Author Topic: Large programs  (Read 6066 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Large programs
« on: March 24, 2010, 12:21:18 pm »
What happens if you make a program with more than 65,535 bytes?  I ask because the program definition in user memory has two bytes for size, which leads me to the concusion that FFFF is the maximum size.

Offline Raylin

  • Godslayer
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1392
  • Rating: +83/-25
  • I am a certifiable squirrel ninja.
    • View Profile
    • Ray M. Perry
Re: Large programs
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2010, 02:13:44 pm »
...Reality breaks? >:D
Bug me about my book.

Sarah: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Cassie: TI-86 [OS 1.XX]
Elizabeth: TI-81 [OS 1.XX]
Jehuty: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Tesla: CASIO Prizm







Offline xlibman

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55807
  • Rating: +3148/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Large programs
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2010, 03:17:30 pm »
Wouldn't the next data past 65536 overflows elsewhere in the memory, causing potential issues?
In case you are wondering where I went, I am still active in the TI community, but I left Omni back in 2015 for various  reasons. I might come back one day, depending of certain circumstances, but my new online home (despite me being Omnimaga founder in 2001) is now CodeWalrus ( https://codewalr.us ). Sorry for the inconveniences.

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Large programs
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2010, 03:52:34 pm »
Thanks for the help, Prophets and jsj!
It would probably overflow to 0000 again, DJ, but that wouldn't be accurate, either.

Offline calc84maniac

  • Epic z80 roflpwner
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2887
  • Rating: +463/-17
    • View Profile
Re: Large programs
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2010, 04:05:25 pm »
It would probably have to be slightly smaller, so the VAT entry and such could fit in archive.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Large programs
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2010, 04:06:38 pm »
I don't follow you, could you elaborate?

Offline calc84maniac

  • Epic z80 roflpwner
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2887
  • Rating: +463/-17
    • View Profile
Re: Large programs
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2010, 09:42:16 pm »
Each sector of archive is 64KB, and programs cannot overflow from one sector to another. So, a couple of bytes are used at the beginning of the sector for OS purposes, then a number of bytes would be stored for the backup program name and such, then the rest would be available for program data.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline xlibman

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55807
  • Rating: +3148/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Large programs
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2010, 10:55:42 pm »
I thought they were 16? I guess I confused sectors with pages x.x
In case you are wondering where I went, I am still active in the TI community, but I left Omni back in 2015 for various  reasons. I might come back one day, depending of certain circumstances, but my new online home (despite me being Omnimaga founder in 2001) is now CodeWalrus ( https://codewalr.us ). Sorry for the inconveniences.

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5731
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: Large programs
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2010, 12:56:22 am »
I tried editing the filesize once w/ a hex editor to FFFF and my calc acted randomly when I checked the memory, like the filesize is missing and/or the RAM clears...

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline xlibman

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55807
  • Rating: +3148/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Large programs
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2010, 01:01:50 am »
Another thing: When you go in MEM menu, if a program/file is larger than 65535, doesn't it cause ERR:MEMORY then the size missing you're talking about?
In case you are wondering where I went, I am still active in the TI community, but I left Omni back in 2015 for various  reasons. I might come back one day, depending of certain circumstances, but my new online home (despite me being Omnimaga founder in 2001) is now CodeWalrus ( https://codewalr.us ). Sorry for the inconveniences.

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5731
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: Large programs
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2010, 01:09:49 am »
I don't remember exactly... I have to reproduce some of my favorite glitches I discovered while hacking my calculator, then post it on the forums.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline xlibman

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55807
  • Rating: +3148/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Large programs
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2010, 01:15:19 am »
Ok. Make sure to not post the ones involving ASM in the alerady existing thread, though, (the OS glitches thread i mean)
In case you are wondering where I went, I am still active in the TI community, but I left Omni back in 2015 for various  reasons. I might come back one day, depending of certain circumstances, but my new online home (despite me being Omnimaga founder in 2001) is now CodeWalrus ( https://codewalr.us ). Sorry for the inconveniences.

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)

Offline calc84maniac

  • Epic z80 roflpwner
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2887
  • Rating: +463/-17
    • View Profile
Re: Large programs
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2010, 01:26:19 pm »
I actually got a Bad Address error today, when trying to unarchive Sam Heald's Mario, of all things. It gave a large memory leak, too. I had to manually create a new program, copy the data to it, and delete the old one. Calcsys is awesome that way :P
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Large programs
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2010, 01:27:16 pm »
Calcsys rules for that kind of stuff.  Its like sudo for your calculator.

Offline xlibman

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55807
  • Rating: +3148/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Large programs
« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2010, 05:42:46 pm »
Calc84 I had this happen on some of my games before without even running ASM. It's annoying when you doNt know how to use Calcsys well or don't have it handy x.x, cuz you can lose lot of progress
In case you are wondering where I went, I am still active in the TI community, but I left Omni back in 2015 for various  reasons. I might come back one day, depending of certain circumstances, but my new online home (despite me being Omnimaga founder in 2001) is now CodeWalrus ( https://codewalr.us ). Sorry for the inconveniences.

Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter
Retired Omnimaga admin (2001-11) and editor (2012-14)