.40 and you somehow managed to install my patch? Shouldn't be possible, it's supposed to check. Where did you get the download?


(and about ROM fail: that only occurs when anything is modified on page 7X in OS space (excluding E and F), the certificate is checked in the ID test. PTTErase modifies page 77, so that's normal. I also get ROM fails every time I selftest because of all the patches installed on my calc :D )
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 09, 2010, 10:04:42 am
I'm not sure where I got it, but here's the file
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: mapar007 on April 09, 2010, 10:10:57 am
Seems this is the broken, older version of PTTErase, which works ONLY on 2.43. I thought I updated that thing everywhere.

I was naive enough to think it would work on every version of the os, but Brandon told me it wouldn't, so I included a check in the next version. Really sorry for the trouble, man. :( Did it work out?


 
Spoiler For Spoiler:
If you update to 2.43, you'll be fine ;)

EDIT: if you manage to update the OS, everything will be reset to its usual status.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 09, 2010, 10:14:33 am
It's ok. I still have asm programming ability, so for now, it's just a minor inconvenience. At the moment, I cannot upgrade to 2.43 because I am pretty sure my certificate was impacted, though I don't know how bad. Everything BrandonW says happened to him during OS transfers has happened to me. So, I need to wait for him to get back to me. For now, I'll just use Axe, cuz that seems not to be affected.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 09, 2010, 04:06:29 pm
Ouch now I see what could have caused the problem x.x we need to be careful with OS patches to make sure we have the right version to update, else I assume it can cause very bad stuff.

I hope your calc will manage to work fine anyway for most stuff and not cause too much trouble in maths if you use it a lot in class. Axe should be fine because it is compiled in ASM.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 10, 2010, 10:44:45 am
Got a rom dump of my patched OS. Anyone who wants a look at it, for troubleshooting purposes (so I don't get a cease and desist) let me know.

#################################

Case closed. BrandonW and I were talking and I did something that crashed the calc completely. Then, I used the OS Restore function of TI-Connect X and it succeeded. String functions have been completely restored.

*No more patches for me. Sorry Mapar, unless you can do one for OS 2.40.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 10, 2010, 11:36:45 am
Glad you got it fixed!
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 10, 2010, 01:26:08 pm
Glad you got it fixed! Could you state what in particular did crash the calc? Is it patching PTT on a wrong OS version or is it something like a bad ASM program?
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: mapar007 on April 10, 2010, 01:28:12 pm
Probably the former.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 10, 2010, 01:32:39 pm
At least I am glad the problem did not hit the certificate or something. When it's the case things turns ugly when it comes to sending another OS. IN early 2002 I had to get a new 83+SE in exchange of another at Staples cuz I grouped archived programs together (the SE had an issue with archived files showing up in group menu, which was fixed in later OSes) and it broke the calc. I couldn't even send a new OS anymore
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: mapar007 on April 10, 2010, 01:34:04 pm
I'm pretty sure even a bad patch wouldn't corrupt the certificate. (I'm not  that stupid, guys :) )

And a 2.40 patch should be doable if I get a ROM.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 10, 2010, 01:42:38 pm
Oh lol I wasn't saying you were :P but I didn't know if such crash could randomly happen with some bad ASM programs. BrandonW told me that the grouping archived program bug should normally not cause this either, but that in some very rare cases, if it hits a bad calculator memory area, things turned ugly. Even if just a little part of the certificate was erased/overwritten

Didn't BrandonW had a program to fix the certificate, though?
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: mapar007 on April 10, 2010, 01:45:10 pm
I don't know.  I haven't studied the boot code extensively. I think I've heard of such a program too, I should check.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: Builderboy on April 10, 2010, 01:53:31 pm
Yay!  Glad you got it all fixed :) Finally TiConnect manages to do something right for a change!
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 10, 2010, 11:35:40 pm
Here's the facts as Brandon and I saw.

1. The certificate was not damaged. It was some sort of a linking error, perhaps caused if mapar's patch had edited some OS linking protocol (but we did deduce it was on the part of the calc).

2. The actual moment at which it was resolved went something like this: I had tried to run the APP "UnivOS" to "force" install the OS. It started working. Then, at 65%, the calc crashed and would not turn back on. After a while, I finally got it to turn on by holding down ON and DEL together. Once the calc turned on, I released ON, but kept DEL pressed. The calc said "Waiting: Please install OS". Then I connected to TI-Connect X and TI-OS Restore picked it up. I transfered the clean OS to the calc, releasing DEL once the calc started saying "Installing Operating System". Then it validated properly, leading Brandon to conclude the certificate was fine.

