Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => General Calculator Help => Topic started by: C3N on October 17, 2011, 12:38:07 pm

Title: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: C3N on October 17, 2011, 12:38:07 pm
Hello Forum,
I really need a timer for school on my TI-nspire.
I have ndless 2.1 on my calc.

The timer should be really easy.
Just for example: I click on that app. Then just click enter or ANY other Button to START/STOP.
The timer should have      minute:second:millisecond
                                             00:00:00

I cannot progamming the timer, because i cant program in C and don't have the time for it :/

SO i reallly need your help! Hope u guys can code as fast as you can code this for me....

Thank you, C3N
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: Jonius7 on October 17, 2011, 02:14:18 pm
I don't know anything about C, so I can't help you there. (well admittedly i know beginner C++)
anyway, there's no guarantee that the timer created will be accurate enough....
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: AngelFish on October 17, 2011, 03:02:05 pm
Just as a side note, would you both mind cutting down on the size of your sigs by putting the pictures in spoiler tags or something? They're very large in proportion to the size of your posts.
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: Jonius7 on October 17, 2011, 03:03:44 pm
Yeah I know its quite big,im aware of it. I have tried before to reduce it before with tables but obviously its not enough.
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 17, 2011, 03:10:32 pm
For a timer to be accurate, it would probably need to rely on the Nspire clock, right? Because if it relies on the processor, I think the speed can vary from a model to another (like for example a TI-84 Plus from 2004 will run slightly slower than one from 2008)
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: C3N on October 17, 2011, 03:41:42 pm
really i dont know how to do thhis... i doesnt have to be in C i just need a timer :)
wait i should look like this :  http://www.softsia.com/screenshots/XNote-Timer_syrn.png
 really i need the timer really fast :D
ty
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 17, 2011, 03:49:16 pm
I see. Well a moderator should probably move this topic in the C section then, since not many people will notice here if they only check programming help sections.

Note that almost the entire TI-Nspire C/ASM community died, though, since OS 3.0 is required in many places (such as USA schools) and cannot run Ndless, so it might take months before someone can answer. :(
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: lkj on October 18, 2011, 07:49:49 am
I could write a timer with only seconds, minutes and hours in less than half an hour, but I don't know yet how you could do the milliseconds.
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: Jim Bauwens on October 18, 2011, 09:06:16 am
usleep(milliseconds) should do the trick I think

Edit: but using usleep will not be accurate for a stopwatch, you should rely on some other builtin timer. With lua I can access milliseconds since reboot, so that should also be possible through C (although I don't know how).
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: C3N on October 18, 2011, 01:39:39 pm
@all GUYS  it would be really cool if u guys can  code the stopwatch ... now i dont really need the milli seconds anymore... but it would be really cool if the watch has got milliseconds... but HOURS:MINUTES:SECOND is really enough for me :D
btw u can code the watch in any language u want.. C was just an example :D
 My Calculator : TI-nspire CAS (2006 w/ OS 2.1+ndless)
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 18, 2011, 02:09:05 pm
Well if Lua supports clock access that could have worked, but then you would need to upgrade to OS 3.0.1 or something. (losing the ability to use Ndless)

Also how did you get a TI-Nspire CAS in 2006? Didn't it come out in 2007? ???
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: C3N on October 18, 2011, 03:21:16 pm
https://sites.google.com/site/tinspiregroup/classroom-news/welcome-abouttime
EPIC GOOGLE FOR 3MIN AND HI FOUND IT !
a stopwatch in lua for os 3.0.2 or highedr :D
Btw sry next time i google first ^^
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: C3N on October 18, 2011, 03:22:35 pm
My uncle works at TI and the calc was a gift :P
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: Jim Bauwens on October 18, 2011, 03:56:59 pm
Well, beware that if you upgrade to 3.02 you CANNOT use ndless. And be sure to use TNOC (found on Ti-Planet) if you want to downgrade later.

Btw, interesting website you linked :)
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: C3N on October 18, 2011, 04:01:51 pm
With TNOC i can downfgrade from OS 3.1.0.392 ?
When yes then my calc would be epic ^^
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: lkj on October 18, 2011, 04:14:50 pm
If anyone still wants it, I've coded a timer with start/stop/reset and hrs:min:sec for Ndless users.

