Author Topic: OmnimagaOS  (Read 29022 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mSuman95

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OmnimagaOS
« Reply #210 on: June 04, 2011, 02:04:50 am »
Just wondering what the criteria needed to run the OS through LiveCD are, as opposed to running through an emulator such as VMware which does most of the work.
I've tried running it on both my desktop and various laptops, but they all seem to be "trapped" in a very quasi-DOS environment, lacking of a GUI. After selecting to run OmnimagaOS at the menu and being taken to the usual loading screen, a DOS EULA followed by black screen is all I am able to view. :( I am asked and able to login to a text based environment, without even a hint of GNOME (although it seems to be asking me to type something) but that's all. Would this be an xserver fault, or is my hardware unable to support the OS at all.

EDIT: I have been able to run Ubuntu for quite some time, I'm not sure if this is relevant though.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2011, 02:07:13 am by mSuman95 »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: OmnimagaOS
« Reply #211 on: June 04, 2011, 04:05:09 am »
For the Illusiat/ROL games, I actually meant rewriting the entire game in a OmnimagaOS-compatible programming language. :P However, testing the originals to see how they are requires you the OCX files in the first place D:

I guess maybe we should forget about those games, lol.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6165
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • C'est la vie
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: OmnimagaOS
« Reply #212 on: June 04, 2011, 07:09:43 pm »
Just wondering what the criteria needed to run the OS through LiveCD are, as opposed to running through an emulator such as VMware which does most of the work.
I've tried running it on both my desktop and various laptops, but they all seem to be "trapped" in a very quasi-DOS environment, lacking of a GUI. After selecting to run OmnimagaOS at the menu and being taken to the usual loading screen, a DOS EULA followed by black screen is all I am able to view. :( I am asked and able to login to a text based environment, without even a hint of GNOME (although it seems to be asking me to type something) but that's all. Would this be an xserver fault, or is my hardware unable to support the OS at all.

EDIT: I have been able to run Ubuntu for quite some time, I'm not sure if this is relevant though.
You seem to be using the very first version of it. I would recommend using http://withg.us.to/eeems/omni/myarch-2011.05.29-2-i686.iso instead as it is the most recent version and it is arch based. You are using the first version which was SUSE based and completely unstable.
/e

Offline mSuman95

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OmnimagaOS
« Reply #213 on: June 04, 2011, 10:04:24 pm »
Thanks Eeems, you're absolutely right. I had accidentally downloaded the original as per the first post by mistake; now on my way to downloading the latest arch based ISO. ;D

EDIT: By the way, just wondering if Arch would be compatible with either Debian/Ubuntu or Fedora/openSUSE packages natively; WINE, for example, does not list Arch one of its supported OSes (although I believe wine is, or was, inbuilt) although I'm fairly sure this won't be a problem at all.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2011, 10:05:37 pm by mSuman95 »

Offline ruler501

  • Meep
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2475
  • Rating: +66/-9
  • Crazy Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: OmnimagaOS
« Reply #214 on: June 04, 2011, 10:05:49 pm »
I'm pretty sure wine works with Arch since they were talking about including it
I currently don't do much, but I am a developer for a game you should totally try out called AssaultCube Reloaded download here https://assaultcuber.codeplex.com/
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GCM/CS/M/S d- s++: a---- C++ UL++ P+ L++ E---- W++ N o? K- w-- o? !M V?
PS+ PE+ Y+ PGP++ t 5? X R tv-- b+++ DI+ D+ G++ e- h! !r y

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: OmnimagaOS
« Reply #215 on: June 04, 2011, 11:00:34 pm »
Wine indeed works fine on Arch.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6165
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • C'est la vie
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: OmnimagaOS
« Reply #216 on: June 05, 2011, 12:58:57 am »
Arch has a large selection of packages in it's repositories, and if it isn't there you can always build from source. So pretty much everything that works on Debian/Ubuntu or Fedora/openSUSE will work on Arch if it is compiled for it.
I've been focusing on working on the settings so you can change the interval between checks on PostNotifier.
/e

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6165
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • C'est la vie
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: OmnimagaOS
« Reply #217 on: June 05, 2011, 01:51:09 am »
double post, yet again :P
http://withg.us.to/eeems/omni/iso/ has all the iso's, and if you looks closely you will see one with today's timestamp and if you refresh you will see it's size slowly growing :)

http://withg.us.to/eeems/omni/iso/myarch-2011.06.04-i686.iso
newest iso on the upload with the most recent copy of Post Notifier and little else in the line of changes.

And for those of you who want the post notifier in your full OS, I attached a zip with it in there :)
/e

Offline ruler501

  • Meep
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2475
  • Rating: +66/-9
  • Crazy Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: OmnimagaOS
« Reply #218 on: June 05, 2011, 08:38:04 am »
Will that post notifier work with the default Desktop for Mint 11?
I currently don't do much, but I am a developer for a game you should totally try out called AssaultCube Reloaded download here https://assaultcuber.codeplex.com/
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GCM/CS/M/S d- s++: a---- C++ UL++ P+ L++ E---- W++ N o? K- w-- o? !M V?
PS+ PE+ Y+ PGP++ t 5? X R tv-- b+++ DI+ D+ G++ e- h! !r y

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: OmnimagaOS
« Reply #219 on: June 05, 2011, 12:24:23 pm »
Is it GNOME 3? The post notifier works with it.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: OmnimagaOS
« Reply #220 on: June 05, 2011, 12:25:52 pm »
Linux Mint 11 uses Gnome 2.x.

Offline ruler501

  • Meep
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2475
  • Rating: +66/-9
  • Crazy Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: OmnimagaOS
« Reply #221 on: June 05, 2011, 12:40:48 pm »
I gues sI'll wait for Sir's to come out
I currently don't do much, but I am a developer for a game you should totally try out called AssaultCube Reloaded download here https://assaultcuber.codeplex.com/
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GCM/CS/M/S d- s++: a---- C++ UL++ P+ L++ E---- W++ N o? K- w-- o? !M V?
PS+ PE+ Y+ PGP++ t 5? X R tv-- b+++ DI+ D+ G++ e- h! !r y