Author Topic: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?  (Read 5790 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Anima

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 133
  • Rating: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« on: October 24, 2011, 04:48:35 pm »
Hey!
I've got a little question regarding the app "Symbolic":
Is there a way to use functions like d() or simp() in programs? Because I saw an interesting video on YouTube (it's made by a guy from Germany): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-n940XV6mmk


Sorry for my bad English. I'm German.

Offline harold

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 226
  • Rating: +41/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2011, 04:57:17 pm »
What kind of programs? From TI-BASIC it's very simple - the same way you always use those functions
Blog about bitmath: bitmath.blogspot.nl
Check the haroldbot thread for the supported commands and syntax.
You can use haroldbot from this website.

Offline Anima

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 133
  • Rating: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2011, 05:04:37 pm »
I use them by pressing the button [MATH] twice. But when I'm in the editor it doesn't work.


Sorry for my bad English. I'm German.

Offline harold

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 226
  • Rating: +41/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2011, 05:37:32 pm »
It works for me (which version of Symbolic? with or without Omnicalc?), but you could try typing real(12, (for d) etc..
Blog about bitmath: bitmath.blogspot.nl
Check the haroldbot thread for the supported commands and syntax.
You can use haroldbot from this website.

Offline Anima

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 133
  • Rating: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2011, 05:41:59 pm »
Version 1.8 without Omnicalc...
What's the syntax for the real command? When I enter the expression real(12, "X^2", "X") it says "ERR:ARGUMENT".


Sorry for my bad English. I'm German.

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2011, 06:48:29 pm »
The real() syntax is only with Omnicalc installed. Without it it should be the raw characters.

EDIT: Actually, the token hook doesn't work inside programs. The d( token will look like an ellipsis, but it's the same function. Here's what it should look like:
« Last Edit: October 24, 2011, 06:53:26 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline persalteas

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 231
  • Rating: +44/-4
  • z80 poweeer
    • View Profile
    • Tout-82
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2012, 08:02:06 am »
Big up, but I have the same problem: I try to use Symbolic commands into a program, but it doesn't work.

Notice that the program you might know called "Supramaths" uses Symbolic commands too,  of "real(12" type, whithout Omnicalc, and IT WORKS FINE.
I wonder: for the same command, with the same Apps installed and the same arguments, SupraMaths works great and my program...gets Syntax errors.

If I could, I prefer use "real" commands than the special Symbolic tokens (I'm coding with the old TI Graph Link), but I prefer those special tokens than nothing at all...

Does anyone know what is missing to symbolic in my program ?
thank you for your help...


Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2012, 02:16:43 pm »
I don't know why it would work in one program and not another. Are you using the real( token?

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2012, 06:57:56 pm »
If you are using the real( token you should also use omnicalc

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline persalteas

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 231
  • Rating: +44/-4
  • z80 poweeer
    • View Profile
    • Tout-82
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2012, 07:39:19 am »
Yes I use the "real(" token. I added Omnicalc on the calc (what about hooks cohabitation problems between Omnicalc and Symbolic ?).

It doesn't work better for my program, and the other (Supramaths) still works great...


Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2012, 07:45:18 am »
Hmm... Perhaps you should post some code so people can look at it?

Offline persalteas

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 231
  • Rating: +44/-4
  • z80 poweeer
    • View Profile
    • Tout-82
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2012, 08:10:07 am »
The code I try to run:

Code: [Select]
Input "f(X)=",Str1
Input "Pt d'abscisse K:",K
real(12,Str1,"X"->Str2
String>Equ(Str1,Y1
String>Equ(Str2,Y2
{0,Y2(K)->Y2
{0,1->L1
LinReg(ax+b) Y2
Equ>String(Y2,Str2
sub(Str2,1,length(Str2)-3->Str2
{0,K->L2
{0,1->L1
LinReg(ax+b) Y3
Equ>String(Y3,Str3
sub(Str3,1,length(Str3)-3->Str3
{0,Y1(K)->L2
{0,1->L1
LinReg(ax+b) Y1
Equ>String(Y1,Str1
sub(Str1,1,length(Str1)-3->Str1
Str2+"(X-"+Str3+")+"+Str1->Str3
real(14,Str3->Str3
real(19,"y="+Str3
0->P

and, several lines after:

Code: [Select]
Input "f(X)=",Str0
real(12,Str0,"X"->Str1
real(19,"f'(X)="+Str1
0->P

The code that runs very well, even without Omnicalc:
Code: [Select]
:Input "f(X)=",Str0
:String►Equ(Str0,{Y1}
:real(12,Str0,"X"→Str1
:String►Equ(Str1,{Y2}
:Lbl Zθ
:real(19,"f'(X)="+Str1

You see, my second code and the program which works are the same (even without the String>Equ it works.)


Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2012, 09:44:55 pm »
Yes I use the "real(" token. I added Omnicalc on the calc (what about hooks cohabitation problems between Omnicalc and Symbolic ?).

It doesn't work better for my program, and the other (Supramaths) still works great...
Omnicalc installs the Symbolic hooks.


THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline persalteas

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 231
  • Rating: +44/-4
  • z80 poweeer
    • View Profile
    • Tout-82
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #13 on: October 18, 2012, 08:56:44 am »
Quote
Omnicalc installs the Symbolic hooks.

So, Symbolic programs can run without Symbolic, with Omnicalc ? Ok...


Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Use "Symbolic" functions in programs?
« Reply #14 on: October 18, 2012, 06:39:11 pm »
no, omnicalc only installs the symbolic hooks, you still need the symbolic app lying around but you never ever have to access it

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!