3. Mapar, the facts are that your patch was responsible for me not being able to use Strings in a program. Though other damage MAY have been caused, it didn't touch the certificate and saying anything else would be speculation.


Brandon has a program called "Chameleon" which contains one program that backs the certificate up into an Appvar and another that restores it if the appvar is in memory. they are all on http://brandonw.net.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 10, 2010, 11:44:57 pm
Mhmm interesting to know if I ever get issues sending an OS or if someone has problems with his calc even after resending a clean OS in the future
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: mapar007 on April 11, 2010, 03:49:21 am
I've learned my lesson: check my resources before I upload a patch :P
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 11, 2010, 12:12:44 pm
Also, Brandon told me this and I'm relaying it to this forum.

A problem with the certificate would not prevent the OS from installing, it would stop it from validating. It would go all the way, up until it says "Validating: 100%", then an "Err: Validation" or something of that nature would be thrown. Usually, its an issue with battery level or linking. Plus, the software you use (ie. TI-Connect, TiLP, ect) and the link you use (both of which, mine are betas) will also affect it. Also, SirCrpwn, he said that your statement "ROM fail occurs with an invalid certificate" is incorrect. It's actually quite common if you tinker with hooks, OS patches, and heavy duty assembly.

The programs in Chameleon that you need are GETCERT.8xp and PUTCERT.8xp. Running GETCERT.8xp makes a copy of your calculator's certificate and places it in the AppVar CERTIMG, which you should then back up onto your computer. If you damage your calc's certificate, simply put CERTIMG into your calc's RAM and run PUTCERT.8xp and it will restore your certificate to the point of backup.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 11, 2010, 01:30:47 pm
wow nice program :O

Basically providing you do backups, then afterward if you brick your calc it's possible to un-brick it :D
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 11, 2010, 01:49:41 pm
Correct. Just make sure you back up the GOOD certificate, not the bricked one.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 11, 2010, 01:57:43 pm
I should back that up sometime...
Also, I could have sworn that ROM Fail occurs when you have an invalid cert (as well as those other things)
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 11, 2010, 03:29:14 pm
I should back that up sometime...
Also, I could have sworn that ROM Fail occurs when you have an invalid cert (as well as those other things)

Well, true, but what he's saying is don't assume its the certificate just because you get a ROM fail.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: SirCmpwn on April 11, 2010, 07:12:54 pm
Oh, my bad.
That is true.  I just tend to assume the worst :(
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 11, 2010, 08:01:43 pm
lol. me too
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: mapar007 on April 12, 2010, 03:36:30 am
Also, Brandon told me this and I'm relaying it to this forum.

Also, SirCrpwn, he said that your statement "ROM fail occurs with an invalid certificate" is incorrect. It's actually quite common if you tinker with hooks, OS patches, and heavy duty assembly.

Which is what I said a few posts back.


Glad you got it fixed and thanks for the dump, ACagliano.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 12, 2010, 11:17:37 am
SirCrpwn, can you please look again at the 2.43 OS you sent me. My calc won't take it, but it will take 2.40. Plus, the 2.43 file you sent me is 1/6 the size of the 2.40 file. Please double check.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 12, 2010, 01:40:17 pm
That's strange O.o, maybe his file got corrupted x.x. Else, an alternative place to download 2.43 is http://education.ti.com/educationportal/sites/ASIA/nonProductMulti/singapore_apps.html

Don't ask me why 2.43 is avaliable on Singapore page but not USA.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: calc84maniac on April 12, 2010, 02:53:36 pm
I actually found TI-Nspire Linking Software 1.3 still on education.ti.com :P

http://education.ti.com/educationportal/downloadcenter/SoftwareDetail.do?website=US&tabId=1&appId=6660 (http://education.ti.com/educationportal/downloadcenter/SoftwareDetail.do?website=US&tabId=1&appId=6660)

Edit: stupid omission
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: ACagliano on April 12, 2010, 03:40:21 pm
Thank you. That link worked.
Title: Re: Help. I'm pretty sure I screwed something up bad.
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 12, 2010, 10:37:12 pm
I actually found TI-Nspire Linking Software 1.3 still on education.ti.com :P

http://education.ti.com/educationportal/downloadcenter/SoftwareDetail.do?website=US&tabId=1&appId=6660 (http://education.ti.com/educationportal/downloadcenter/SoftwareDetail.do?website=US&tabId=1&appId=6660)

Edit: stupid omission
Wow I am surprised this is still up, considering OS 2.43 isn't even up anymore on the USA site. I am starting to wonder if they still don't have TI-Nspire OS 1.1 hidden somewhere...