Edit: fixed a little bug that when you reseted parts of the old time remained on the display
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 18, 2011, 11:51:02 pm
When you want to downgrade to OS 3.0.2, didn't you need to install OS 3.0.1 (TNOC'ed) first, then 3.0.2 (also TNOC'ed)? I forgot.

@Jimbauwen actually that's the site for teh Nspire Google Group where Nelson Sousa is around. I wonder if they are still against game development like in early 2010 or if it changed with Lua?
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: Jim Bauwens on October 19, 2011, 03:24:28 am
I'll give a quick overview how to downgrade from >3.0 os's:

3.01 - If you use TNOC, you will be able to downgrade by just installing an older OS
3.02, 3.1.0 : You need to use TNOC before you upgrade, but when you downgrade you will need to use downgradefix.

TNOC removes the boot2 from the upgrade file, so the system stays with the old boot2 and doesn't get the new protection.
downgradefix exploits a hole in the old boot2 (so this only works if you used TNOC) and trashes the OS. You will be able to install an older OS after this.

TNOC: http://tiplanet.org/forum/archives_voir.php?id=1922&play=
DowngradeFix: http://tiplanet.org/forum/archives_voir.php?id=3584&play=
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: lkj on October 19, 2011, 05:37:21 am
Does the "telecharger" button work for you? When I click it, a 404 not found error appears.

edit: only for the downgradefix, TNOC works
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: Jim Bauwens on October 19, 2011, 06:55:07 am
It doesn't work for me either. I can't seem to find a copy of it anywhere.
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: C3N on October 19, 2011, 11:14:32 am
is there a chance to downgrade from os 3.1 if i already installed os 3.1 without TNOC ? :/
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: C3N on October 19, 2011, 11:21:08 am
btw my friend showed me a shortcut to delete the OS on nspire .... it was RESET -> ON+ENTER+P+CLEAR -> then u get to a screen where it displays DELETE OS ...
can u guys tell me pls?

EDIT: i just found it : the shortcut was HOME+P+ENTER+ON
        Have someone the Downgradefix for the TI-nspire? :O
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: JosJuice on October 19, 2011, 11:32:41 am
is there a chance to downgrade from os 3.1 if i already installed os 3.1 without TNOC ? :/
It's either very hard (you'd need to connect using RS232 and do some other stuff) or impossible, sadly.
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: C3N on October 19, 2011, 01:06:43 pm
Is someone working on TNOC for 3.1?
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: JosJuice on October 19, 2011, 01:11:58 pm
Is someone working on TNOC for 3.1?
TNOC is already fully compatible with 3.1 as far as I know. However, it will not be able to downgrade after installing an OS, as that is not what it's supposed to do at all. Its initial purpose was to trim the size of the OS by deleting unnecessary files. This just happened to be useful for downgrading, but only if those files were removed before the OS was installed, because uninstalling them without using other programs is impossible. (Or maybe it's possible, but it bricks your calc? I forgot.)
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: Jim Bauwens on October 19, 2011, 02:03:30 pm
Ok, I contacted critor and he fixed the link for downgradefix.
Please note that it ONLY works if you used TNOC.

is there a chance to downgrade from os 3.1 if i already installed os 3.1 without TNOC ? :/
It's either very hard (you'd need to connect using RS232 and do some other stuff) or impossible, sadly.
You can do if through rs232 (Critor tested this IIRC)
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: C3N on October 19, 2011, 03:18:40 pm
I try to delete the os put the new 3.1 w/ tnoc on it and try with downgradefoxer ... maybe it gonna work :P, but i dont think so ^^
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 19, 2011, 03:34:10 pm
Well if you did not follow the downgrade warnings before installing OS 3.1, then you might be screwed. Sadly this happened to a lot of people because when someone buys a TI-Nspire he doesn't automatically visits TI-Planet to read about warnings of the sort. The only way migth definitively be a RS232 interface.
Title: Re: TIMER for TI-nspire HELP !!!
Post by: Jonius7 on October 20, 2011, 09:28:56 am
Well if you did not follow the downgrade warnings before installing OS 3.1, then you might be screwed. Sadly this happened to a lot of people because when someone buys a TI-Nspire he doesn't automatically visits TI-Planet to read about warnings of the sort. The only way migth definitively be a RS232 interface.

Which is why I'm still cautioning with installing OS 3.x (I still run OS2.1 with TNOC), and making sure to run the OS 3.x file through TNOC before installing when I feel like the dangers of bricked/undowngradable calcs are less.
Eg: http://ourl.ca/11098