Author Topic: Help with DummyOS and OSLauncher  (Read 4398 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sammyMaX

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Help with DummyOS and OSLauncher
« on: May 02, 2012, 05:39:56 pm »
I tried running DummyOS through OSLauncher and I either get a blank screen, which won't reboot until I pull out the touchpad, or what happens in the picture attached. It looks like there are two small versions of the screen and then random pixels at the bottom.

If I try to run OS 3.0.1 CAS, it always freezes at the clock screen, or just turns into a blank screen and never even gets to the clock.

This is on OS 3.1.0, BTW.
Spoiler For Spoiler:
Sorry for being inactive, I've been busy  :-\
« Last Edit: May 02, 2012, 05:42:36 pm by sammyMaX »

Are you wondering who Sammy is? My avatar is Sammy.
   

Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: Help with DummyOS and OSLauncher
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2012, 01:23:17 am »
Welcome to the huge unreliability of OSLauncher (for the purpose of launching TI's OS - it works for DummyOS)... if it ever worked for you without too much hassle, you were lucky ;)
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55913
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Help with DummyOS and OSLauncher
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2012, 03:57:19 am »
Doesn't it work like only 5% of the time? ???

Also it only works on that calc model and the Touchpad, right? Or maybe it was another program that didn't run on the CX.

Offline Jim Bauwens

  • Lua! Nspire! Linux!
  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +206/-7
  • Linux!
    • View Profile
    • nothing...
Re: Help with DummyOS and OSLauncher
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2012, 03:59:57 am »
It also depends how you launch the program, using the mouse or the enterkey. It has something to do with interrupts, but what exactly I do not now.

Offline Spacetime4.0

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help with DummyOS and OSLauncher
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2012, 10:18:25 am »
Yeh. For me os launcher works 100% of the time if I launch it by clicking on the file ( I have the clickpad nspire) . But if I launch it by pressing enter it freezes 100% of the time.

By the way I was not aware that oslauncher worked on os 3.x

Offline sammyMaX

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help with DummyOS and OSLauncher
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2012, 04:25:06 pm »
I tried launching both DummyOS and the CAS OS with the enter key and by clicking, and I can still never get either to work properly.

I also heard that launching DummyOS should be pretty reliable and easy? I can't get it to work. (The picture shows a failed DummyOS boot)

Are you wondering who Sammy is? My avatar is Sammy.
   

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55913
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Help with DummyOS and OSLauncher
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2012, 12:38:39 am »
Yeh. For me os launcher works 100% of the time if I launch it by clicking on the file ( I have the clickpad nspire) . But if I launch it by pressing enter it freezes 100% of the time.

By the way I was not aware that oslauncher worked on os 3.x
It only got released for OS 3.1 recently actually. Also IIRC it got updated recently to have an higher success rate.

Offline Spacetime4.0

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help with DummyOS and OSLauncher
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2012, 10:01:15 am »
Thanks for telling me DJ_O. Could you please give me the link to the thread. I'm interested in trying it out. I had been holding off on upgrading to os 3.x because I needed oslauncher, but I also sorely missed the lua programs available.

Offline sammyMaX

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help with DummyOS and OSLauncher
« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2012, 04:22:38 pm »
Yeah, DJ_O can you please give us a link of the updated version? I downloaded it from here, and I don't know if that's the new one.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2012, 04:23:14 pm by sammyMaX »

Are you wondering who Sammy is? My avatar is Sammy.
   

Offline compu

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 275
  • Rating: +63/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Help with DummyOS and OSLauncher
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2012, 05:46:42 pm »
That's the latest version, but if you need Oslauncher to be reliable, stay at OS 2.1. Oslauncher 3.1 has some improvements but requires more work to have a higher success rate.