• Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS 5 2
Currently:  

Author Topic: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS  (Read 186055 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #45 on: November 11, 2013, 02:06:11 pm »
* Streetwalker is seriously considering flaming the next reading disabled who asks this question

Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #46 on: November 11, 2013, 02:08:32 pm »
You can do that on other places, but not on Omnimaga ;)
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #47 on: November 11, 2013, 02:10:05 pm »
Yeah, it's just annoying that they post here without even trying to read the thread. They come and ask without even trying to do research on their own. This is not how you do CS.

Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1953
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #48 on: November 11, 2013, 02:14:47 pm »
I have been seeing this more then ever, maybe if we post a news article people will listen?
Or, they will just go down to the comments and ask, should I post without reading the article?
This used to contain a signature.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #49 on: November 11, 2013, 02:16:42 pm »
Even if they read the news article they would still ask "Any progress ?"
« Last Edit: November 11, 2013, 02:17:02 pm by Hayleia »
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline leooowww

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 2
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #50 on: November 11, 2013, 02:38:21 pm »
I have to donwgrade the calculator to install? Is that possible?

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #51 on: November 11, 2013, 02:50:19 pm »
Before judging if reading the thread was viable, I checked how long it was, but seeing that it's not several pages long, I agree that before asking questions, it would be best to read the topic.

Anyway, if your calculator hardware revision is A to I (see the last letter at the end of the serial number on the back), you can use a RS232/TTL interface on Ebay to downgrade, but if your letter is J or K, you're screwed.


Offline Levak

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +208/-39
    • View Profile
    • My website
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #52 on: November 11, 2013, 03:00:39 pm »
You need to check 3 things :
  • The manufacturing model (last letter of the timestamp). If > I, Throw it by the window.
  • The boot2. If > 3.1.x you have to downgrade it using a TTL/RS232 adaptator and a telnet unit.
  • The OS. If >= 3.2.4 you can still install nLaunch, but its prefered to downgrade anyway.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2013, 03:01:20 pm by Levak »
I do not get mad at people, I just want them to learn the way I learnt.
My website - TI-Planet - iNspired-Lua

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #53 on: November 11, 2013, 03:02:08 pm »
Wait, I thought you needed 3.1 as the installed OS to run nLaunch? O.O (like with Ndless)


Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1953
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #54 on: November 11, 2013, 03:06:12 pm »
I think there was a news article about it:

http://ourl.ca/19948 might be it

EDIT: I think it was something else, finding the link
« Last Edit: November 11, 2013, 03:07:24 pm by annoyingcalc »
This used to contain a signature.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #55 on: November 11, 2013, 03:11:53 pm »
Nlaunch depends on boot2 3.1, not OS. ;)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #56 on: November 11, 2013, 03:39:32 pm »
Oh ok, I don't follow Nspire stuff as much anymore due to what TI has been doing, so I always thought that to run OS 3.6 with nLaunch, you needed 3.1 installed first, then launch 3.6 using nLaunch from there.


Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #57 on: November 11, 2013, 05:07:46 pm »
@DJ_O: You can install Nlaunch on OS-less TI-Nspire.
The only thing you need is a working Boot2 3.1.
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #58 on: November 11, 2013, 10:34:18 pm »
Ah that's cool to hear. :)

I wish that Ndless could use the same exploit, so that it could run on OS 3.6 as easily as nLaunch can, without needing OS 3.1 anywhere.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2013, 10:34:34 pm by DJ Omnimaga »


Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: Installing CAS on TI-Nspire CX Non-CAS
« Reply #59 on: November 12, 2013, 01:29:06 am »
The third generation of Ndless (Ndless 3.1 targeting OS 3.1) and  nLaunch / nLaunch CX / nLaunchy (targeting boot2 1.4 on Clickpad/Touchpad like DowngradeFix and boot2 3.10.16 on CX) exploit the same vulnerability, but Clickpad/Touchpad boot2 3.1.131 and OS 3.2.0.1212 to 3.6.0.546 are not vulnerable to that hole.
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.