Author Topic: How to program on a Ti-84 (NOT TI-BASIC!!!!!!!!!!!!)  (Read 12014 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: How to program on a Ti-84 (NOT TI-BASIC!!!!!!!!!!!!)
« Reply #15 on: April 04, 2011, 11:55:05 pm »
You came to the right site for Axe :P

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: How to program on a Ti-84 (NOT TI-BASIC!!!!!!!!!!!!)
« Reply #16 on: April 05, 2011, 12:00:49 am »
axe.omnimaga.org

There are many great Axe programmers that can help you here.  You can't find any where else with a larger Axe community. :D

If you want a faster interpreted language, you can try Batlib + Basic Recode.  (Why did Zeda not advertise this)

EDIT: Also, Ninja'd (again)
Meh, I don't like to advertise too much ♥ It was made clear to me long ago not to compete with the big guns :D But yeah, BatLib has 92 functions plus another really fast interpreted programming language called ReCode. THe advantage to using ReCode is that:
1) It is a lot faster than BASIC
2) It is typically a lot smaller than assembly/axe
3) It has graphics stuff !
4) It can run inside BASIC programs
5) It can run assembly code

The disadvantages are:
1) I haven't added much in the past few weeks
2) Math is kind of lacking
3) There is almost no error handling, so you have to be sure not to make mistakes

So here is a link http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?board=151.0

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: How to program on a Ti-84 (NOT TI-BASIC!!!!!!!!!!!!)
« Reply #17 on: April 05, 2011, 12:07:15 am »
If you're interested in learning Axe, you should probably start off by downloading the latest version: http://ourl.ca/40600.
As of today, you want version 0.5.1

After you download the .zip file and put the app into your calculator, I recommend that you read the documentation and the list of commands.


One of the things you'll learn is that Axe, in exchange for it's huge increase in speed and power over TI-Basic, comes with a few limitations and dangers.  One of the more dangerous things is that an incorrectly written Axe program will often cause a RAM clear.  It's fairly common to have to pull the batteries on your calc while debugging your program.

For that reason, keep your programs in archive, and turn backup mode on in Axe.  Currently, I have Doors CS 7 on my calculator, because it lets me run my programs even when they're archived, which is very useful.  (Located here: http://www.cemetech.net/projects/item.php?id=32)

The other limitation that Axe has is that it cannot do decimals, but that isn't going to be a problem.  Games don't really need them, anyways, and there are workarounds available.


If you have questions, check this subforum: http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?board=162.0.
Stickied at the top of the page, you can find a list of tutorials, and if you have a question that isn't answered there, or you need more information, feel free to start a thread.

After you think you have a pretty neat game, share it in this subforum: http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?board=5.0.  Even if it's just a demo, feel free to post it as long as it doesn't crash your calc and is reasonably interesting.  You can often get constructive feedback on your program this way.
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: How to program on a Ti-84 (NOT TI-BASIC!!!!!!!!!!!!)
« Reply #18 on: April 05, 2011, 12:08:19 am »
It can do decimals through Float, but don't use it unless you have to, it slows things down.

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: How to program on a Ti-84 (NOT TI-BASIC!!!!!!!!!!!!)
« Reply #19 on: April 05, 2011, 12:11:45 am »
Right, I always forget about the existence of float
x.X
« Last Edit: April 05, 2011, 12:20:38 am by Michael_Lee »
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: How to program on a Ti-84 (NOT TI-BASIC!!!!!!!!!!!!)
« Reply #20 on: April 05, 2011, 12:17:29 am »
On a side note I just realized this was in the wrong forum section, so I moved it.