Author Topic: TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03  (Read 5466 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Nitrix26

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 4
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03
« on: May 10, 2012, 01:05:20 pm »
Why when I run the Pokemon Red rom file through the makeapp.exe
and then try to send it to my TI-84 plus silver edition, it won't let
me because it says "Incompatible Type".  I thought this knew verson
of TI-Boy lets you play on any calculator model.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2012, 01:28:40 pm »
After you ran the Rom file through the makeapp, you must send the 8xk generated file to your calc, not the Rom one :P
« Last Edit: May 10, 2012, 01:30:38 pm by Hayleia »
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Nitrix26

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 4
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2012, 09:33:35 pm »
I tried to send the application the makeapp.exe made.  That was the one that TI-Connect said was the "Incompatible Type".  Have you tried it on one of the newer calcs?  Mine ends with an "M" but by the way it sounds, this TI-Boy should work on this, right?

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2897
  • Rating: +467/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2012, 09:52:22 pm »
Okay, I took a look at the app you sent me and it looks like it is still in binary form, not converted to an APP. This means that some error was encountered running Rabbitsign -- do any error messages come up during the conversion process?
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Nitrix26

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 4
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2012, 10:44:46 pm »
What I did is drag the Pokemon Red rom file and dropped it into the makeapp.exe.  Command Prompt came up and asked for an app title.  After I entered a title and hit enter, Command Prompt disappeared but left the pokemon app.  I did not run it through the rabbitsign because the readme in the TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03 folder only mentioned makeapp.exe.  Am I suppose to, once I'm done with makeapp.exe, take the app and drag-and-drop it in the rabbitsign?  No errors popped up in Command Prompt or anywhere.  The only thing that did happen was Norton Security eliminated makeapp.exe after it spit out the app.  Does this happen to have anything to do with it?

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2897
  • Rating: +467/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2012, 11:25:12 pm »
That could be it, actually, since I currently use the system() function to run rabbitsign, which Norton may have detected as a threat. Normally the program should pause before closing the window, but this means that Norton killed it first.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Mighty Moose

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 141
  • Rating: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2012, 11:28:40 pm »
I don't know if this has anything to do with it, but iirc a while ago many people were having problems transferring the apps generated by TI-Boy over USB (I think this problem still exists), but they seemed to work fine over a serial/parallel link cable (ie through the I/O port).

I for one know that I cannot get a large (as in Pokemon-sized) app to transfer correctly to my 84+SE over USB (it errors when it starts validating), and I have one with all the extra RAM.  However, if what calc84maniac says is true, this may be the source of the actual problem: the app itself is not getting converted into the proper form by Rabbitsign.

Or it could be just as simple as your antivirus :P.
Cheers!
I beta test, so...yeah.  PM me if you want me to test anything :D.

Almost only counts in horseshoes and handgrenades.

Cogito ergo sum.

Calcs:
TI-84+, OS 2.43, Boot Code 1.02, 128k RAM
TI-84+SE VSC, OS 2.43, Boot Code 1.00, 128k RAM  (I'm spoiled :P)
TI-81, OS 1.6K (only borrowed)
Casio fx-CG10 (Prizm), OS 01.04.0200
TI-Nspire Clickpad, OS 1.4
TI-Nspire Clickpad, OS 3.1.0.392
TI-Nspire CAS Clickpad, OS 1.6.10110 (!?) now OS 3.1.0.392

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2897
  • Rating: +467/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2012, 11:32:45 pm »
Well, with his problem, TI-Connect doesn't recognize the file at all (and rightly so, since it's a raw binary). I still don't know what the USB sending issue is, but it doesn't seem to affect most ROMs.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Mighty Moose

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 141
  • Rating: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2012, 11:35:13 pm »
Ah ok. Thanks for clarifying anyway.
Cheers!
I beta test, so...yeah.  PM me if you want me to test anything :D.

Almost only counts in horseshoes and handgrenades.

Cogito ergo sum.

Calcs:
TI-84+, OS 2.43, Boot Code 1.02, 128k RAM
TI-84+SE VSC, OS 2.43, Boot Code 1.00, 128k RAM  (I'm spoiled :P)
TI-81, OS 1.6K (only borrowed)
Casio fx-CG10 (Prizm), OS 01.04.0200
TI-Nspire Clickpad, OS 1.4
TI-Nspire Clickpad, OS 3.1.0.392
TI-Nspire CAS Clickpad, OS 1.6.10110 (!?) now OS 3.1.0.392

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03
« Reply #9 on: May 11, 2012, 12:08:58 am »
Blame TI for that one: I get the same thing with virtually any app signed with the "Free App Key"

Offline Nitrix26

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 4
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-Boy SE Beta 2.03
« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2012, 02:04:34 pm »
Thanks calc84maniac! That was the problem. Norton Security wouldn't let makeapp.exe finish its process. I just turned the Antivirus off for 15 minutes and then run makeapp.exe. Props go to you. The game works and feels just like the Gameboy game. Awesome Job!