Author Topic: memory failure 84+  (Read 4366 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Nick

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1166
  • Rating: +161/-3
  • You just got omnom'd
    • View Profile
    • Nick Steen
memory failure 84+
« on: December 29, 2011, 07:25:22 pm »
hi

i'm already having some troubles with my calc for quite a while, i don't know how, but these are the screen i get. I've already resent the os, and put in new batteries
it doesn't work to send files anymore, it gives "device doesn't recognize instruction".
I had a program TST, which you can see in the screenie, that was archived. Then i removed the "u" variable beneath it, got a RAM clear, and the content of the archived TST program was gone, although the program itself still existed.. all apps from archive are running normal



these are the programs on the calc:
basic: counter, tst
other: axe, swords

thanks in advance
Nick
« Last Edit: December 29, 2011, 07:28:13 pm by Nick »

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2011, 07:26:46 pm »
Do you have DCS7 in your calc?
Sig wipe!

Offline Nick

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1166
  • Rating: +161/-3
  • You just got omnom'd
    • View Profile
    • Nick Steen
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2011, 07:27:41 pm »
nope, only:
basic progs: counter, tst
other: axe, swords

Offline Darl181

  • Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2011, 07:45:54 pm »
Hm this looks like what I've gotten multiple times..
That u var (one of the Y= vars), iirc, is created and written to if you try to modify something that comes after L1 and/or overflow L1.  I'm guessing you tried to store something to the wrong part of the RAM :P
Not advised, but if you changed the mode of the calc from Func to Seq and pressed Y=, you'd see the var being written before a likely RAM clear.

Generally I've been able to get past the problem by archiving everything not archived (except for the u var) and clear ram.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2011, 07:49:43 pm by Darl181 »

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2011, 08:57:22 pm »
That u var (one of the Y= vars), iirc, is created and written to if you try to modify something that comes after L1 and/or overflow L1.
Nope.  u is one of the three variables the calculator uses during Sequential mode, like the Y0-Y9 variables it uses during Function mode.  These three variables (u, v, and w) have nothing to do with lists.

Generally I've been able to get past the problem by archiving everything not archived (except for the u var) and clear ram.
This is what I'd suggest as well.

Offline Darl181

  • Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2011, 09:03:55 pm »
That u var (one of the Y= vars), iirc, is created and written to if you try to modify something that comes after L1 and/or overflow L1.
Nope.  u is one of the three variables the calculator uses during Sequential mode, like the Y0-Y9 variables it uses during Function mode.  These three variables (u, v, and w) have nothing to do with lists.
I was meaning L1 like how axe uses it as a pointer, so I'm guessing that if you write >714 bytes after saveSScreen it creates this (within a range anyway)?

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2011, 09:35:15 pm »
That u var (one of the Y= vars), iirc, is created and written to if you try to modify something that comes after L1 and/or overflow L1.
Nope.  u is one of the three variables the calculator uses during Sequential mode, like the Y0-Y9 variables it uses during Function mode.  These three variables (u, v, and w) have nothing to do with lists.
I was meaning L1 like how axe uses it as a pointer, so I'm guessing that if you write >714 bytes after saveSScreen it creates this (within a range anyway)?
Ah, okay.  I looked at it from a Basic perspective, not an Axe one.  Sorry about that.

Offline parserp

  • Hero Extraordinaire
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1455
  • Rating: +88/-7
  • The King Has Returned
    • View Profile
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2011, 11:30:31 pm »
O.O this happened to me twice
I don't know what caused it, but it hasn't happened since then. :)
ticalc.org | Cemetech | TI-Freakware | casiocalc.org

Spoiler For inactive:
Serving an LDS (Mormon) mission from Dec 2014 - Dec 2016

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2011, 11:48:06 pm »
Axe syntax bugs can cause....interesting.....results. :P

Offline Nick

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1166
  • Rating: +161/-3
  • You just got omnom'd
    • View Profile
    • Nick Steen
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #9 on: December 30, 2011, 04:02:18 am »
it still is strange, but check the memory, not one byte is free. And when i archive a 12 byte prog, it has still 2 bytes left ???
an di'm able to send from calc to calc, but not from pc to calc (exccept for the os, that works..)
« Last Edit: December 30, 2011, 04:02:51 am by Nick »

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2011, 08:45:00 am »
Do you use the command that moves the variable allocation position in axe? Putting that in the wrong place could easily cause what darl pointed out.

Offline Darl181

  • Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2011, 03:14:39 pm »
Well this happened to me a truckload of times while I was trying to make Tio have levelsets, it either overflowed the appvar I made or "L1" (Axe) and it would happen something like 8 times a day :P

...I'm guessing there's multiple ways to cause it?
« Last Edit: December 30, 2011, 03:15:46 pm by Darl181 »

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #12 on: December 31, 2011, 07:15:41 pm »
Well, the VAT is a funny beast. I'm sure that it wouldn't be terribly difficult to corrupt.

Offline Nick

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1166
  • Rating: +161/-3
  • You just got omnom'd
    • View Profile
    • Nick Steen
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2012, 04:01:21 am »
well, i do no program in axe myself, so it must have something to do with the program that are in it then?
now he's totally screwed up, but i can still communicate with other calcs, but not with pc

it's really strange though

Offline Nick

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1166
  • Rating: +161/-3
  • You just got omnom'd
    • View Profile
    • Nick Steen
Re: memory failure 84+
« Reply #14 on: January 03, 2012, 05:15:57 pm »
yay, my first calc works again, i can send files from and to pc again, everything works normally again..
don't ask me what i did exactly, i cleared ram 20 times, memory 100 times, archive 50 times etc etc lol